We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ataraxia by the Sea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ataraxia by the Sea
301 Jackson Street, Hollywood, FL 33019-2016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Hollywood B&B and Inns
Marietta, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Although we had some issues with the check in date they were great! It is such a relaxed atmosphere and Dean really made up for the confusion. They offer great amenities in the rooms and they seem to take pride in making sure everything is clean and secure. Your stay even comes with some entertainment provided by Dean and Lori's wiener dog who will play ball all day by the pool. You can book spa treatments or relax ocean front as you are walking distance off the beach and broadwalk. We likes it so much we recommended it to friends who also booked and loved it. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
38
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I spent four days at Ataraxia by the Sea. WE. LOVED. IT. Dean was so kind and was a great host. He had everything one would need to enjoy a beach vacation: beach towels, beach chairs, umbrellas and even offered us sunscreen. We also had use of bicycles during our stay which made getting around easy. The room was vey clean and private. Breakfast was simple but satisfying. Ataraxia is not the Crowne Plaza. It is a small, privately owned bed and breakfast. If you desire something small, quiet and individualized attention, this is the place for you! An added bonus is Otis, the swimming dachshund! We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Couples ask for the room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband I visit the Miami area twice a year for 7 years. We usually stay in the North Miami Beach area or in Hollywood Beach at well known hotels. On our last trip we decided to stay at a smaller Bed & Breakfast. Well, there are none that I could find other than Ataraxia By The Sea. The small quaint establishment owned and operated by Dean and Lori is a fine gem. I hesitate to give great review because I know this will lessen my chance of getting a room when I want one. The rooms are very bohemian and clean. The location is perfect. The pool is great for a fast dip. Dean will make you anything you want for breakfast just let him know what and at what time. You have use of the bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the outdoor kitchen. Lori will exchange towles and bed linens as you request. The location is also great for visiting Miami or Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The pool is so lush, with trees covering providing some shade. The downstairs rooms are literally 5 steps from the pool. Dean and Lori are gracious hosts and attentive to any questions we have. They have a cute little dog who loves to play ball in the pool, so I think the place must be dog friendly, although I don't remember seeing other dogs. The rooms are all decorated differently, eclectic. We've stayed there several times and have never had a plumbing problem or any sort of issue with any of the rooms. You can wash clothes at the convenient free downstairs washer/dryer. There is free wireless. The largest two bedroom unit has a great kitchen, again just steps away from the pool. We've spent many an evening eating at the poolside table. Ataraxia is close to the Hollywood Broadwalk, you can sit on a bench and watch the sunrise with the local colorful retired crowd. It is a 1/2 mile or so to walk down to the bar/shops area of the Broadwalk. The Hollywood Bandshell is probably a mile walk, they have free concerts sometimes on the weekend. I highly recommend this gem of a place, in a gem of beach town.

Room Tip: The Oceania is larger but it is upstairs and on the other side of the house. So although you can lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I did a ton of reading and research before picking this B&B. We were traveling for the first time from the West Coast to Fr. Lauderdale. I had to travel to see a doctor, the trip was going to be hard, and we wanted to find a clean and comfy place to stay where we could enjoy a little beach time, have a little quiet time and make the best of this difficult trip.

Ataraxia (Hollywood by the Sea) exceeded my hopes and gave us some great memories!

My first contact with Dean, the owner, was by phone. He was very upbeat and took my reservation. We were traveling in May, so he told me we would be missing the more crowded winter travel. I was hoping for beach and quiet so that sold me!

We arrived after dark, and the directions we were given were perfect! Easy drive from Ft. Lauderdale airport! I called him and told him we had arrived and he let us in and showed us to our room. I was very happy to find a very clean room and bathroom. Having just come from the airport, Dean went and grabbed us several water bottles from his own stock. We had a little fridge, tv, air conditioning (which we hardly used because we had come from the cold NW and enjoyed the heat and humidity) and internet access.

We stayed in The Marguerite room and it was tucked in the back with as much quiet and privacy as we could want! It had a nice little patio - great bathroom, plenty of room for the two of us. It is decorated a bit different than the pictures on the website and the bed has been moved, but I like the set up even better than in the pictures!

We had space to unpack our backpacks and Dean asked us what time we would like breakfast. In the morning, there he was, waiting for us at the table next to the pool with a huge plate of fresh fruit. He gave us some options and set up our breakfast and then headed out for his walk and my husband and I had a leisurely breakfast by the pool.

Ataraxia is just steps from the beach. I am mobile, but can't walk far, and this was perfect. We were provided with towels and chairs and any beach items we could think of. He even offered sunscreen! This was fantastic as sunscreen is hard to take on an airplane if you're only taking carry on luggage.

We loved the beach! It was clean, and not crowded at all this time of year! The water was warm and you could wade out quite ways. The broadwalk was beautiful and we did take a walk down a little ways. There were quite a few people, yet not at all crowded and it felt very safe. But many shops are empty and closed. This did not bother us as we were not there to shop anyway. There are several cafe's and bars along the broadwalk.

