We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty Thai!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SiamRice Thai & Tapas

SiamRice Thai & Tapas
5071 Sheridan St, Hollywood, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 454 Restaurants in Hollywood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Thai
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very tasty Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We tried SiamRice Thai and Tapas for the first time and were very impressed by the menu variety and the great flavors of all the dishes we tried. The green papaya salad was very fresh and was served medium spicy, which is how we ordered it. The crispy duck in red curry was delicious; served with eggplant, pineapple, grapes and red and green peppers, it was a good balance of sweet and spicy (they made it perfectly to order). The pork and shrimp dumplings with black mushrooms were excellent. We will be returning soon! Besides the usual drink menu, they have a large beer selection.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was our 5th time to dine here and it will not be our last . As locals we have now found our "go to" restaurant. Every time we have dined here we have tried a different dish and have not been disappointed, just excited to come back and try another. Chicken with cashew nut sauce was amazing! If you really like it hot then they will make it "Thai Hot". The ingredients are always FRESH and made to order. Even on a Saturday night when they have been slammed our wait time was nothing to complain about. Service is always prompt and courteous. Our glasses have never gone dry. The inside may be little, but it is very clean and has a nice atmosphere. The entrees are nice to share which leaves room to try an appetizer and save room for a dessert. We love their Thai donuts!!! If you are in the area I would highly recommend stopping in and having a delicious lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Clean Tasting Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I asked my husband if he knew what I meant when I said Clean Tasting Thai and he said, yes, that was exactly what he wanted for dinner too. To me, when you taste grease or cooking residue in your food or everything is just saturated in sauces and oils it ruins the meal. So we googled best Thai food in Hollywood and found Siam Rice Thai & Tapas.

This was fabulous food. Fried Rice with beef and my husband had pad Thai with mixed meats and shrimp. Spring rolls and hot and cold green teas. Excellent meal for $41 plus $9 tip was well worth the price. Highly recommend. Kim and Benz (like the car, cute) were fun and knowledgeable.

When I say clean I want my rice to taste fresh, my meat to taste like meat and the freshest of vegetables and they exceeded my meal expectations with the flavor, freshness and portions. Also the restaurant is inviting. We are bringing friends with us the next time we are down to visit Hollywood. They do not over spice everything and if you would like something a little warmer or hot as in spices, just ask.

I am looking forward to working my way through the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Based on other reviews I had somewhat heightened expectations for this place. Unfortunately, it did not deliver.

Their rendition of Thai cuisine is bland and tastes pre-packaged. Food quantities are enormous, but that does not make up for the lack of taste.

Service was standard for the area, though food took just a bit too long to be served - too long for what it was, anyway.

Suggested tips on the check go all the way up to 25%. There is nothing this place could ever do to justify that kind of "hutzpa".

Unless you are into bland, "fast-food" quality Thai food - I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Large portions of tasty, Americanized Thai food in clean casual surroundings. Extremely friendly, helpful staff. Very reasonable prices, considering quality of the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SiamRice Thai & Tapas also viewed

 

Been to SiamRice Thai & Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SiamRice Thai & Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.