We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price in town for the most pleasant place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean Resort by the Ocean to your Saves list
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Eastman, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best price in town for the most pleasant place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

I have been coming there for over 3 yrs now, stayed at other places before, but nothing compares to The Caribbean Resort. It's a very safe place to stay, I feel like home. I am always well greeted at I check-in, the owners and staff are very pleasant, and professionals. They pay attention to all of my needs I may have during my stay. The place is renovated every year I come, that is including our rooms. We get daily fresh towels and sheets, we also get toilet paper, dish/ bath soaps, trash bags etc. They have w-fi, and a laundry room for us to use...everything I need pretty much. I love that they have a nice big courtyard with patio tables, lounge chairs and two large BBQ that we can use anytime. I am planning to come again this year with my daughter where this time we will be taking the large one bedroom with the balcony that has the ocean view....I can't wait. One thing I would like to say is I don't understand how this last person that wrote a comment can lie and say these negative things about this place like that. I have never had to clean my room at check-in, actually the rooms are impeccable at check-in, and our beds are incredibly in perfect shape.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    88
    31
    10
    17
See reviews for
85
118
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

If you go there you need to bring with you all your cleaning product and literary have to spend at least a full vaction cleaning and scrubing....
The owner doesn't care about you they only care about there money. I had to go out and purchase a matresse for my stay cause the bed a had bed bugs.

So you if you want to go on vacation and have a good time I don't recommend Caribbean Resort... But i do recommend Villa Europa a bit more expensive but very clean....By the way it on Cleveland street....

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We thank you for your honest review and we're sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We wanted to let you know that the Caribbean Resort is now under new ownership and management and that the entire property has been renovated like new. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our newly remodeled luxurious rooms which now feature custom wood furnishings, granite counter-tops and brand new beds and mattresses. We hope to see you again at the new Caribbean Resort the next time you visit Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

Carribean Resort Apartments is a great place. It is steps to the beach and in a nice location in which I felt secure. I stayed in A Park Efficiency for one week. The total price came out to $350 with taxes.

The staff is excellent. When we first checked into our room our TV was not working. I told them and they imidietly got a new TV for us!!! Also, just go the office every day and you get clean towels.

The room was nice and spacious. There was one queen bed with a sleeper sofa. Their was also a full kitchen with everything you need to get cooking. Out on the patio their are also grills in which you can have a cookout. The bathroom was a little small.

In my opinion, I think Carribean Resort Apartments is the best place to stay if your looking for an affordable week in Hollywood Beach.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro,NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

My second time staying at this hotel.I love it!
As another reviewer described, it is like the place you stayed with your folks maybe 30 years ago.I grew up near the Jersey shore and stayed in Wildwood at little family run motels just like this one. It is NOT a resort,if that is what you need.It is comfortable and the location can't be beat.
I stayed in an efficiency with double bed and kitchen.The refrigerator is full size,not the usual mini fridge,plenty of room for beverages and snacks/leftovers.
I kind of like the fact that there is no maid service.I don't mind making my own bed and if it's rainy and I'm sleeping in,there isn't that constant knocking from housekeeping. : )
The hotel is located less than 100 feet from the beach/broadwalk.Plenty of restaurants,pizza,ice cream,bike rental,stores with beach toys,swimwear,soda,beer,ice within under 5 minutes walk.Also restaurants across the street on the intracoastal waterway side.
The bandshell where concerts are held several nights a week is only about 3 or 4 blocks away,right on the broadwalk/beach.
OK,I will admit that I have had some uninvited visitors of the insect kind in my room occasionally.I attribute this to rain/dampness NOT lack of housekeeping.There is a broom in the closet to help you evict these pests.This is not something that bothers me personally(I do a lot of camping).I just included it in my review for people who might be concerned about this.
Overall I LOVE THIS PLACE!! I will return again and again.
Management is friendly and helpful and you are in the center of everything Hollywood Beach has to offer.A great deal!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

My two teenagers and I stayed here for 4 nights in late December, along with my sister, her husband, and their 2-year-old daughter.

