We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Random Visit, turned out PERFECT...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooftop Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooftop Resort
Save Saved
You added Rooftop Resort to your Saves list
1215 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Random Visit, turned out PERFECT...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

With mix reviews I didn’t know what to expect from this resort and granted I live in South Florida I wanted a getaway and this place is just what I needed. I arrived and purchased a day pass, on Saturday in the afternoon. After one afternoon I knew this is a place I would not have mind spending a few days. I walked in to Robert working the front desk; he was extremely knowledgeable, very helpful, and very nice and made me feel ok that unfortunately I had to travel alone. I was instructed where the locker room was, even offered a lock which I had my own, and proceeded to the 2 floor. Everything was clean and empty as everyone was on the pool desk taking in the sunny day. I not sure what the negative reviews are about, I had a decent time, wish it didn’t start raining but I know that I would love to go back, tour the rooms and really enjoy time well spent. I would DEFINITLY and HIGHLY RECOMMEND Rooftop Resort to anyone looking for a GREAT escape any time of the year.

Room Tip: Bring sunblock Bring an open mind Bring a positive attitude Have Fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon Park, Florida, USA
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the fourth of July this year, my wife and I and two friends, all celebrating our anniversaries,stayed 4 days at the Rooftop Resort. The location is great, the room was adequate, the playrooms were fun. The cleanliness was disappointing. My wife spent every morning cleaning the pool area to the point other guests thought she was staff.
The DJ was disappointing as well,the dance floor remained empty despite a full house of guests. I am stunned he never got a clue. We rented one of the cabanas on the pool deck for the day at a cost of $25.00. We were told it was ours all day and night. We left for supper and returned to find our clothes on the pool deck and our sheets soiled, and a used condom left behind as well.
The single guys there were like cockroaches, as soon as someone started petting or touching their spouse there they were ,stroking themselves and even touching the women. They were way too much in our personal space. We had to be verbally aggressive a few times to get them to back off. On a final note, some modern porn should be available.
This hotel has great potential,but unless it is utilized by better management and staff, I fear a short future here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had read prior reviews and therefore we were not expecting a 5 star resort. The rooms are older but overall pretty average for an older resort. The room staff were fairly good with providing towels and such for our needs. I must say the worst thing is the sever lack of cleanliness in the public areas! Each morning after the staff had already "so called" cleaned up from the night before I would go around with a broom and dustpan and sweep up "used" condoms. After the second day other guest thought I was staff and would point out other areas that need attention and request I clean them up. The staff was totally aware of this they even commented to me and asked where I found the broom and he was the manager! The lack of everyday cleanliness is what will be their downfall if something is not corrected with the staff. And the staff really needs to clean the swings and other such items each and every day! This is not done at all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Me and the wifey stopped here for the evening party after the front desk clerk allowed us to walk through the night before and I will say that it was because it was a very slow night. It looked just like the pictures we saw. We came back for Saturday night and this place was a lot livelier with an active crowd that for the most part was respectful of our wishes to watch but not really interested in everything and this place gave us a good experience. We thought it was worth the $40 evening pass and the dj was good with naked dancing and some not so nice people along with some smoking hot people. Reality at its best. We will be back.

Room Tip: the rooms all have a massive front window for all you exhibitionists and voyeurs. Have fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We were fortunate enough to spend 3 days at the RR in late April.

While the south Florida weather wasn't very cooperative, we managed to enjoyed ourselves immensely.

This is a place where like-minded people can hang out and enjoy the sun without the hassles of wet bathing suits and sand. Fun is all about your mindset. If you go there expecting a Hilton/Ritz experience, you will be disappointed. It wasn't very busy (between the weather and the fact that we were there on weekdays) yet we still managed to meet some very interesting people.

The pool and the play areas are great. Upgrades are ongoing. The property was very clean and, after meeting the cleaning staff, we can see why. They definitely showed a sense of pride in their work and their workplace. The front desk was also very friendly and helpful.

The next time we are in south Florida, we will be sure to visit the RR again. It is a truly unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We are a couple in our 30's that book a room for a Friday and Saturday. I have read other mixed reviews but kept an open mind when staying at this resort.

