We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Caribbean Resort by the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We needed a quick getaway to the beach. Full kitchen with microwave, all up to date amenities.
Bathroom all new, very nice tile, and shower.
Rooms are small however who cares when you're about 15 yards from the beach.
My wife thought the bed was too firm. There are a lot activities nearby, bikes, paddle ball courts, kids mini water park, a band shell with music at night.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and quite nice. My wife thought the bed was too firm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Along with the complete renovation of the hotel, all furnishings have been changed and are brand new, including the mattresses. We did choose our new mattresses to please the greater majority and we are sorry to hear that the firmness did not suit your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    9
    4
    10
See reviews for
31
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very good location,happy friendly service.nice clean(newly decorated) apartment good size with fridge / freezer micro wave and coffee machine ,washing and drying facility's available also BBQ to use on site.But you shouldn't have to cook good restaurants just round the corner do try the Mexican we loved it.Only problem for us was there was No hot water even at 7.30 am but that would not stop us coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we wanted to let you know that the hot water issue has been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

All new facility, excellent management, the room have all what you need and more can be found outside (tiki bar, tables and natural gas grills)
Sport activities, boardwalk with a lot of stores and restaurants, just yards from the hotel.
Definitely will be back soon.

Room Tip: Make reservation ahead of the time, the place was packed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We thank you for your review and great comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just got back from there.They shouldn t of rented the room to us as the whole place was under construction.Not much hot water even after a long wait, no WI Fi and not much good tv.There are many other small places with bigger rooms and less expensive all along the boardwalk.The work has been going on for months there were only 3 rooms refinished when we arrived in december(Frank???). The staff tried hard but it was a desaster. Forget pet friendly you can t do anything with a dog in Hollywood..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We thank you for your comments and we are very sorry that the ongoing renovations did not allow you to enjoy your stay. We wanted to let you know that the renovations have now been completed and we hope to have a chance to show you the new and improved Caribbean Resort the next time you visit Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davie
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a pleasant suprise when we found this fantastic Old Florida hotel is under new management & is being totally remodeled with all new windows, centeral A/C, new enlarged bathrooms, kitchens and beautiful interiors including beddings & furnature. We got to stay in one of the new rooms with an ocen view from the bed room and a view of their new Tiki bar from the front balcony.
The new owner was very accomodating and so was his staff who we both pleasant and helpful when ever we approached them for anything we needed.
Thanks Caribbean Resort; we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Call in advance. This place sells out quickly but all the rooms are NEW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your great comments and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I will not stay here again. We encountered so many bugs, of all kinds in our room. I know we are in South Florida, but come on! There were more bugs in our room than in our tent when we go camping! We even woke up with bugs on us while sleeping. It was really gross.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your sincere review. We are sorry you were inconvenienced by bugs during your stay with us. We assure you that bug extermination was a major part of our full renovation project which has now been completed. Despite your bad experience with us, we hope we have a chance to show you our renovated property the next time you stay in Hollywood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I spent my summer this year at the hotel. Boris and his family were delightful. All of the rooms are being totally renovated and this is going to be one of those hidden gems as the rooms have the latest windows, quiet AC's, great bathrooms with tremendous water pressure and it is just steps from the sand and ocean. All of the furniture is going to be new. I loved the place, the owners, staff and people who stayed here. It was a very special summer for me and I will be back to stay. Do yourself a favor and put this on your short list of hotels as this little 40's hotel is what Hollywood Beach is all about. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCaribbeanResort, Assistant Operations Manager at Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your summer with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean Resort by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Resort by the Ocean

Address: 313 Hayes Street at Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Caribbean Resort Apartments)
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#16 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Resort by the Ocean 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean Resort by the Ocean offers Newly Renovated Studios and One Bedroom Suites with all the modern comforts featuring luxurious kitchens adorned with custom wooden cabinetry and granite counter-tops, tiled bathrooms and showers, wall-mounted flat screen televisions and complimentary WiFi Internet.Located in Historic Hollywood Beach Florida, the Caribbean Resort is just steps away from seven miles of white sandy beach and the famous Broadwalk offering 2.5 miles of paved walking, jogging and biking path lined with restaurants, nightlife and all kinds of shopping.Hollywood Beach, Florida is known as a sportsman's paradise, offering all types of water sports imaginable. Go fishing, boating or even kite-surfing nearby. How about a round of golf? Or maybe try your luck at Gulfstream Racetrack and Casino, Dania Jai-Alai or The Hard Rock Casino. World renowned South Beach is just a twenty minute drive south and and beautiful Fort-Lauderdale is only a few miles to the north. All this excitement within minutes of the Caribbean Resort!The only thing missing is you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Caribbean Resort by the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Resort Apartments Hotel Hollywood
Caribbean Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Resort by the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.