We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a lot of TLC” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rooftop Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hollywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rooftop Resort
Save
You added Rooftop Resort to your Saves list
1215 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310   |  
Hotel amenities
Carcassonne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of TLC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in March 2013. We were aware of the negative reviews but as there seems little other choice of this kind of resort in Florida we decided to give it a try and stayed for 2 nights. First impression was that had been some recent painting completed and on looking at our efficiency suite it seems well furnished. However on closer inspection we found mould in the bathroom, no plug in the wash-basin which didn't really matter as the water took ages to drain ! Sticky and worn flooring. No room safe which, considering the creepy clientele mentioned by another reviewer, would have been very much appreciated. The kitchen part of our room had an oven, microwave and fridge. But no cooking utensils and no cutlery,plates or mugs.
Asked staff for some cutlery and all that could be found was some plastic knives and forks.
We went to the club on both evenings, mainly single guys with few couples around. Hardly anybody had bothered to get in clubbing gear,.Most guys, and a few of the women were in baseballs caps, scruffy jeans etc. Nearly everybody smoked.
There were a couple of positive points about Rooftop, the staff were all friendly and our room was made up and towels changed on our full day there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
1
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just got back from a most wonderful weekend at the Rooftop Resort here in Hollywood, Florida. I have seen several reviews in the past that have not been that complementary and yes, this building is old, but as I walked around and looked many of the rooms have been updated, and upgraded. Our room had a brand new mattress and A/C . Angela and Brittney were awesome in getting us whatever we needed. there is a nice continental breakfast in the morning. and Cindy out by the pool always has a pretty smile. The parties, were nice, most all were very respectful. We met old friends and made new ones. Out by the pool they have brought in several new chairs so we all had a place to sun tan. We'll be back soon ! Lyn & Jan

Room Tip: I like a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was told when we booked "If you are looking for the Ritz this place is not for you. All rooms have been freshly painted and all have new furniture."

We really weren't looking for the Ritz but we were not looking for a room by the hour either.

The Rooftop is located in such a great spot and the building has so much potential. How unfortunate that the owners believe that a coat of paint and some furniture will make a difference. We WILL NOT be returning.

Our experience:

1st room - ceiling leaking above the toilet from what we could only imagine. Changed rooms to a "much nicer room".

2nd room - Nasty, sticky floors, carpet ripped up, and ceiling falling. To top it off the shower/tub didn't drain. All lounge furniture located outside of the rooms was stained and the floor was sticky there too.

I brought the issues up to the clerk at the front desk the next morning. She said "Well the building is really old."

Wow! That was it! We checked out and never looked back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We only came for the evening. The clientle was a little low rent, but friendly enough. The music was good. Had fun dancing. Bar service was good. The place looks like it could use some updating, and cleaning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 2/8/13. On the morning of 2/9/13 a leak from upstairs was pouring water in the bathroom. We tried contacting management about the leak and left a message on their voicemail. We could not exit the bathroom without getting the water on us. (Presumably an overflowing toilet). We left and later found they had charge us a $75 damage fee for sheets soiled with blood. This was not possible. If there were any damages it would have been due to the leaking ceiling. There is evidence of patch work to the ceiling from previous water leakage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The people we have met are respectful and very decent people biggest issue with it is this is not a 20 year old nightclub lot of people in their forties in up play music people can dance to keep the party going remix is not the answer the new bartender Jill is a breath of fresh air she keeps the party going during the slow times of the week on the other hand the other bartenders were very nice but Roller eyes when asked to get you a drink like you're putting them out of there way even with tips seems as though they'd rather be somewhere else many improvements to the building that is very nice not saying not to come but just be ready it just need some more tweaking

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Rooftop tries, but it is an older place, fairly clean, but... threadbare is a good way to describe that. Having said that, we didn't go there for the accomodations and I doubt you will either. Here's the #1 downside we've seen - and we've been there three times since 2008. Not only do they rent rooms to whoever, but they also let people in on day passes. No problem in and of itself, but we've never seen a woman come solo, we've seen perhaps 25 men come solo across all three visits. Some of them seemed to be phenomenally creepy, on the prowl, walking room (window) to room to see what they can see from the top floor to the bottom and then back up again. Very creepy. To put it mildly, it took much of the fun out of it.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rooftop Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftop Resort

Address: 1215 North Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019-3310
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Hollywood
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adult only clothing optional Hotel featuring a heated rooftop pool, free wifi, premium tv channels, weekend nightclub, recent renovation of several rooms and common areas 1 block from Hollywood Beach and Boardwalk.15 Minute drive from Ft Lauderdale International Airport and Port Everglades. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooftop Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.