We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Desoto Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Desoto Inn to your Saves list
The Desoto Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We've stayed at the Desoto Oceanview Inn before and were so happy to be able to return last December. The Desoto is quiet, well-kept, very clean, and steps away from the beach, which makes it the perfect spot for us. We love having access to the bicycles, which we used every day as well as the grills and garden seating areas complete with Joe, the parrot and his several cockatiel companions. Not to mention you couldn't ask for a better host than Steve! The Desoto is always our first choice when in the Ft. Lauderdale area and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone heading in that direction.

Room Tip: Although we loved our room at the Desoto, it was the corner unit so somewhat dark. We would prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent the last week of our 3 week Winter Getaway at the Desoto Oceanview Inn. Our room (E), had all the amenities one could need. The Inn is far enough away from the noise and crowds on the Broadwalk, but close enough to ride bikes to.
Very clean, which is top priority for us when picking a spot. Complimentary bicycles, books to read, BBQ grill, beach chairs and towels and so much more. Beautiful well tended gardens with plenty of seating, tables to eat etc.
Close to the beach and Broadwalk for jogging, biking, and walking. Several good restaurants nearby too.
Our unit had new furnishings and bedding. The cookware, dishes, blender, are top notch as well.
Steve, the manager of the Desoto is so nice and was right there if we had any questions or needed something.
We enjoyed the private and quiet beach just steps away from our room.
We didn't want to leave and are planning our next visit already!

Green Features: THis is a Green Hotel. They use all eco-friendly products.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a quiete place with your own kitchen you are absolutely right here. Here are the most important information: the hotel is located in a neighbourhood with mostly low buildings, still no mass tourismus. Entering the apartment you find a well equipped space, no carpet. You hardly will miss anything in the kitchen, all is there including a nice knife block and a blender. In 2 minutes you are already at the beach. Bycicles are a courtesy offer of the hotel, everybody can use them, as well as equipement for the beach as chairs & sand toys. you will find tables and chairs in the garden, very nice place for taking breakfast. If you need a daily cleaning service of the room: that is not included. During our stay we had no room service and did the houshold ourselves, including to get rid of the rubbish, wish we separated (bins are just in front of the hotel). We loved our stay and will definitly try to come back. One last word: the owner are very friendly ande gentle!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Desoto, and thank you for sharing it. It is so nice to to read your lovely comments. I am glad you like being close to the beach, it is one of my favorite things about living at the inn. I am also happy that you found your apartment comfortable. Please remember to ask about housekeeping help the next time you are with us, or even when you call for a reservation, we can offer you additional help. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I usually write my reviews right after returning from my travels. But this time was different because I had such mixed feelings. My husband and I stayed at the DeSoto for a week in December in Unit E. The overall experience was very good. Loved the location - away from the honky tonk of the Broadwalk, but close enough to bike to. Loved having bikes and used them every day to explore the area. Our unit was the perfect size and configuration with a king bed and small kitchen, and beautiful terrazzo floors. Everything was very clean and functional. The big problem was no fault of the DeSoto. it came from a noisy neighbor directly behind our unit only a few feet from our windows. He played his guitar and sang (badly) ALL DAY. Once in the middle of the night, we were awakened by last smashing and crashing sounds. Then a lot of yelling, and finally the police. The next day we spoke to Steve, the manager, about it. He was very apologetic, and said he would speak to the owner about it. Later he reported that it was over, and it should now all be fine. Well, within a day the singing, guitar playing and loud music was back. It didn't ruin our vacation, but it did tarnish what could have been a top ten. So disappointing, as we would definitely go back otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid Unit E - noisy neighbor directly behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We hope that the "worst of times" portion of your stay has been resolved by recent actions we have been able to take. Through a great deal of our due diligence and persistence, the owners of the Magic Motel behind us have sold the building. All of the terrible tenants that were a disturbance to the entire neighborhood have been evicted and are gone! Besides our thankful guests, the entire neighborhood is grateful that I have taken over management of the building. The new owners have re-named it Beach Breeze, and it will be closed through the summer and fall to renovate. Thank you for your review, I hope that you will come back, peace and quiet has returned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

You can tell that the owners really love this place. Just steps away from the beach, a beautiful garden (we had breakfast and lunch on the tables outside everyday), free bicycles and beach chairs, a safe and peaceful neighborhood, clean and comfortable rooms with plenty of towels, kitchen utensils so you can cook your own grub, an ice cream truck that comes by with tasty treats...and really quiet - a great getaway. We will definitely return...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am happy that everything was perfect, and hope you will come back often. That ice cream truck is really the best. It reminds me of the ice cream truck that used to come through my neighborhood when I was a kid in St. Louis. Have a great 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's been 2 weeks since I left my friends at The Desoto Inn :( The staff here know how to make you feel right at home, they truly care about your stay with them! The location is just steps away from a uncrowded section on Hollywood beach ( hard to find) and walking distance to a couple of fun restaurants. If you want, the Inn Keeper (Steve) offers bikes and in just a short ride you can head down the boardwalk to all the action! When you return to your quiet hideaway you can relax under a palm tree or a grass roofed dining room, BBQ or just take a nap in your comfy, nicely appointed room. The rooms are spotless clean, and have everything you need! You do not need to bring anything! My husband was relocated to Fort Lauderdale and we were looking for a place to stay for several months while we found your new home. Steve, Wendy and Bob quickly became our friends and made us feel right at home. We felt safe, and frankly didn't want to leave, This is the only place on Hollywood beach I would recommend to my friends and loved ones! Thank you all for a smooth transition. Hugs to you all. Julie & Scott Allen

Room Tip: Every room is nice, some are bigger but all are clean and have all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We never get tired of hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay at one of our inns. Thank you for your kind words, and thank you for being our friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed for five nights at the Desoto Inn. I can best desribe it is just a comfortable place to unwind. We had a studio style apartment/room. It was fully stocked with everything you need. There was a full size fridge, stove and microwave, even a blender for margaritas. If you are looking for a chrome and glass tower go to $outh Beach or Fort Lauderdale. If you want to enjoy the ocean 75 steps away and don't mind making the bed take a look at the Desoto. There were beach chairs and bikes, not new but certainly usable. My wife and I rode up to the Hollywood Broadwalk on bikes. Just a nice comfortable place to unwind and enjoy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
One of my favorite things to do is to read the TripAdvisor reviews from our guests. Every review is unique, and every review provides an opportunity to say thank you again for the wonderful guests that stay with us. Without your input, advice and kindness, we simply wouldn't be what we are - a comfortable, clean and quiet respite from the busy world around us. Thank you for your kind review, I am so happy you like the bikes, they are true beach bikes, a little rust, a little funky, but all in good pedaling condition. We pledge to keep things the way they are, and improve on all that needs improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desoto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desoto Inn

Address: 315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Desoto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside inn, nestled between beautiful parks, the intracoastal and the azure Atlantic. Footsteps to a very private beach. Minutes from attractions. Extremely clean, award winning studios, efficiencies and one bedroom apartments. Free parking, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. Tropical gardens with gazebos and bbq. Many amenities. Warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Desoto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desoto Oceanview Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desoto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.