We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Desoto Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Desoto Inn to your Saves list
The Desoto Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had an amazing time at The Desoto. From the moment you walk in it feels as if you had just stepped into tranquility heaven. From the beautiful gardens to the friendly staff, The Desoto makes for a fantastic vacation destination if you are looking for some serious R&R time. The resort offers bicycles and beach equipment for guests at no extra charge. The beach is only a short walk away from the property and bars in the area. The rooms are super spacious and very quaint, it really did feel like our home away from home. We had an amazing time during our stay at The Desoto and would highly recommend it.

Daiana and Alex

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you Daiana and Alex, your review is everything we try to be, and we'll make sure to keep growing on a tradition as a place you can call home when you're away from yours. Just working here with this wonderful staff we have is a treat. Thank you so much for your kindness, and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
67
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just loved my stay at The Desoto--the beautiful gardens, the gorgeous beach, and the friendly atmosphere. Quiet and serene, yet walking distance to a couple of fun casual seafood restaurants and pubs with music. Bicycles are provided. The beach was pristine, uncrowded, and had a lifeguard during the day. I hope I can come back next year!
--Pam, Okinawa, Japan

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

we spent three glorious days and nights here reveling in the homey wonderland our hosts have created. it's the un-hotel - more like visiting favorite relatives with lots of space. besides being
spotlessly clean, the little things - the bamboo sheets, the soft, medium and firm pillows, the vintage furnishings, plush towels, the fun and tasteful non-generic dishes and artwork made it special. Steve and Josias have thought of EVERYTHING...and the low-key vibe practically spoonfeeds tranquility into your life. The festive lushly planted courtyard complete with covered tables and birds of many feathers offers yet another space to while away your time. the glorious beach is literally steps away, the neighborhood quiet and bike-friendly (which are part of the package at the hotel) and the vintage boardwalk a leisurely ride away, The beaches are wide and user-friendly - showers, shade, and easy proximity to snacking and icy cold libations of all description round out the experience. It was heavenly. While there is no pool, and the highly acclaimed breakfast service normally part of the package has been temporarily suspended, we didn't miss either. and did i mention there were no children present? would visit again...and again...and again. don't ever change.

Room Tip: we loved the roominess of the studio - the separate eat-in kitchen area and walk through closet gave...
See more room tips
Green Features: always good to be kind to the planet. Our hosts efforts and green choices make it appealing; their commitment to keeping hollywood beautiful, small and local admirable.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review of the Desoto, we are especially thrilled to read that the small things like bamboo sheets and eclectic decor is so appreciated, it makes our labor of love worth every moment we spend creating a paradise for our guests. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My parents renewed their vows for their 50th anniversary starting here than had the renewal on their area on the beach. Perfectly beautiful and clean place. Staff so friendly and accommodating. My husband and I can't wait to go back for a little us time!! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Desoto for your vow renewals. We enjoyed every member of your family, and we were honored to share the 50th anniversary wedding vows renewal with all of you. We hope you'll come back again to celebrate future anniversaries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Desoto is a home away from home. with Its lush Florida-Native gardens less than 1/2 block from the Atlantic Ocean and it's exceptionally clean, warm, friendly accommodations (this includes rooms, Steve, and Josias) allows me to relax and rejuvenate before returning home. Any time of the year you will find the Desoto a gem. There is no pool but there are complimentary bicycles for borrowing.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
Green Features: It's an award winning environmentally green motel.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy when you're happy, and we promise to continue a tradition of real southern hospitality. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The studio had everything we needed and was clean, with wonderful pictures on the wall, and a shower curtain full of flip-flops, which made us feel right at home We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen; we ate in the garden at one of several tables available there. The parrot and the cockatoos (sp?) in their cage in the garden were wonderful company. The beach is 30 feet away. The hotel has its own bikes and so it's easy to take these out (free) whenever needed. The long board walk is also easily accessed from the hotel. Steve Welch, the on site manager, is friendly and welcoming. We can recommend this for individuals couples and families.

Room Tip: The smallest efficiency lacks a sitting area. We liked having the larger studio for this reason alon...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling and respecting the planet is a value of this hotel, which is pointed out from the moment you arrive. We admired this.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The studio is really a nice choice for all of the extra space it offers, and for just a few dollars more, I'm glad you chose it. Thank you for your kind review, and please come back again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I agree with all of the glowing accolades that Steve and Josias have justifiably earned from their guests. Indeed, our amiable hosts were helpful and the rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. What also sets this lovely inn apart is the thoughtful landscaping. The owners display a strong environmental ethic that is refreshingly different from the typical, commercial Florida motel that butts up against the ocean and reflects rampant, uncontrolled development and an indifferent, uncaring attitude to the native environment.

The Desoto Oceanview Inn is surrounded by vegetation. The grounds are well maintained and the gardens are planted with vegetables and numerous fruit trees as well as colourful ornamental specimens. We noticed a pineapple and fig tree that were understoried by thyme, lavender and basil. There are small pools that support wildlife such as small, shy anoles that are given a safe haven from the marauding, non-native feral cats that decimate the song bird population and transmit toxoplasmosis (read the January 2013 issue of National Geographic on this endemic disease and its impact on humans).

My husband and I can't wait to return to the Desoto Inn. It is a quaint, welcoming, lovely oasis that provides hope for conservation of native flora and fauna. We were also impressed by the variety of vegetables that guests are welcome to harvest such as tomatoes and peppers.

Steve and Josias, you two are amazing! Kudos and our thanks for a wonderful, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
extraclean, General Manager at The Desoto Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for recognizing our commitment to the environment, and especially our Florida native environment. We love the challenge of creating an environmentally-friendly garden, and we love it even more when a guest appreciates it. We are now nearly 90% native at the Oceanview, and our Ocean Spray garden is 100% native Florida. Thanks again for the beautiful review, come back soon, we'll recruit you to help in the gardens. Have a wonderful summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desoto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desoto Inn

Address: 315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly The Desoto Oceanview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Desoto Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside inn, nestled between beautiful parks, the intracoastal and the azure Atlantic. Footsteps to a very private beach. Minutes from attractions. Extremely clean, award winning studios, efficiencies and one bedroom apartments. Free parking, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. Tropical gardens with gazebos and bbq. Many amenities. Warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Desoto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desoto Oceanview Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desoto Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.