We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Hollywood Beach Resort to your Saves list
Historic Hollywood Beach Resort
101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood Blvd & Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I decide to try since someone said it have been renovated.
It looked like a nice location, close to beach, boardwalk, restaurants.
The only good thing was the staff, very friendly.
But overall , disappointed. Over price.
Be ware of extra fees: 15daily for self parking, 18 valet (daily)
10dl for "free breakfast" and use of towels and pool or beach chairs. If you wanted an umbrella be ready to pay extra 7dl an hour.
Ohhhh never found were to eat breakfast since the lobby looks empty just a few rundown stores...
Very very disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Historichollywood, Manager at Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding the property. We are in fact trying to upgrade all apects of the property and will continue to make efforts. We just opened two new stores in the hotel. I hope you would come stay with us again, just let us know you are a returning guest and we will give you a great price. I just put in an order in for umbrellas. I'm honored that you said the staff was very friendly. We really look forward to hearing from you to give us another chance.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    57
    35
    93
See reviews for
74
91
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was terrible. From the entrance to the elevators to the room. The people that work there are extremely rude and the hotel smells like dirt and old. They promised they were going to change the room, but never did. I am 3 months pregnant and i couldn't sleep from the smell. The room looked like it had never been cleaned. I found a couple of spiders in the Room. The showers had "red" stains all over. God knows what they were! It was completely disgusting. The reaon that I am writing this review is to avoid another person from going here and suffering like I di. You must be aware of what you are getting yourself into! My recommendation- anywhere but here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

There are motel 6 that are nicer than this place. For the price- it's not worth it at all! The room smelled like gas was leaking from the stove. Cockroaches everywhere! Elevators don't work. Bathroom covered in mold. Sheets had brown poop or blood stains on them. Fire alarm didn't have battery in it- it was broken and hanging from the ceiling. Floors were always dirty. The hallways smelled like mildew/food/wet dog mixed together. Just disgusting overall. Front desk agents- incredibly rude!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I have been to amazing hotels.. And I have been to the most awful hotels.. This is by far the worst ever! EVER!! The hotel had the rudest staff of any hotel I have ever been to!!
For anyone who tries to call the front desk.. They will put you on hold and leave you there.. I have seen them do it. They stand around and chit chat.

I requested 2 beds.. Got to my room and there was one. This room was the most disgusting room I have ever seen! There were blood stains on the sink and toilet. The shower was full of mold. To top it off.. There were ants on the counter and roaches on the floor! We called the front desk and after being on hold for 15 minutes.. they said they couldn't help us but to try tomorrow. Over 3 days we paid the front desk 7 visits- they were never able to help of course.
The hotel is huge.. Lots of rooms lots of people... 3 elevators and only 1 worked throughout our stay! You had to wait for like 15 minutes each time to get to your room.
We tried to switch hotels but all in the area were sold out. NEVER AGAIN!!! Ever!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We travel a lot for business and pleasure and have stayed at many different hotels around the world and I have to say is dirtiest place so far. Blood stains on the comforter, broken tiles in the room's floor, stains of food everywhere, the air vents haven't been cleaned in years, the tub and toilet showed rims of dirt and rust, there was mould on the shower curtain, etc.
Needless to say it made for a very unpleasant, uncomfortable and unsafe stay. If you walk barefoot in your room your feet could get cut to shreads... I'm not exhagrating, either. Crusts...scum...are two words that should not be related to a hotel but those visions just can't leave my mind.

Stay in the car...or park bench. Anything but here. Seriously.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

SOME CONFUSION OVER WHERE TO CHECK IN BUT ONCE THAT WAS SORTED OUT EVERYTHING WAS FINE.LOCATION IS GREAT GOOD RESTAURANTS NEARBY GGs and Billys for fine dining and good bars and eateries along the Broardwalk.We found the staff very helpful and friendly.The room was large and clean and well equipped.Breakfast was fine.Ok the hotel needs refurbishment in some areas but I suspect that will come with time.Pool and bar area were fine.could do with better signage outside hotel.We would stay again when in area as good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

5 nights. 2 rooms for 2 families. I think all guests gets 'upgraded'. Its a nice way to help fade off all the bad sides. There are 2 hotels in the same hotels, both managements are fighting and not cooperative for any guests that are not theirs, customer service was bad. Checkin was ridiculous the c/s agents do not finish with the customer they started with so they put you on hold on each walk-in or call-in, right in your face! Room 493 had outdated carpet and it was filthy, I wonder if it was ever cleaned. Everything is outdated. Room 403, other end, was more spacious on linoleum floor. It felt cleaner. Out of the 5 nights the FIRE alarm went on 4 times, false alarm! 493 is next to a bar where they have bands at night! Noisy!! There are approximately 450 rooms with kitchenettes and all kinds of chefs cooking meals from various countries so it is smelly. Breakfast included: bagels, toasts, jams&cream cheese, some cereals, some fruits, oatmeal; better going downstairs where 2 small stands are selling nice breakfast for $6. Good points: we had a comfy bed and its across the beach!

Room Tip: There are so many other great smaller location along the Hollywood Beach boardwalk. Google it you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Hollywood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hollywood Beach Resort

Address: 101 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood Blvd & Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 64 Hotels in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historic Hollywood Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Hollywood Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.