We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly relaxing beach vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeSoto Ocean Spray

DeSoto Ocean Spray
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto Ocean Spray
Save
You added DeSoto Ocean Spray to your Saves list
315 DeSoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Boston suburbs
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing beach vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Just finished what I really hope was our first stay at the Desoto. Our stay was perfect and exactly what we had hoped for based on the images and other information we found on line. It's real close to the beach, an uncrowded and almost private beach is possibly 50 yards away. Loved the tranquility of the hotel and the staff was very friendly, helpful and far more personal than you can find in any franchise location.

Relaxing on the beach was a key ingredient, but the boardwalk is excellent for walking or biking. We found plenty of nearby restaurant choices with either ocean or inter coastal water views, awesome.

We liked the Art Deco style of this hotel and the tropical feel of the gardens on site, how can you not feel relaxed staying here. It might only be 3 or 4 miles from Lauderdale and 20 from Miami, but it honestly felt like you are hundreds of miles away.

Loved the area, loved the hotel and staff. We're coming back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at DeSoto Ocean Spray, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It is so wonderful to know that this won't be your only visit, it is an inspiration to the entire staff at Desoto when we read or hear from guests that they'll be planning to stay with us again. Thank you so much for your great review, and hurry back. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second trip to the DeSoto Inn and it was as lovely as the first. We stayed in the larger room in 2012 and the smaller efficiency in 2013 and both rooms were quiet, clean, well-stocked, adorably decorated and lovingly maintained. Wendy was wonderful in getting us anything we forget to bring. We used the bikes every day to tour the boardwalk, beach towels, beach chairs and umbrellas are provided. We sat in the grounds every evening enjoying the birds and flowers. I can't say enough good things about the DeSoto and Steve. We booked the 2014 trip the day we left. Can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at DeSoto Ocean Spray, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you so very much for your great review of the Desoto. I love passing along compliments to Wendy, isn't she the greatest! I am humble by the kindness of our guests, you truly are the reason we work hard to exceed your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again in 2014. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great time there . Steve and all the crew were super kind and helpfull. Quiet and nice place, a few steps from the beach , this was just what we were looking for. I believe the only con is the fact that if you like a little more agitation , maybe you´ll find this a little to quiet. We will come back , thats for sure. Obs: we are from Brazil , and went to Miami to make some shopping for our baby. If thats your case , I think this is perfect - quiet, good sized room and fair distance from the sawgrass and aventura mall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a very relaxing weekend in a one bedroom at Desoto Inn. We live only 30 minutes away but it felt like we went out of state. Half a block from the beach, bikes available for use, beautiful gardens, nice people. Definitely looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Absolutely LOVED everything about this lovely charming small bed and breakfast "green" hotel, from the moment we arrived, and we can't wait to come back again!

There is definitely good karma here!

If you are looking for a stress free vacation just steps from the dunes and nature park at the wonderful Hollywood beach, the Desoto Oceanspray & Oceanview Inn is the perfect place!
Only a 20 minute drive from everywhere-Ft. Lauderdale, Miami & Miami Beach...yet the ambiance is laid back and peaceful.
We loved the retro decor of the ultra clean rooms (which are mini apartments-full kitchens, etc.)and the beautiful gardens with native plants and flowers just outside our door.
The Hollywood Broadwalk is a few minutes walk south down the beach, just beyond the nature preserve.
The only people on the beach are the guests and possibly a few local homeowners--it's never crowded!
The Desoto is a cross between "old Florida", the bohemian funkiness of South Beach back in the 1950s-1960s before it became the glitzy "over the top" SoBe, and the zen atmosphere of a truly green hotel.
Steve, the host and owner is very welcoming as well as knowledgeable about the area.
The green amenities (soap, shampoo, etc) were as good and even better quality than at most hotels.
No extra charges for parking, beach chairs, umbrellas or bicycles! There is a sign up sheet for an early morning yoga class on the beach- at NO extra charge-Tiffany the yoga instructor is wonderful. I was lucky enough to be able to do 2 sessions with her.
The gourmet breakfasts are simply amazingly tasty as well as healthy!
The Desoto's breakfasts are THE BEST I have ever had at any hotel I have ever been to!
I am a vegetarian and it was truly wonderful to be able to sample everything at the breakfast buffet :-)
Everything is home made from scratch by the amazing chef.
Greasy gray sausages of mystery meat & powdered scrambled eggs as are often de rigeur at "free breakfasts" at major hotel chains, but nowhere in sight HERE :-)
For people who are not vegetarian or vegan, the food is so fresh and tasty you will be looking forward to what the next morning's buffet will be!
Our 4 night stay went by too quickly...we definitely will be back again soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

You will think you are hours away from the frantic world of Ft. Lauderdale, but in reality, you are only minutes from the shopping and restaurants of Los Olas Blvd. We just returned from the Utopian Desoto inn, located a block away from the turquoise Atlantic ocean, and wish we were still there. For the third consecutive year, we have spent spring break at the Desoto, largely thanks to the gentleman owner, Steve, who is welcoming and gracious, allowing us use of the hotel bikes, beach chairs, beach towels, and his garden-of-Eden. My teen daughter and her friend rode bikes to the busy Hollywood beach boardwalk, while my friend and I walked under the mangrove trees along the shaded beach path. Trim roller-bladers and bicyclists live in harmony with runners and walkers on the wide path. Near the trail, a nature center has kayaks, canoes or paddle boards for rent deep in the mangroves. Birds and wildlife, including the nesting turtles, will be your neighbors. I love to walk, bike and swim, and was able to all in a sunny afternoon at the Desoto.

At night, you can hear the gentle waves, and the afternoon sun will warm any Northern heart in need of repair. We had a splendid time and think that families with teens or young children, couples or retirees -- in fact anyone with a love of nature and relaxation -- should give this inn a try. You will not be disappointed. When the girls wanted the shopping action of trendy Los Olas, we were there in minutes, but we did not have to tolerate the traffic and crowds for long. We will return as soon as possible to this little utopian village on the sea. Am afraid that by saying too much, I won't be able to reserve a room for next year.

Room Tip: Love the corner efficiency for its quietness and cool breeze at night, when we like to turn the AC o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If Miami is too crowded for you and you are looking for a nice spot at the Atlantic Ocean, Hollywood and the DeSoto is the perfect choice. The beach is just a few steps away and the tropical (almost asian-like) garden with singing birds is so relaxing. We liked the room and the kitchen very much. Everything was very clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DeSoto Ocean Spray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto Ocean Spray

Address: 315 DeSoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury oceanside apartments, beautifully furnished, full gourmet kitchens,only footsteps to the beach. Free parking, wi-fi and bicycles. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeSoto Ocean Spray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.