We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“14 people and we all loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ataraxia by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ataraxia by the Sea
Save
You added Ataraxia by the Sea to your Saves list
301 Jackson Street, Hollywood, FL 33019-2016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“14 people and we all loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our family of 14 rented all 5 suites. The owners Dean and Lori made us all feel welcome the second our van pulled up. Ages 60 to 2 months. This place offers so much,,, # 1 location,, steps to the broadwalk and ocean. A heated mineral pool right outside your door totally fenced in and private. They supplied all the towels we needed. We used their beach chairs everyday at the beach. We rode their bicycles for miles. There patio alongside the pool had a brand new gas grill and nice teak tables and chairs which we cooked out at many times. Back to location,,, the places to walk were endless. Restaurants, lounges, shopping and outdoor dancing and people watching went on for miles. The rooms were great, my oldest son has 4 kids and he had a 1100 sq. ft apartment with a large living room and gourmet kitchen with two full baths. My wife and I had a room right off the pool, great bed and big bathroom, and all the suites have nice flat screen TV's hooked up to satellite.
But really, Dean and Lori made our vacation, they are like visiting family, they couldn't do enough for us. Whether you go for a couples get away or family reunion you will love it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
39
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omro, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great location, close to the beach and broadwalk. (that's what they call it). Hosts are super people. Hard to determine which light switches control which lights and the microwave turntable didn't work nor the ice making machine.The place needs a little tender loving care but overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently with my husband for 5 nights recently while arranging/attending my mother's funeral. The house is fabulous, and Lori & Dean were very sympathetic & comforting. Playing catch in the pool with Otis, their dachshund, made me so happy. Our 2nd floor suite had an ocean view & was very comfortable. Breakfasts were ample & delicious. Lori is an accomplished massage therapist. Ataraxia was the perfect spot for us, I hope we have the opportunity to return under happier circumstances.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although we had some issues with the check in date they were great! It is such a relaxed atmosphere and Dean really made up for the confusion. They offer great amenities in the rooms and they seem to take pride in making sure everything is clean and secure. Your stay even comes with some entertainment provided by Dean and Lori's wiener dog who will play ball all day by the pool. You can book spa treatments or relax ocean front as you are walking distance off the beach and broadwalk. We likes it so much we recommended it to friends who also booked and loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at Ataraxia by the Sea. WE. LOVED. IT. Dean was so kind and was a great host. He had everything one would need to enjoy a beach vacation: beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas and even offered us sunscreen. We also had use of bicycles during our stay which made getting around easy. The room was vey clean and private. Breakfast was simple but satisfying. Ataraxia is not the Crowne Plaza. It is a small, privately owned bed and breakfast. If you desire something small, quiet and individualized attention, this is the place for you! An added bonus is Otis, the swimming dachshund! We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Couples ask for the room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband I visit the Miami area twice a year for 7 years. We usually stay in the North Miami Beach area or in Hollywood Beach at well known hotels. On our last trip we decided to stay at a smaller Bed & Breakfast. Well, there are none that I could find other than Ataraxia By The Sea. The small quaint establishment owned and operated by Dean and Lori is a fine gem. I hesitate to give great review because I know this will lessen my chance of getting a room when I want one. The rooms are very bohemian and clean. The location is perfect. The pool is great for a fast dip. Dean will make you anything you want for breakfast just let him know what and at what time. You have use of the bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the outdoor kitchen. Lori will exchange towles and bed linens as you request. The location is also great for visiting Miami or Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The pool is so lush, with trees covering providing some shade. The downstairs rooms are literally 5 steps from the pool. Dean and Lori are gracious hosts and attentive to any questions we have. They have a cute little dog who loves to play ball in the pool, so I think the place must be dog friendly, although I don't remember seeing other dogs. The rooms are all decorated differently, eclectic. We've stayed there several times and have never had a plumbing problem or any sort of issue with any of the rooms. You can wash clothes at the convenient free downstairs washer/dryer. There is free wireless. The largest two bedroom unit has a great kitchen, again just steps away from the pool. We've spent many an evening eating at the poolside table. Ataraxia is close to the Hollywood Broadwalk, you can sit on a bench and watch the sunrise with the local colorful retired crowd. It is a 1/2 mile or so to walk down to the bar/shops area of the Broadwalk. The Hollywood Bandshell is probably a mile walk, they have free concerts sometimes on the weekend. I highly recommend this gem of a place, in a gem of beach town.

Room Tip: The Oceania is larger but it is upstairs and on the other side of the house. So although you can lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ataraxia by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ataraxia by the Sea

Address: 301 Jackson Street, Hollywood, FL 33019-2016
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach and Broadwalk. Our home is your home. Enter as strangers- leave as friends. Our goal is to make your stay a memorable and fun time. Our Breakfast is wonderful. Read our reviews. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ataraxia by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.