We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like a cheap hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Tower

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Beach Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Tower
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   301 Harrison St, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Felt like a cheap hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Good: Right on the Hollywood boardwalk, free (if very cramped) parking

Bad: Windows do NOT open, what good is it to stay ocean front if you cannot smell or feel the ocean breeze? WiFI was absolutely useless, weak signal that kept dropping. Furnishings were dated, which would have been OK but everything was shabby and in bad repair. Furniture missing knobs, burned counter in bathroom, blood-stained linens, gritty carpet, alarm with no cord, TV that didn't work properly, and so on. Felt like staying in an ultra cheap, sleazy motel. This is a timeshare & obviously the owners don't care about its upkeep. Signs touting a bar open every day ... never saw it open.

Ugly: Burned counter in bathroom, overall shabby appearance.

Room Tip: One side is ocean front, the other faces a parking structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are disappointed that your stay was not up to your satisfaction as we always try to make every guest feel at home. Our windows do not open at they are hurricane windows. Here in south Florida hurricanes are a vivid reality so the windows were changed to protect our guests and owners. Our bar is a part of our activities department and either staff member would have been glad to get you whatever drink you wished. We do have a planned complete renovation for all of our units, with upgrades to the kitchen (including dish washer), bathrooms (a shower stall in one), along with all of the living room and bedroom furniture. We hope that you will return and visit with us again and let us make your stay an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    36
    24
    19
See reviews for
65
49
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very good hotel. Right on the beach, broadwalk. Free WiFi. Clean, great views. No bad issues at all. Small bars/Restaurants easy walk. Nice pool area. Windy and some rain while I was here, but a great time.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We wish to thank you for your recent review. Your satisfaction with your stay is always our first priority and it was nice to see that you had such a great visit. We hope that you will return to vacation with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We spent Mother's Day and my birthday weekend at Hollywood beach tower . The customer service was excellent . They truly work with you to accommodate your needs. I was impressed with The ocean view 1 bedroom apartment , it was very spacious and clean . Overall I highly recommend this hotel for family vacations. We will definitely be coming back .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We wish to thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff strives to make every guest feel at home as guests are our first priority. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Because I had stayed at this resort last year, I chose it again. My prior visit was wonderful, because it was a comfortable stay...I can't say the same for this last visit. Yes, the beach is the best, the boardwalk lots of fun, the staff helpful, and the units clean (though un-renovated)...but if you desire Wifi access, you enjoy cooking, and you don't want to share one bed, beware.

There are three unit sizes, and I stayed in the smallest...that's probably why the kitchen was so tiny. No counter space...and I'm not kidding about this fact. The mini fridge is tucked under the counter and mine had no shelves in the door, which made the fridge nearly worthless as far as storing much...again, I'm not over-exaggerating. Washing dishes was annoying because it took a few minutes before hot water ran from the tap and there was no place to allow the dishes to air dry.

The sofa bed was uncomfortable for my friend, and the bed rested at an angle. Maybe kids would find the sofa bed acceptable, but an older adult or a couple might find this sleeping arrangement unacceptable due to the spartan, "springy" mattress.

There were other inconveniences regarding this particular unit (no working vents in bathrooms, a door which didn't lock, an unpleasant odor in the hallway outside the unit, and the fact that you could hear the whoosh of the two elevators through the unit walls), but a lack of Wifi was the most annoying to my friend and I. Though I was on vacation and I really didn't need to sit in front of a computer, my friend was house hunting, and she desperately needed the Wifi. Once or twice, I took the laptop into the hallway where it worked perfectly.

Bottom line, just be careful when choosing Hollywood Beach Tower if you absolutely need to cook in your unit, use Wifi, and need more than one bed. I know there are larger units (units 2 and 3) which might provide the type of comfort I had expected on my second visit to Hollywood Beach Tower. I now realize that I stayed in the largest of the units on my first visit.

Aside from these potential problems, also know that this resort is conveniently located to the airport, a very short drive to downtown Hollywood, and the resort sits on what I feel is a fabulous beach! The upper floors all have nice views (whether inland or ocean view). Though I haven't stayed in a "renovated" unit, I can vouch for their relative cleanliness. You might be able to find my other review from last year which I know rated this hotel much higher! I hate to rate this place as "Poor", but based on this particular trip, I feel my rating is honest. Don't be afraid to stay here if my "needs" aren't relevant to yours.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Hollywood Beach Tower. We are saddened that your stay was not up to your satisfaction as we always try to make every guest feel at home. We actually have only two unit sizes – the smaller ones are approximately 50 square feet smaller due to the elevator shaft. We do have extra mattresses for the sofa beds although you don’t state that you asked for one. We have a planned complete renovation for all of our units, with upgrades to the kitchen (including dish washer), bathrooms (a shower stall in one), along with all of the living room and bedroom furniture. As to our wi-fi, although it is working, we have a planned upgrade for it as well. Please return to us again and let us make your next vacation with us the best you have had!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here April 8 thru the 10th, short stay but great.
This was our first stay at this hotel and we were very impressed. From the minute we pulled up to the front door the entire staff was very helpfull and friendly.
Our room had beautiful ocean view, was very spacious and clean, nice having two bathrooms and huge bedroom. The pool was awesome with nice view of beach.
Super close to beach and restaurants our favorate was O'Mallys there is also a nice coffee and sandwich shop in basement of hotel next door.
Don't know why anyone would have any complaints about this hotel we are looking forward to coming back!!

Room Tip: Our room was ocean view on 3rd floor close to elevator and still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Our staff always strives to make every guest feel at home since guests are our first priority. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olyphant, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We are owners at Hollywood Beach Tower as spent a beautifull week there during Easter and the days following. We have traveled to a lot of destinations in the tropics and south florida area's and while HBT may not be as prime as some of the "newer properties " we have visited, the place and staff are very welcoming. The property manager Yva is doing a great with regards to the new renovations to the bldg. and units going on at present. This property is right on the beach and waliking distance to many outside restraunts, bars,and shops. The marina across the street has some very good places to eat, and our favorite is G.G.'s where they have a great happy hour at 4pm . We actually had a really nice Easter dinner on the waterfront enjoying a beautifull day and thanking our Lord for all that he has brought us. The ocean was beautifull as we had a great view of it and the sunrise every morning. A great place for the money with a cool brick boardwalk to walk and enjoy. We also went to the Easter sunrise service at Hollywood beach theatre which was awesome. We could trade our week here if we like, but this is one of our timeshare properties that we cannot wait to get back to.

Room Tip: both ocean and bay views from the 8th floor up are great, with the bay at night being the best !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to know that we have made your stay comfortable. We hope you will continue to return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The best thing about this property is the fact it is so close to the beach. It is also near restaurants, the boardwalk and shops. There is entertainment at night on boardwalk so let's say you can find things to do after a day at the beach. The hotel is outdated. If you can get pass the old stuff and the fact it looks dirty, then consider this place. The rooms are big. They have a full kitchen and the bedroom is quite big. The sofa bed we slept in in the living room was horrible. Our backs hurt and our nights werent peaceful. But my sister and the kids slept really well in their bedroom. There are 2 bathrooms in the suite so thats quite convenient for big families. The guy at the grill was really sweet. Pool is OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildred R, Owner Services at Hollywood Beach Tower, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We wish to thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a planned renovation for our units that include various upgrades, including the sofa bed. Please return and stay with us again and allow us to improve upon your experience at the Tower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Beach Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Tower

Address: 301 Harrison St, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty lodging in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hollywood Beach Tower 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Beach Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Tower Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.