We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay during Hurricane Katrina!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay during Hurricane Katrina!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2005

Everyone was very accommidating at the hotel, from the time we arrived to the time we left. We were ment to stay for only two nights, but because of Hurricane Katrina, we ended up staying five nights in total. The reservation staff were very accommidating when we requested to stay a few more nights. The management staff kept us informed, with information on the storm, and the steps that they were taking to make the hotel as safe as possible. Unfortunately, the glass roof in the lobby leaked, most of the storm, but they took every step to make sure the guests were safe at all times.

We were given an ocean view room on the 29th floor, which was very clean and comfortable. The Heavenly Bath Tub was WONDERFUL, as you could watch the tv whilst you were relaxing! The Heavenly Bed was also a plus to the room.

We ordered Room service a couple of times - the food was good, but over priced, and there is not much of a selection. The Pool bar and restaurant for lunchwas very good - The Mahi Mahi wrap was excellent, as well as the hot wings. We ate at Satine the night of the Hurricane. The food was excellent, as well as our server Julie, who was one of only 3 waitresses!!! The last night we ate at Hollywood Prime. I was not very impressed. We were put in a back room with only one other person, who was reading a book!!!! There was absolutely no atmosphere - no music, the decor was awful - from our table, we could see chairs stacked up in a storage area. Apart from that, the food was excellent, as well as the service. The main courses are VERY big, as well as the salads.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and will return next time I am in Fort Lauderdale. I will say that this hotel is not very accommidating for children.

It is a great Hotel to ride out a hurricane in!!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    761
    288
    133
    102
See reviews for
636
661
65
634
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

The Westin Diplomat was a excellent choice for Hollywood or Fort Lauderdale Florida. The rooms were very nice, beds in particular. Views from the large balcony were incredible. Both pools were very nice to hang out at and take in the sun. Very nice beach just a few feet away from the pools. No chairs or umbrellas on beach though, gets pretty hot out there. Serveice was very good throughout the hotel with the exception of pool area. Was like pulling teeth to get the waiter to keep coming back for drinks. I would definetly go back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

If you are head to Hollywood, this is an excellent choice. Very large rooms, very good service; a large spacious convention resort. I rate it 4 stars. What the hotel is NOT; a romantic get-away, an intimate resort where the staff know you, with a pristine beach and/or exciting oversized pool. The hotel is also not located in an especially attractive neighborhood. Two examples sum up my feelings: I visited the restaurant for breakfast which featured a very good buffet. While I was standing waiting for my omellette to be prepared, they cleaned my table and started resetting it for another party. Or, when I checked in, they had some very excellent cold punch but you had to walk over to the serving table which was partially shielded from view by the other guests standing in line to get a glass. At many other resorts, they would have been walking up to their guests standing in line to offer them the punch.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

This is a beautiful luxury hotel. The staff is friendly, the pools are amazing and so is the view. We were a group of nine and all of us loved this accomidation (coolest hotel on Ocean Dr). The golf and Spa Country Club were out of this world. Pricey but woorth it.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

This was the best hotel I have stayed in during my month of traveling. The service was great, the room was beautiful and the pools were great. I understand it is expensive but since it was my honeymoon, it was a great experience. If you are a Starwoods preferred member, the 33rd floor lounge is not to be missed. Caught a fascinating sunset. The beach leaves something to be desired but at least you can walk there now. Parking across the street is not bad or that expensive. Great places to eat if you leave Collins Ave and go across the bridge to Hollywood or North Miami beach. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

The hotel was beautiful both inside and out. Several resturants and bars located on site. Excellent family hotel away from South Beach, however only a 15-20 min drive to from shopping and nightlife of SB. The only complaint was they seem to charge extra for everything, parking was $13 per day and there aren't even any soda machines on site therefore we ended up paying $5 for a Coke at 1am. Also as previous reviewer stated pool is very crowded and there aren't enough lounge chairs and lots of children.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

My family and I stayed for a week at the Westin Diplomat (7/17-7/23) and had a wonderful time. We have two daughters that are 9 and 6. The hotel was immaculate and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We upgraded (free) to an ocean view room on the 27th floor in the North Tower. This was near the construction but it never bothered us. During the week we practically had the pool and beach to ourselves. Many nights we were the only ones in the pool. On Friday and Saturday the hotel filled up, but there was still plenty of room at the pool. We were very pleased with the beach renovation. We found a lot of seashells and the girls and Dad loved playing in the waves.

We were a little disappointed in the restaurants at the hotel. Very expensive and not too kid friendly. One night we ordered room service and it was $80.00. A couple of times we had lunch at Splash by the pool and the food was more reasoble and they had choices for the kids. Splash was not open during the week in the evenings. We did not try the other hotel restaurants, but chose to drive into Hallandale. We had free parking for our rental car at the parking garage directly across the street that was owned by the Westin. We found we definitely needed a car. There wasn't much else to do close by so a few days we drove into For Lauderdale and to South Beach Miami. We also took a one day cruise to the Bahamas. We had fun on the cruise, but I wouldn't recommend it. We spent 5 hours on the ship each way and only two hours on the island.

We would recommend to go to a store called Wing's for souvenirs. It was located north on Ocean Drive about 2 miles. Very well priced.

Do not walk to the Hollywood Beach boardwalk. A bellhop told us it was an easy walk. But in the Florida heat with two kids and it being at least two miles away - it was not a good idea. The boardwalk was run down and dirty. We preferred going into Fort Lauderdale where it was very clean and nice.

Overall we loved the Hotel. It was wonderful. But next time we would probably stay in Fort Lauderdale. There was more to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.