I took a dip in the mineral pool to cool off and it was really nice. They also have an outdoor shower on the patio to wash off sand before heading to the room. Dean offered us a tour of the other rooms, but we ran out of time. But it doesn't really matter because we loved our room and would choose it again next year.

The second morning, we had to get up early to get to the doctors appointment. Dean sat with us for breakfast, and I really enjoyed his stories about living in Florida and hurricanes etc. Unfortunately, we had to rush off to the appointment, or I would have tried to keep him chatting while I sat and enjoyed the sun!

The third morning we hadn't arranged a breakfast time. We got up early and went to the beach and when we returned, breakfast was waiting for us on the table outside our room. He had cooked us some fantastic omelets, and potatoes and more fresh fruit. It was all covered, set up on our little table and still warm! Did he watch for us to be walking back??? In addition, I had been collecting shells on the beach and Dean saw my little collection and left 3 big beautiful shells with our breakfast for me to take home! What a great host!!!

This is not a place for those looking for luxury and fancy dining. It's like a home away from home - just what I was looking for! The breakfast items are all kept in a cabinet outdoors and we were able to help ourselves to anything we needed. Dean even went out the first day and bought black tea for us because we are morning tea drinkers.

What more can I say? I'm already looking forward to our trip next year... only because I'm looking forward to my stay at Ataraxia. I'm not a "luxury" vacationer, but I am also not a camper/rough it type person. I like comfortable, clean, quiet, friendly. That's just what I got!

Oh... I will add that we met Lori and she is lovely and friendly too. Next trip, I hope to save up and get a massage from Lori!

I guess the last thing I can say is that Ataraxia represents it's name well; "a state of tranquility free from anxiety and emotional disturbance".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill,Ma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife & I arrived at Ataraxia & were met by Dean, we felt like we had known him for a long time. He is an accomodating & gracious individual. The inn is a wonderful place to relax, no pretenses allowed here. All the guests mingle at breakfast & around the pool. Dean is like the " Godfather " giving advice,suggesting & recommending restaurants- sights - short trips. He takes care of his guests on a individual basis, everybody feels like they are staying at a friends house. He has great stories about south Florida the past, present & future. Dean is a generous soul, he enjoys helping others. We missed his other half, Lori, she was away on a trip. We heard wonderful things about her & look forward to getting to know her when vacation there again in June. We recommend this place wholeheartedly. Paulie From Boston,Ma

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We arrived to the place with a geat welcoming by both Dean and Lori. We were quickly escorted to our room. We were in the tree tops which was an amazing qaint room on the second floor with a semi private balcony. The room had high ceilings and great charm. The bedding was neat and clean and the closet and storage space was amazing. The bathroom was huge with plenty of towels.

The grounds were very islandy and had a great floridan charm to it. The pool was very warm and very nice. Dean provides everything you need for the beach which is approx. 15 feet from the building. Towels, beach chairs, a cooler with ice and anything else you would need. The hosts are so accomodating but also so laid back that you can come and go as you please. Dean provides breakfast in the morning which ranges from: Fruit, yogurt, cereal, and an occassional hot item freshly made (I.e french toast or pancakes). Each Morning you would join the rest of the guests and share stories and become a sorta family.

The broadwalk is 30 seconds a away and provides unbelievable morning walks. It stretchs the entire length of the beach and is just great to see so many walking in the morning. The broadwalk also provides ample bars and dining options to meet anyones needs. The place seems to never shut down and has great bargains on 2 4 1 specials and cheap drafts. The trolley will take you to downtown Hollywood which was a great surprise. It cost a dollar and breaks you right to downtown offering amazing food and good bars. The broadwalk also offers and band shell will live music M, T, W. It is a great fun to people watch.

Overall our mini vacation was a great getaway for some nice R&R on the beach. The sun was shining everday and the beach was awesome. Dean was the best host and had some great stories of the past. Dean ended up giving us a ride to the airport on our last day which was such a great help. The whole trip was just so much fun that we want to book again. I would recommend anyone looking for the beach right out your door and the broadwalk to stay here. You will no regret it cant wait to return!

Room Tip: book early rooms go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hollywood hotels
Quiet, Free Bre...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
#16 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#11 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
1.3 mi away
WalkAbout Beach Resort
WalkAbout Beach Resort
#7 of 66 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Charming, Beach...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 66 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ataraxia by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ataraxia by the Sea

Address: 301 Jackson Street, Hollywood, FL 33019-2016
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Beach and Broadwalk. Our home is your home. Enter as strangers- leave as friends. Our goal is to make your stay a memorable and fun time. Our Breakfast is wonderful. Read our reviews. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ataraxia by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ataraxia by the Sea to your Saves list