We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Service on Birthday Dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill

GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill
606 N. Ocean Drive (A1A), Hollywood, FL 33019
954-929-7030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 477 restaurants in Hollywood
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New York St.
Description: Affordable waterfront dining! Here you'll enjoy an amazing selection of day boat fish, fresh seafood, lobster and stone crabs, raw bar specialties and superb steaks and chops grilled to perfection! GG's Waterfront Bar & Grill, formerly Giorgio’s Grill is centrally located on beautiful Hollywood Beach, minutes from Ft. Lauderdale, Aventura and 15 miles from Miami. Overlooking the Intracoastal waterway with 450 feet of dock, this is a fabulous way to enjoy beautiful waterfront sunsets! Newly remodeled and updated, the interior is elegant, yet casual and comfortable. The main dining room also features views of our large, bustling open kitchen. You can even dine al fresco on the covered dockside patio or relax and have a cocktail, appetizers or a meal in our outdoor lounge or main bar. The restaurant is a Hollywood Icon - in the 50's and 60's it was the famous Rat Pack hang-out of Frank Sinatra and his buddies. Now you can enjoy our legendary waterfront dining and views!
NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Service on Birthday Dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A bit disappointed with our dinner at GG’s on Friday 25 January 2013. We had previously visited this intercostal waterfront restaurant in May 2012, ate outside on the deck, and enjoyed good food and service. But on 25 January, my birthday dinner, so maybe I was feeling too upbeat, we decided to eat inside the restaurant. We had a young woman server, very pleasant, took our order, and our drinks arrived reasonably quickly. Then we waited for our appetizers > oysters and soup. And waited. Then our dinners arriver, followed 15 seconds later by a second runner with the appetizers. I waived away the appetizers, who wants all that food all at once. The manager came over a few minutes later and apologized, the waitress had placed the order into the system late, but we did not ask for nor were offered even a complimentary desert. Food especially the seafood risotto was wonderful. My wife regretted leaving the Diplomat for GG’s – I could not disagree.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    189
    112
    54
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food and dito service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely spot for a lunch or dinner, plenty of room outdoors overlooking one of the marina's. Food has good quality and service is good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

GG's is a basic on A1A on the Intracoastal in Hollywood, Fla. The Happy Hour from 4PM to 7PM at the bar outside is half price and delicious. Get there around sunset and you are in for a treat. Great sunset over the Intracoastal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Totally awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This restaurant was a short cab ride from our hotel. The pork chop (can't remember the fancy name for it) was to die for! The waterfront dining was wonderful, too. Would highly recommend this if you want a really good dinner!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not so happy happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had happy hour drinks and appetizers here a couple of nights. The happy hour area was restricted to small areas at the inside or outside bar areas where there was inadequate seating. There were many vacant tables next to the happy hour area that were not eligible for happy hour pricing, Not very customer friendly to cram everyone into a small area for happy hour when there was plenty of other space available alongside. The apps and drinks were generally pretty tasty and a decent value at happy hour prices but probably would not be at full price. The bartenders were not particularly friendly or attentive. The restaurant overlooks the intracoastal waterway which was definitely the highlight here aside from my wonderful wife and relatives that accompanied me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GG's Waterfront Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.