It is located in Hollywood, FL and a very short walk to the beach. It is in a “vintage” hotel area. Yes the hotel is old and random renovations have been made. I had to laugh at check in when I was given the key to my room. It was an actually key and not a key card. You are given 1 key to your room and one key to the side door in case you need access in and out of the hotel after hours. You are told about the replacement fess of $150 for lost keys. You are also required to sign stating you understand the fee. You are also reminded about the fee by a sign in the elevator as well as a sign inside your room door.

But that not an end on the signs. In my room (we had a efficiency room on the 5th floor) there was a sign stating there was a $300 charge for smoking in the room. There was a sign in the kitchen area stating there is a $15 cleanup fee for dirty dishes left in the sink. In all honesty I was afraid to use any of the random mismatched utensils, cups, and plates. There were old, worn, and already looked dirty. Went in the bathroom – yet another sign stating you would be charged for any soiled (sign went on to state dirt, makeup, blood etc) towels and sheets. I was afraid to touch anything in that room!

There are 4 levels of rooms. Level two is the “club” level where the night parties are. There is a bar area, 2 play rooms, couches, a few tables, pole, dance floor, and several themed hotel rooms. They set up a “continental breakfast” here in the morning. Several things like a bag of bagels, box of doughnuts, small boxes of cereal, pop tarts, English muffins.... There was cream cheese for the bagels that was sitting out for several hours unrefrigerated... coffee and a toaster. At night Friday they had pizza and Saturday sub pieces.

Levels 3, 4, and 5 were hotel rooms. The roof is on level 6. There is another bar area, pool, lounge chairs, and 3 bed loungers that you can rent (I'm not sure of the cost). There are signs to keep the pool clean by showering before entering. Either the guests aren’t following the rules or the hotel isn’t cleaning the pool. It was cloudy. They advertise a BBQ on the weekends. Burgers, hotdogs, potato and macaroni salad, and chips. Be prepared to wait for food. They cook on a George foreman type grill as well as a small electric grill.

There was a window type air conditioner in our room. It ran constantly loud and would never go below 74 degrees. It is true that the rooms are old and outdated. Our room had a good size fridge, but even on the max setting it didn't get as cold as it should of. There was also a sink and microwave. The dressers and nightstands were newer. There was a gross stained square upholstered footrest in the room that I hid by putting my suitcase on it. Small closet with random wire and plastic hangers, a desk and a TV. The TV is a joke, there were about 50 accessible stations and half were Spanish. You had to scroll through many “blank” channels and there was no guide of channels. No porn channels either. The bathroom was small and outdated. Mold around edges and growing on shower curtain. There seems to be a lot of mold around this resort because I'm allergic to mold and had to take sinus medicine all weekend and being in that room made me miserable.

Friday evening they started playing music in the level 2 disco at 9pm. By music I mean XM radio. We went down around 10pm and there were two other men sitting at the bar. There was a female bartender behind the bar and a male worker wandering around. At some point of the night I asked him if he could change the station and he said some version of yes but never changed it. It never did get any busier. Every now and then a couple would come and go. There was one couple at one point in one of the play rooms. The bar and music ended at 2am.

Saturday evening The music started at 9pm and there was a DJ. I wasn't feeling well so I was resting in my room. Well at least trying to rest. The music and bass were so loud the bed was thumping and I'm pretty sure people in the next zip code were able to hear the music. All the rooms look over to the disco on level 2. Theres no escape from the sound. We went down to the disco around 11pm. There were about 30 people there. It reminded me of a middle school dance. Everone was lined up against the walls. A sign by the elevator stated all sexual activity was to be contained to the play rooms on level 2 and your own room only. Apparently those rules only apply to certain people and/or certain hours. Keep in mind I mentioned earlier that there are several themed hotel rooms on level 2. These levels aren't big and when I say people were against the walls around the dance floor this means some people were right in front of a hotel room window. There was a couple engaging in sexual activity right outside a hotel door and not interfering with anyone and the DJ stopped the music, got on his microphone, and announced there was no sex allowed on the floor and they must go in a room. How embarrassing for the couple. However the rules changed after 1am because there was a couple having sex on the couch and two females engaged in sexual activity on the pole.

