We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf, hotel rooms not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Beach Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Beach Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Beach Golf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Johnson Street, Hollywood, FL 33020   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great golf, hotel rooms not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four days while visiting family in Hollywood. The golf course is really beautiful, my husband played everyday except the last day when there was a tournament scheduled. The rooms are plain but clean, but the bed was TERRIBLE! Very soggy, lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. Also we had only two pillows that were the thinnest that I have ever seen, and had to ask for two extras to double up and make one half decent pillow for each of us. When we checked out, my husband realized that we were double charged for our room on his credt card, but the manager refunded the mistake promptly. One more thing- the pro shop actually charged my husband one morning for me to just ride along with him in the cart, and I was not playing! They said it was to cover them for liability. We have done this at many courses in the US and have never heard of such a policy. Also it would have been nice if they had told us about the tournament ahead of time. We would definitely go back for the golf but not the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    37
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
36
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The staff is very helpful and the rooms on the Golf Side have a beautiful view. Close to everything in the Hollywood area.

Room Tip: Stay on the Golf Side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We just spent a week here and had a fantastic time. Yes, it is an old resort, and yes, the office was only open till 5. Big deal - the room was clean, there was more than enough towels, and we never had any problems so didn't need a manager! We had a pool, a restaurant(hi MoonShadows!), a golf course(all on site) and a beach and shopping within 5 minutes. The area is awesome - and the price was too! We were welcomed with a smile, and chocolate! We were able to store our clubs for easy access, and as we went off season, pretty much had the course to our selves - but full service from the pro shop employees. Each weekday morning we got a breakfast basket with muffins and fruit, more than enough to get started. We had a screened in porch and were able to watch some pretty awesome wildlife pass our window. The bathroom was a good size(love having the sink outside the shower room) and the water pressure very strong(this is important to me lol) and we both had hot water for our showers. It was a non smoking room and there certainly was no smokey smell at all. Very cool that each "suite" is named for older famous golfers - nice touch since the course was made in 1924! We are avid golfers however this was our first time at a golf included property - there might be other more famous and expensive ones, but we liked this one and will be back. The only reason it get's 4 stars is that the beds are small, we are used to queen sized so took some getting used to.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Spent the night recently. the room smelled of smoke worse than any room I have ever stayed in. I cleaned out the filter in the AC which hadn't been pulled for years. there is no one on duty during the night. hot water was marginal. doesn't deserve the rating it has on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had to book at the last minute. Found that place with good reviews and affordable prices(hollywood beach is pricey, and some reviews are scary). Everything went fine. We are a familly of 4, and none of us even play golf. We enjoyed tranquility, and it is close to everything. Would come back anytime.

Room Tip: Rooms on golf side have a patio. Poolside rooms dont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The staff was attentive to all our needs in order to make our business meeting a success. The pricing was fair and reasonable. We found the rooms sufficient with a very comfortable screened in porch. This will be the property to bring our business travelers whether or not they are golf enthusiasts. We were happy to have chosen this resort for our business activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Jil and group were very attentive and kind. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the rate package was so good that all 4, each had our own room. We had our own screened in porch overlooking the golf course. The bar and restaruant was next door. We ate breakfast out on the deck overlooking the course. Great food and service. Moon and staff treated us like we were family. The golf course was nice. 3 out of 5. The greens were slow and the course was packed. Short on carts, but better busy than no business. We also played at Emerald Hills Golf Course. 5 out of 5. Beautiful, lush, fast greens, great staff and just 10 minutes away from Hollywood Beach Golf Resort. We will do another stay and play at this location in the future.Just make early tee times to beat the crowd. Great bang for the buck.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with golf course view. Make early tee times to beat the crowd. Then you can go eating and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Beach Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Beach Golf Resort

Address: 1600 Johnson Street, Hollywood, FL 33020
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hollywood Beach Golf Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 30 spacious hotel suites include: Outdoor swimming pool, complimentary parking, cable TV,Free high speed wireless internet access, refrigerator, coffee marker with complimentary coffee daily, hair dryer, Free daily newspaper, telephone with voice mail, private screened-in patio overlooking our beautiful 17th fairway(suites on golf view side only). Par 70 championship golf course designed by the renowned golf architect Donald Ross in 1924. Rudy's Restaurant & Pub open 7days with live entertainment. Come experience and enjoy resort vacationing. You will love it here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Beach Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollywood Beach Golf Hotel Hollywood
Hollywood Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Beach Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.