We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to relax and eat GREAT food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The taco spot

The taco spot
1500 North Broad Walk, Hollywood, FL
9549217711
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 477 restaurants in Hollywood
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
2 reviews
“Awesome place to relax and eat GREAT food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and girlfriend live 5 minutes away and had up until this point never come to The Taco Spot. Man were we glad we finally decided to try them out!
Very tasty food. Really, the food here was outstanding. I tried the kimchi taco along with 1 fish and 1 tempura shrimp taco. All 3 were very good but if I had to choose a best I would probably pick the kimchi, I absolutely loved it! My girlfriend had a kimchi and a tempura shrimp taco. She loved both and couldn't choose a best.
We also ordered a couple Miami Vice's, these we also very good and had just the right amount of alcohol imo, I like to be able to taste the alcohol in my drink. Reasonably priced too at $8.

Ok on to the staff...

When we first arrived we walked in and were greeted with a very sincere feeling welcome and was told to get comfortable and enjoy. That was very warm feeling and definitely made us feel relaxed and at home. Don't get that often at many restaurants.
Our waiter was very good too, no complaints there. Or anywhere really.


We will be back often and next time I think I will try the ceviche!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    141
    53
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent taco's with an amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

OMG, the Korean short rib taco was fantastic! Great flavor and awsome sauces to go with it. The combo is almost too much food (2 taco's, beans, rice & grilled corn on the cob). And what a view! Looking out over hollywood beach from under a thatch roof doesn't get any better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Tacos on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved this beachside restaurant in Hollywood Fla. The have the most amazing mango margaritas and the food is excellent. You can sit and look out at the ocean while you eat. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Taco Spot vs. Taco Beach Shack”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went to both places in the same week and ordered the Grilled Fish soft taco combo dinner. What a big difference between the two.
We first went to Taco Beach Shack. First you have three choices for soft taco shells, flour, corn and wheat. You get (3) tacos, beans, rice and Mexican parmesan cheese corn on the cob. Everything on the tacos seemed fresh, the cabbage and fish. They also put a nice sauce in the taco which gave it a great flavor. The Mexican corn was very tasty and large portion. The waiter came by about every five minutes to see if we were alright and needed fresh drinks. It had a nice outdoor feel.
Two nights later we went to the Taco Spot. We were offered only flour soft taco shells. You get (2) tacos, beans, rice and kind of Mexican parmesan cheese corn on the cob. The cabbage in the taco was not fresh and not shredded small enough. The corn on the cob was very small and had very little seasoning. There was no kind of sauce on the taco and it was very dry. The soft taco shells were even falling apart. Besides the below average tacos the service was horrible.
Our first round of beers were done when our waitress brought the food to our table and asked if we wanted another round with our dinner and we all replied “YES”. We began eating thinking our drinks would arrive BUT they never did and we finished our meals. It seemed our waitress was MIA at times and also running around with her head down during our dinner. I finally found her behind the counter and mentioned to her that she forgot our drinks and paid our bill right there. We got out of there fast so we could get a drink somewhere else to wash our dinner down.
In conclusion the Taco Beach Shack seemed way better than the Taco Spot. The Shack was the better deal. It had good service, good food and looked cleaned. The only negative was the entertainer playing that night had some issues with their sound system and making loud feedback noises.
The only positive with the Taco Spot is the view. Everything else was below average and the place didn’t seem that clean. They’re many other places that have that same view so it may be worth to find another. There is no way they should have a high rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Empanadas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stopped along the boardwalk for a quick bite to eat & drink at this inviting eatery. Had a chicken empanada and beer - delicious and quick!! Would recommend for sure!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The taco spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The taco spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.