The DJ Saturday night was Bill. I want to thank him for insulting my taste in music. I asked him if he could play Gangnam Style. He said “NO.” and continued on that it was not a dance song and he will never play that song and he would rather play U2 all night. Hey Bill so you think my song wasn't a dance song? Thats why theres a line dance associated with it that I'm sure 75% of the people at the club know. Your taste in music isn't great either. How does “when I was your man” qualifies as a dance song? Oh thats right when you TRY to mix it with some awful dance mix. I think you should choose a job that doesn't involve dealing with the public. All you had to do is tell me you didn't have the song instead of insulting me. DJ Bill kept the dance floor EMPTY all night with his bad choice of music.

If the resort is going to have rules, enforce them fairly. Don't let the DJ call people out on the loud speaker and then ignore other sexual activity and have someone monitor the rest of the resort. I frequently observed sexual activity on the roof and outside of rooms on various floors. I would have liked to break the rules too, but I'm sure I would be the one caught. I didn't see the sign with the fee for breaking that rule was.

On Saturday, our room never got serviced, despite the fact that we were not in it. We stopped at the front desk to advise them before we went to dinner. When we arrived from dinner we did have clean towels, but no toilet paper. I think it was a trick so we would soil the towels and get fined.

I'm not sure of the rules for day passes and single males but there were several singles males there, maybe rules don't apply when they book a room. I only saw one lurking floor to floor and all guests were friendly and respectful. There were adult guests of all age rages, shapes, color, and sizes at the resort.

Overall it was an overpriced and under delivered weekend. I would not recommend this resort nor would I return. I can see potential in the hotel. Truly make it a place for people to talk about. I would much travel within the state by car than to go to a resort in Mexico or Jamaica. Get guests involved during the day. Have a host, play some games. Improve the food and snacks. Take down all the tacky signs everywhere. If you want to ward people you are going to charge for this damage and that cleanup add it all to the form you make your guests sign at check in, give them a copy and be done with it. All these signs are not upscale by any means. Improve the friendliness of your staff. Have theme nights.

I want to comment on the Rooftop's website. You advertise Club Eden as Friday-Saturday 8am-3am. This past weekend both nights started at 9pm and ended by 2am. Hot DJ? There was no DJ Friday. Packed Playrooms? They were very empty BOTH nights. False advertisement. Fridays Couples and ladies only? The only people I saw spending all night in the club were single males.
Total building renovation? Can you please define TOTAL?
Upscale sexy suites? Are these on level 7?
Where were the chicken, sausage, coleslaw, and dips this past weekend that you advertise for the weekend BBQ?
New day beds available? I think you should add for nominal fee and post another 8 1/2”x11” tacky sign about the charge. Above the sign that says “RENT ME”.
What is the point of having a face book page if you haven't posted on it in almost a year?

I called the resort during the day a week before I was going to stay at the hotel to make a reservation. I got voice mail and left a clear message stating my name and phone number with area code twice. I waited 3 days with no call back.

Room Tip: None - they all looked equally horrible. All will be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. We were aware of the negative reviews but as there seems little other choice of this kind of resort in Florida we decided to give it a try and stayed for 2 nights. First impression was that had been some recent painting completed and on looking at our efficiency suite it seems well furnished. However on closer inspection we found mould in the bathroom, no plug in the wash-basin which didn't really matter as the water took ages to drain ! Sticky and worn flooring. No room safe which, considering the creepy clientele mentioned by another reviewer, would have been very much appreciated. The kitchen part of our room had an oven, microwave and fridge. But no cooking utensils and no cutlery,plates or mugs.
Asked staff for some cutlery and all that could be found was some plastic knives and forks.
We went to the club on both evenings, mainly single guys with few couples around. Hardly anybody had bothered to get in clubbing gear,.Most guys, and a few of the women were in baseballs caps, scruffy jeans etc. Nearly everybody smoked.
There were a couple of positive points about Rooftop, the staff were all friendly and our room was made up and towels changed on our full day there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rooftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftop Resort

Address: 1215 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Specialty lodging in Hollywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooftop Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.