We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food to accommodate everyone's appetite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlite Diner

Moonlite Diner
3500 Oakwood Blvd, Hollywood, FL 33020-7109
954-924-2012
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 487 Restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
San Jose
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good food to accommodate everyone's appetite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

After walking and seeing lines in the other restaurants in the local area we ended up here, and our party of 9 was seated within 5 minutes. We had split orders; they were very accommodating and split the orders for us for free. Service was prompt, and all the meals and drinks/shakes were yummy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    81
    32
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Funny, we only came upon this diner because nobody wanted to wait on us in sals Italian! Wow! A smiling face to seat us, double wow a friendly waitress! And they were very busy so busy is no excuse for non-friendly service(sals). All 3 of our meals were very good and we think we will return for breakfast!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton,ga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was curious about this place but it turned out great, great feel and food set in a fiftys style diner, and a pretty good one to, we sat outside on the deck and ate , they had great burgers, salad, and deserts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I, along with many friends, have eaten here a number of times. We were lucky enough to be able to dine here with a good friend tonight.
The food, as always, is spectacular. It's tasty, filling and well cooked. I won't lie... the food is a bit steep in price, but it's so good (as is the service), it's well worth the price.
Please, if you are around Hollywood, bring the family here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was in Hollywood for 2 weeks visiting friends - passed by the Moonlite Diner a few times, but never stopped by until going to the movies nearby one night. We stopped in before the show, great specials - $2 shakes on with dinner Tuesdays! I was hooked - the diner was spotless and cheery, good music and a great nostalgic feel.

I ordered the Texas Burger medium-well, my girlfriend had the Mushroom/Swiss Burger. Our waitress was excellent and friendly - even brought us crayons and paper placemats (normally for kids!) so we could sit, laugh, and draw each other on our date together. We started singing along to some of the 50's and 60's music at several points - not too many customers that early in the night, but the waitstaff and cooks and kitchen personnel were busy and attentive.

The Texas Burger is a must - had a fried egg (over hard) on top, just like some sandwiches I've eaten in Brazil and in Europe. Good beef, not too greasy, good deli sesame bun and fresh ingredients with good veggies and bacon. I enjoyed the big, thick, crinkle-cut fries and the shake was thick and brought out in an authentic metal mixing cup with a glass dish. Will definitely visit again next time I am back in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonlite Diner also viewed

 

Been to Moonlite Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlite Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.