The other reviews don't really capture the fact that it appears to have been a very, very long time since this property was updated. Saying that it is "not the Westin" doesn't quite cover it -- there are several levels between the Westin and this property.

The women working in the office were friendly, and it was fun staying at a place where most of the guests were French Canadians. And, of course, the location is great. But, the place really does look like it hasn't been touched in 40 years, with the exception of a newer refrigerator and microwave in the kitchenette. Yes, I've seen sofabeds that sag -- but never one like this. I'm a sound sleeper, but the wheezing air conditioner woke me more than once during the night when it kicked on -- and it leaked onto my suitcase. Also, the other room for our group was supposed to have 2 beds; it had only one. I was told that the rollaways had been promised elsewhere; when I planted myself in the office until I got one (and I am not usually an overly picky person), my son and I had to go and move the rollaway ourselves. Plus, I was only credited with a $100 deposit instead of $200, until I initiated an investigation (I was told that the October receipts were no longer on the premises). I was then refunded the additional $100.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry that you had some problems with our facilities and billing system during your stay. We wanted to take this opportunity to let you know that the hotel is now under new ownership and management and that the entire property has been renovated like new. Our rooms now offer custom wood furnishings, granite counter-tops, all tiled bathrooms and showers, brand new beds, sofa-beds and appliances as well as new wall-mounted air conditioners and heaters. We also have a new reservation system and will soon be offering online bookings on our website to help prevent billing issues like you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

I needed a place for a few months and after exploring the beach settled on the Caribbean. For three reasons. One, the location, its right off the beach/boardwalk and convenient to half a dozen restauants. Two, the value for the price, like the man said this ain't the Westin, but it was clean, everything worked, and it seems well loved. And three, the staff. Each one has been nothing but helpful and pleasant to me. You couldn't ask for a better group of ladies. Do you remember the place you stayed at for a week each summer with your parents? This is it. Quaint, kitchy, comfortable and clean. And with just a hint of the smell of suntan lotion. They have grills available for cooking out, and after I move out a one bedroom with a private balcony that if you peek between two buildings, a view of the ocean. Great little place I wish them good luck.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2006

First of all, I was a little apprehensive when I approached this place. Okay, so it is not the Westin, Marriott, Resort, or anything close to it. I rated it excellent because it met our needs. If you are looking for anything like the Westin, keep moving. This isn't the place for you. It is so outdated, but it was very clean. Didn't smell (and I'm a very picky person) and I didn't see any bugs. They don't come in every day and clean up your room or take the trash out. That is up to you to do and we were cool with that. But they do exchange your towels daily if you take them to the office. The woman in the office was very pleasant each time I spoke with her. There is no swimming pool, but there was a patio set right outside our door, which we though was cool and it came in handy when the kids got wet on the beach and we laid the clothes on the chairs/table to dry. They did not have an iron, but I had my travel iron.

We had a unit, which was very reasonable. It included a futon (kids slept on it) and a full size bed in the bedroom. It also had a kitchen and fridge, which came in handy for our leftovers and soda. At night we were able to walk right across to the ice cream place. Everything is so close to it. I was expecting it to be very noisey, but it wasn't. We were on Surf Rd., which looked like an alley, but I don't think it is. There was also a closet in the living room and a broom/dust pan which came in very handy for all the sand we tracked in.

We stayed at the Caribbean Resort Apartments because everything else was booked. Even the Atlantic Sands, which were pleasant people as well. The Caribbean is located directly across the street from the Atlantic Sands and across the street from the boardwalk, which is on the beach. Very close! We had our two kids with us and we just wanted a place to sleep at night because we were in town for our cousin's wedding.

So again, if you are Little Miss/Mr. Prissy and need your sheets changed daily and need everything to look futuristic, keep it moving. But if you are looking for a place for your family to chill, shower, and sleep, and do not mind the outdated furniture, this place is for you. My husband and I will definitely stay here again when we return because it's a cool place nevertheless. Oh, and they do take credit cards, :-)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#14 of 65 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#9 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
6.4 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
0.2 mi away
Neptune Hollywood Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Address: 313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#12 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.