We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short one day stay after cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coronet Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coronet Motel
Save
You added Coronet Motel to your Saves list
335 DeSoto St., Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“short one day stay after cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

could not have been happier with the Coronet. Sharon is a lovely woman who went out of her way to make us comfortable. We rented the apartment for one day after a cruise and it was clean and comfortable. the bed was so comfy and everything was very clean. the pool is clean and gets good sun, its also solar heated but not to warm. we had off street parking and the beach is a very very short walk. the neighborhood is very quaint and charming. good restaurants near by. price was very reasonable. would highly recommend the Coronet on Hollywood Beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our second stay at the Coronet and we will be back for a third visit. Sharon is a delight and the Coronet's location is the best on Hollywood Beach. Easily the most relaxing accomodation we have found on the Beach. Walter and Gail

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The Coronet was the perfect pick for a week-plus stay (Oct, 2008) in the North Hollywood Beach neighborhood, one of the best-kept secrets on the southeast Florida coast. Steps from the beach, the Coronet was reasonably-priced, quiet, and immaculately clean, with charming attributes reflecting both the motel's 50's origin and contemporary hospitality: terrazzo floors, original pink-tiled, spacious bathroom, fabulous white fluffy towels, crisp white sheets and duvet cover, and pleasant rattan and wicker furniture.

Sharon, the manager, was the incomparable host: friendly, accessible, helpful...and willing to go the extra mile for motel guests.

The Coronet is a true gem!

  • Liked — Quiet, clean, light decor, great management, price...proximity to boardwalk and beach.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I found this charmer through the Hollywood Beach website, and chose it for the photos and the affordable price! It is an Art-Deco gem circa 1950's. On our first visit, it was love at first sight! The whole tiny area is north of Hollywood Boardwalk, quiet, quirky, like South Beach was before all the fame and celebrities. Our room was spacious/light/airy/ with fluffy pillows and wonderful thick white towels/GREAT A.C./Free parking, too! Across the bridge, was a Publix supermarket which had everything we needed for cooking on their fabulous grill outside by the pool. We also discovered a SUPERB Chinese take-out place next to the Publix-Hunan Wok 11-All the food was fresh and totally unlike most Chinese take-out places. The best part of the Coronet Hotel is Sharon, the manager-She made us feel like we discovered a second home! We have been back on several occasions since first finding it. We are ex-Miamians living up near Cocoa Beach, and we like to come down to attend Ballets, see our dentists, etc, so we are frequent visitors . We love you Sharon! Susie and Allan Knight of Satellite Beach, Florida

  • Liked — The price/free parking/manager/towels/kitchen/area/pool/outdoor grill/art-deco style
  • Disliked — The soap-too small!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

The Coronet Motel was a great find for us. We needed a room for one night prior to flying out from the Ft. Lauderdale airport early the next morning. I wanted something that was close to the airport, clean, comfortable and close to the beach. This motel met all of those expectations!

The room we got was $100 including tax. We had a very clean room with faux wood floors and a queen been with modern white striped duvet cover. The rooms are simply decorated in white with flower photos on the walls. The bed had great pillows- six of them even, and was quite comfortable. There was a microwave, and mini fridge in the room with a little side cabinet that had dishes for our use. There was a changing type room off of the bathroom and the bathroom had a full tub/ shower, basin sink and was still the original tile from when the property was build- probably in the early 50's. It was very clean and the towels were superb-- better than anthing you'd find at a 2-2.5 star hotel! They also provide beach towels.

There is a pool that was unheated. There is also a grill in the patio area. Our air conditioner was just fine-it was 90 degrees on the day we checked in. Sharon who is the manager is very kind and runs the place well.

The beach is 100 meters away and is very quiet in this area. We walked to the pier which is less than one mile north. The beach here was crowded with a very diverse population.

There is a home for sale at the end of the next block over by Sotheby's International, so clearly the area has nice properties. It seems that this area is going to be taken over by high rise condos, so who knows how long properties like the coronet will be around. In the area, there are a few similar type motels, but it is so great that it's not a crowded or roudy area. Our car was very safe parked outside the motel (they provide parking for free).

All in All, this is a great property and while I wouldn't choose this type of lodging for an entire vacation (I prefer 4 star resorts for the luxury of a week long vacation) but I would recommend anyone to stay here for a couple nights or longer if this is the type of property you desire.

  • Liked — The clean room very close to the ocean for a great price
  • Disliked — This is an authentic 1950's motel that is well maintained with updated rooms, not a 4-5 star luxury resort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

My family stayed at the Coronet Motel for three nights between Xmas and New Year's, 2006. We were very pleased with the location and amenities and will definitely consider returning there in the future.

The Coronet is an independent motel with regular rooms, efficiencies, and 1BR apartments. The apartments feature two bathrooms, one off the living room and one off the bedroom. We rented an apartment for my husband, toddler, and me, plus a regular room for my mother-in-law. The rates were very reasonable -- a bargain, I thought! I think we paid $200/night for the apartment and $100/night for the room, but I don't remember.

The apartment was on the second floor and had a fully equipped kitchen, which was very convenient. The furnishings were not spectacular but also not hideous. The whole unit was immaculate when we checked in. The bed could have been a bit more comfortable -- too soft for our taste, but we like a very firm bed. Key amenities = outdoor pool, wireless internet (although it was down for our first day), proximity to beach (one short block). There were two TVs in our unit and a DVD player in my mother-in-law's room. The manager, Sharon, was very friendly and helpful -- she even picked up an item for us when she went to the grocery store!

We liked the location -- the beach was quiet, not overrun at all. We found it infinitely more pleasant than the area by the Broadwalk. But one disadvantage is the lack of restaurants nearby. There's really only one choice (I can't remember the name), which had a nice canal-side deck but the service and food were mediocre and the prices insane. We didn't mind too much because with our toddler it was easier to eat in our apartment most nights. (Plus my MIL babysat one night so my husband and I could go out to dinner in Ft. Lauderdale.)

The walls were a little thin -- we occasionally heard the TV next door, plus one raised-voice interaction. But in general the place was quiet, certainly quiet enough for us.

The pool is small and not heated, but my kid loved it anyway, which is what counts.

I gave the Coronet 4 stars because it was not perfect, but it really deserves 4-1/2!

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coronet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronet Motel

Address: 335 DeSoto St., Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Coronet Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronet Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.