We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Sands Beach Suites
310 - 318 Hayes Street, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
London, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I have just returned from 2 weeks vacation in Hollywood, staying at Atlantic Sands and had an amazing time.

The location of the Atlantic Sands is sensational: just a couple minutes walk from the beach (or less if you are sprinting off the beach during a downpour). The local cafe's and restaurants along the Broadwalk are also within easy walking distance, but you don't get the noise from the Broadwalk because it is one (small) street away.

Johnson Street is no more than 5 mins walk away where you can get the Hollywood Trolley and all 3 stop at this location so it's perfect. The Beach Theatre is also here in Johnson Street.

The restaurants along the Intra- Coastal waterway (Joes's Tiki Bar, Le Tub, GGs Grill) are a short walk away - I couldn't have asked for a better location. You have a great choice of restaurants and bars all within easy walking distance.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit which is upstairs, and were greeted with a lovely welcoming letter upon arrival. The charm and friendliness was evident right from the start. This unit has a balcony off one of the bedrooms which is perfect for enjoying breakfast or an evening drink.

The apartment was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker (that's all we needed) and a stove. Living room and both bedrooms have their own air conditioning units and fans. I found the bed to be very comfortable and the shower had good pressure. The bathroom isn't huge but it's functional and does the job. There was a hair dryer in the bathroom (I suffer from beach-hair so a hair dryer is very useful) and a coin operated washer and dryer on site.

We had use of Beach umbrellas which we took across to the beach each day and although we didn't use them I did see other toys and beach gear on site. When on the beach we felt safe enough to go to a nearby cafe for lunch and leave our umbrellas, chairs and towels on the beach. It really felt like a safe and friendly beach and neighborhood. A parking permit was included and we were always able to find a spot in the street - although we didn't use the car that much.

I loved staying here - Dory Lynn was super friendly and helpful and the apartment was great for a beach holiday. As it was a beach location we trampled sand everywhere and the apartment was designed and furnished with that in mind. If you are after a 5 star luxury penthouse with room service, plush carpets, fancy fixtures and fittings then this is not for you. But of you want a friendly, functional, well run place right near the beach then The Atlantic Sands is definitely worth considering.

I can't wait to come back - and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
60
51
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The owners and staff are super nice and helpful. The suites are cute, cheerful, and clean. The only issues we had was the shower was almost intolerable and the mattresses are not comfortable. The shower pressure was way too forceful. However, we never alerted management to our issues so I have no idea if these would have been resolved. The location is wonderful, just a few steps to the ocean and right in between all the shops and restaurants. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently spent a weekend on the beach in Hollywood at the Atlantic Sands. The room was great--clean and cool! The bed was comfortable (there is an extra pillow in the closet). I woke up early on Saturday and was able to sit outside the room and enjoy a cup of coffee while watching the ocean. It was a perfect experience. The location is truly within 1 minute of the boardwalk and beach. We ate at an Italian restaurant about 1 block north on the Boardwalk for a late dinner—the food came out fast but the service was awful. We had a much better experience for brunch at a restaurant a few minutes’ walk south on the boardwalk that one of the employees, Dori Lynn, suggested. The service and food were awesome. We will definitely be back for another weekend at the Atlantic Sands!

Room Tip: I haven't been around a window AC unit in a long time. It was noisier than I remembered, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Atlantic Sands twice in the last two years. Just a few steps from the famous boardwalk. Room is decent at best with a small kitchen to cook. As prior review wrote the mattress is ungodly awful. Worst I've been on except when I was locked up. Owner Dorie, her Mom and staff are friendly people. I went to Florida in March and there were plenty of empty rooms and asked them if they would come down 20.00 and they said no, so I found a much nicer place down the boardwalk at a cheaper price that I have since been to twice. I guess rather than make something they prefer to let you walk away. Hope this review helps someone.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As much as we love Hollywood Beach and the first two visits to Atlantic Sands, our 3rd stay (7 nights) December of 2011 was our last. Absolutely the worst mattress ever; squeaky, hard as a rock. We mentioned that the mattress was not tolerable and we were told to try other beds and select another room. We did. Bed(s) in other units mediocre at best, but found one with no loud squeaks. Other issues included shower curtain rod falling each shower, worn/unkept pillows and linens, broken refrigerator shelves, basic/inefficient wall unit, and paper thin walls. We were very disappointed that quality of the inn has declined. The location is nice, but the inn needs care. We will stay elsewhere for our next stay in Hollywood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just stayed one night. Price a bit high, furniture worn, people very friendly. No ocean view.
Stayed May 25,2012.. No pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Atlantic Sands, along with my sister and a friend who also rented a unit at the resort. Both units were very clean, roomy, comfortable, and cheery. The Atlantic Sands was just as delightful as the pictures I had viewed on line. The location of the Atlantic Sands is excellent as it is a few steps to the beach, stores, restaurants, and the Hollywood Beach Theater. The owner, Dori Lynn, and her staff were great and made us feel at home. They were all very helpful if we had any questions or needed anything throughout our stay at the resort. The outside barbecue grill was an added bonus as it was in a beautifully landscaped area. The grill and utensils were clean and an extra propane tank was nearby if needed. As we had flown into Fort Lauderdale, Dori Lynn recommended a car rental/transportation service which we used and found it to be reliable and affordable. We enjoyed our stay so well at the Atlantic Sands, we are already booked to come back but next time for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Units 1 through 4 were on a street side but not a problem. Units 5 through 8 are near the grill are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Sands Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sands Beach Suites

Address: 310 - 318 Hayes Street, Hollywood, FL 33019
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#5 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Best Value Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Sands is a small, family-owned and operated vacation rental property located just 100 feet from Hollywood's beach and boardwalk and just a few blocks from an outdoor theater where there are free concerts five nights a week. We feature non-smoking, one-bedroom suites that have everything you will need for a short vacation or an extended stay. We have a beautiful, tropical courtyard area perfect for family gatherings. Easily accessible for both airports and cruise ports. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sands Beach Hotel Hollywood
Atlantic Sands Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sands Beach Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Sands Beach Suites to your Saves list