We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want my business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Sands Beach Suites
Save
You added Atlantic Sands Beach Suites to your Saves list
310 - 318 Hayes Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Didn't want my business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I have stayed at this property on three prior occasions. Location is a minute from famed boardwalk and located right behind Nicks Resturant. There is no pool but the beautiful ocean is a five minute walk. The bandstand which has live music five nights a week and is a five minute walk with several bars and stores for shopping and ideal for people watching. The room is decent at best and beds are not very good if you have back issues. There is a small kitchen for cooking so you can save on eating out. Also there is an outside grill and a secured washer and dryer room. On my last visit to Hollywood I had planned on staying elsewhwere but in the ast minute it fell thru so I stopped by The Atlantic Sands and asked if they could drop their fee as I was tight on money and they adamantly said no despite half occupancy and they knew who I was. Now here's the kicker, I own a two week time share at The Sands which is located on the boardwalk next to The Marriot Hotel and s arguably one of the finest timeshares on the beach. I walked down to The Sands and they were more than happy to accomadate me at a steep price reduction. The Sands agreed with my thinking that its better to make something rather then nothing as long as you don't take a loss. I shared my decision with Dori the owner of the Atlantic Sands and didn't even receive a counter offer which I would have declined anyway. My post is not about sour grapes its about human interaction and common sense. Please do not get The Sands and The Atlantic Sands confused. The Sands is a four star top flight resort. Google it and you can see for your self not to mention I am looking to but an additional week after abor day.

Room Tip: There were plenty of empty rooms, I usually get an end room so I can keep an eye on my car because a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
78
65
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed 4 wonderful nights at the Atlantic Sands Beach Suites. Clean, comfortable, safe and steps to the beach and ocean. I loved having a kitchen with EVERYTHING I needed to make coffee, breakfast or a late-night snack, and the full size refrigerator was bigger and colder than the one I have in my NYC apartment. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. Having a washer and dryer on the premises was a luxury. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas were available for use, at no extra charge.The staff are very helpful and welcoming, (there was a welcome sign in my suite with my name on it, next to a fresh flower), a nice personal touch! Thank you. All my questions were answered and they checked on me daily to see if I needed anything.
I read the other reviews regarding the mattresses, it reminded me of Goldilocks and the 3 bears. Too soft, too hard and mine was just right. I had no problem with the mattress, in fact, it was perfect. I slept wonderful.
Thank you again, Dori Lynn and Patricia

Room Tip: No need to read anymore reviews, book a front room closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have just returned from 2 weeks vacation in Hollywood, staying at Atlantic Sands and had an amazing time.

The location of the Atlantic Sands is sensational: just a couple minutes walk from the beach (or less if you are sprinting off the beach during a downpour). The local cafe's and restaurants along the Broadwalk are also within easy walking distance, but you don't get the noise from the Broadwalk because it is one (small) street away.

Johnson Street is no more than 5 mins walk away where you can get the Hollywood Trolley and all 3 stop at this location so it's perfect. The Beach Theatre is also here in Johnson Street.

The restaurants along the Intra- Coastal waterway (Joes's Tiki Bar, Le Tub, GGs Grill) are a short walk away - I couldn't have asked for a better location. You have a great choice of restaurants and bars all within easy walking distance.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit which is upstairs, and were greeted with a lovely welcoming letter upon arrival. The charm and friendliness was evident right from the start. This unit has a balcony off one of the bedrooms which is perfect for enjoying breakfast or an evening drink.

The apartment was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker (that's all we needed) and a stove. Living room and both bedrooms have their own air conditioning units and fans. I found the bed to be very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. The bathroom isn't huge but it's functional and does the job. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom (I suffer from beach-hair so a hair dryer is very useful) and a coin operated washer and dryer on site.

We had use of Beach umbrellas which we took across to the beach each day and although we didn't use them I did see other toys and beach gear on site. When on the beach we felt safe enough to go to a nearby cafe for lunch and leave our umbrellas, chairs and towels on the beach. It really felt like a safe and friendly beach and neighborhood. A parking permit was included and we were always able to find a spot in the street - although we didn't use the car that much.

I loved staying here - Dory Lynn was super friendly and helpful and the apartment was great for a beach holiday. As it was a beach location we trampled sand everywhere and the apartment was designed and furnished with that in mind. If you are after a 5 star luxury penthouse with room service, plush carpets, fancy fixtures and fittings then this is not for you. But of you want a friendly, functional, well run place right near the beach then The Atlantic Sands is definitely worth considering.

I can't wait to come back - and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The owners and staff are super nice and helpful. The suites are cute, cheerful, and clean. The only issues we had was the shower was almost intolerable and the mattresses are not comfortable. The shower pressure was way too forceful. However, we never alerted management to our issues so I have no idea if these would have been resolved. The location is wonderful, just a few steps to the ocean and right in between all the shops and restaurants. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently spent a weekend on the beach in Hollywood at the Atlantic Sands. The room was great--clean and cool! The bed was comfortable (there is an extra pillow in the closet). I woke up early on Saturday and was able to sit outside the room and enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the ocean. It was a perfect experience. The location is truly within 1 minute of the boardwalk and beach. We ate at an Italian restaurant about 1 block north on the Boardwalk for a late dinner—the food came out fast but the service was awful. We had a much better experience for brunch at a restaurant a few minutes’ walk south on the boardwalk that one of the employees, Dori Lynn, suggested. The service and food were awesome. We will definitely be back for another weekend at the Atlantic Sands!

Room Tip: I haven't been around a window AC unit in a long time. It was noisier than I remembered, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Atlantic Sands twice in the last two years. Just a few steps from the famous boardwalk. Room is decent at best with a small kitchen to cook. As prior review wrote the mattress is ungodly awful. Worst I've been on except when I was locked up. Owner Dorie, her Mom and staff are friendly people. I went to Florida in March and there were plenty of empty rooms and asked them if they would come down 20.00 and they said no, so I found a much nicer place down the boardwalk at a cheaper price that I have since been to twice. I guess rather than make something they prefer to let you walk away. Hope this review helps someone.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As much as we love Hollywood Beach and the first two visits to Atlantic Sands, our 3rd stay (7 nights) December of 2011 was our last. Absolutely the worst mattress ever; squeaky, hard as a rock. We mentioned that the mattress was not tolerable and we were told to try other beds and select another room. We did. Bed(s) in other units mediocre at best, but found one with no loud squeaks. Other issues included shower curtain rod falling each shower, worn/unkept pillows and linens, broken refrigerator shelves, basic/inefficient wall unit, and paper thin walls. We were very disappointed that quality of the inn has declined. The location is nice, but the inn needs care. We will stay elsewhere for our next stay in Hollywood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
0.0 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
0.4 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#14 of 65 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#9 of 65 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marine Villas
Marine Villas
#4 of 65 in Hollywood
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nevada Beach Apartments - Hollywood Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Sands Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

Address: 310 - 318 Hayes Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Sands is a small, family-owned and operated vacation rental property located just 100 feet from Hollywood's beach and boardwalk and just a few blocks from an outdoor theater where there are free concerts five nights a week. We feature non-smoking, one-bedroom suites that have everything you will need for a short vacation or an extended stay. We have a beautiful, tropical courtyard area perfect for family gatherings. Easily accessible for both airports and cruise ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Beach Hotel Hollywood
Atlantic Sands Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.