We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST VACATION EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Desoto Oceanview Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Desoto Oceanview Inn to your Saves list
The Desoto Oceanview Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BEST VACATION EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our stay at The Desoto Inn definitely made it our best vacation ever! It is the perfect location to stay for a family, personal getaway, or a couples retreat. Only minutes from downtown Hollywood. The owner Steve was so personable! He interacted with you as if you were family and had known you for years. It was clean and convenient. Had all the things you may ever need: full kitchen, healthy breakfast served every morning, cable tv, and many of the things we forgot (chairs, kids toys, boogie boards, bikes, aloe and spf, *ALL FREE OF CHARGE!!) It was simply beautiful, from the well kept gardens, tiki huts, and bird cage. It was very relaxing and quiet. Parking was assigned, so you never had to fight for a spot. With twenty foot steps your feet are in the sand, NO DRIVING REQUIRED. The beach wasn't crowded. It's not a party beach, which is how I like to stay. It was simply perfect! If you're considering please don't pass up this opportunity, you will NOT be disappointed. You don't find places like this anymore these days. We will sure to return ourselves. (Nastassia Hinrichsen, Angie & Jasper)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
63
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helens, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We (me & 2 sons ages 13 & 9) stayed at the DeSoto in September when tropical storm Isaac hit. We actually had a great time and the owner, Steve, was taking good care of everyone there even bringing lunch to his guest's rooms figuring we were sequestered (we actually braved the weather). The DeSoto went above & beyond in the service department (so rare!) and is such a charming, beautiful, unique place to stay. I live in Oregon & plan on traveling all the way to Florida just to stay at the DeSoto again, thanks to the wonderful experience there. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the desoto Inn this past August. It was the best vacation ever, because of the location and the people. The Desoto Inn really valued the importance of having a relaxing vacation. My favorite thing about the Desoto (and which i bragged about when returning home) was the free access to vacation things, such as beach cruisers, beach chairs, and defintely the variety of sunscreen and aloe that we were able to use. If you are thinking of staying with the Desoto Inn, please do! This was one of the best vacations in a long time! - Angie Vinci, Nastassia, and Jasper

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My boyfriend and I happened to book our stay the weekend Tropical Storm Issac hit. Still, The Desoto proved to be wonderful. We had a great time, personally chatted with the owner [Steve, very nice guy] and just loved the place. It's very eco-friendly and green... The place looks like a garden. I would recommend it to anyone :)

Room Tip: Booking the one bedroom really made it feel like we were in a home away from home. Very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a beautiful, tranquil experience, we will definitely go back.. My fiance and I stayed at the Desoto Oceanview Inn at the beginning of September for 4 days... The property is beautifully landscaped, quiet and peaceful. The beach was a few minutes walk and so gorgeous.. nobody around but us! We rented a 1 bedroom unit that was immaculate,and so tastefully decorated, loaded with South Florida charm. I was skeptical about the vegan breakfast, but was pleasantly surprised. Everything was so delicious, I wish she was my personal chef!! Steve was pleasant and helpful for any of our requests. A definite jewel in Hollywood!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Breakfast was excellent and unique, beach was clean and beautiful, chairs/umbrellas/etc. available to use, bikes on property were convenient for going to the store, and staff was super friendly and accommodating! The birds and owner's dogs were also a nice treat for a pet owner away from home :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Studio A- on corner, easy access to parking lot and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It was a win win experience. We did leave a day early, thanks to Tropical Storm Issac but we still had a very nice time. It is wonderful to have a healthy breakfast each moring, beach towels, beach chairs and bikes ready and waiting for no additional cost. Yoga on the beach was amazing! The last night we attended a free concert on the boardwalk and truly enjoyed the entertainment.
Thank you to Steve, Tiffany and the staff!!

Jack & Kathy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desoto Oceanview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desoto Oceanview Inn

Address: 315 Desoto Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Desoto Oceanview Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely seaside inn, nestled between beautiful parks, the intracoastal and the azure Atlantic. Footsteps to a very private beach. Minutes from attractions. Extremely clean, award winning studios, efficiencies and one bedroom apartments. Free parking, bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. Tropical gardens with gazebos and bbq. Many amenities. Warm and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Desoto Oceanview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desoto Oceanview Hotel Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desoto Oceanview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.