We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive hotel, less attractive neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Kauai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very attractive hotel, less attractive neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

If you are head to Hollywood, this is an excellent choice. Very large rooms, very good service; a large spacious convention resort. I rate it 4 stars. What the hotel is NOT; a romantic get-away, an intimate resort where the staff know you, with a pristine beach and/or exciting oversized pool. The hotel is also not located in an especially attractive neighborhood. Two examples sum up my feelings: I visited the restaurant for breakfast which featured a very good buffet. While I was standing waiting for my omellette to be prepared, they cleaned my table and started resetting it for another party. Or, when I checked in, they had some very excellent cold punch but you had to walk over to the serving table which was partially shielded from view by the other guests standing in line to get a glass. At many other resorts, they would have been walking up to their guests standing in line to offer them the punch.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,069
    720
    276
    129
    98
See reviews for
594
629
62
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

This is a beautiful luxury hotel. The staff is friendly, the pools are amazing and so is the view. We were a group of nine and all of us loved this accomidation (coolest hotel on Ocean Dr). The golf and Spa Country Club were out of this world. Pricey but woorth it.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

This was the best hotel I have stayed in during my month of traveling. The service was great, the room was beautiful and the pools were great. I understand it is expensive but since it was my honeymoon, it was a great experience. If you are a Starwoods preferred member, the 33rd floor lounge is not to be missed. Caught a fascinating sunset. The beach leaves something to be desired but at least you can walk there now. Parking across the street is not bad or that expensive. Great places to eat if you leave Collins Ave and go across the bridge to Hollywood or North Miami beach. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

The hotel was beautiful both inside and out. Several resturants and bars located on site. Excellent family hotel away from South Beach, however only a 15-20 min drive to from shopping and nightlife of SB. The only complaint was they seem to charge extra for everything, parking was $13 per day and there aren't even any soda machines on site therefore we ended up paying $5 for a Coke at 1am. Also as previous reviewer stated pool is very crowded and there aren't enough lounge chairs and lots of children.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

My family and I stayed for a week at the Westin Diplomat (7/17-7/23) and had a wonderful time. We have two daughters that are 9 and 6. The hotel was immaculate and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We upgraded (free) to an ocean view room on the 27th floor in the North Tower. This was near the construction but it never bothered us. During the week we practically had the pool and beach to ourselves. Many nights we were the only ones in the pool. On Friday and Saturday the hotel filled up, but there was still plenty of room at the pool. We were very pleased with the beach renovation. We found a lot of seashells and the girls and Dad loved playing in the waves.

We were a little disappointed in the restaurants at the hotel. Very expensive and not too kid friendly. One night we ordered room service and it was $80.00. A couple of times we had lunch at Splash by the pool and the food was more reasoble and they had choices for the kids. Splash was not open during the week in the evenings. We did not try the other hotel restaurants, but chose to drive into Hallandale. We had free parking for our rental car at the parking garage directly across the street that was owned by the Westin. We found we definitely needed a car. There wasn't much else to do close by so a few days we drove into For Lauderdale and to South Beach Miami. We also took a one day cruise to the Bahamas. We had fun on the cruise, but I wouldn't recommend it. We spent 5 hours on the ship each way and only two hours on the island.

We would recommend to go to a store called Wing's for souvenirs. It was located north on Ocean Drive about 2 miles. Very well priced.

Do not walk to the Hollywood Beach boardwalk. A bellhop told us it was an easy walk. But in the Florida heat with two kids and it being at least two miles away - it was not a good idea. The boardwalk was run down and dirty. We preferred going into Fort Lauderdale where it was very clean and nice.

Overall we loved the Hotel. It was wonderful. But next time we would probably stay in Fort Lauderdale. There was more to do within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

When we checked in we were happily surprised that we had been upgraded to a suite with an ocean view in the south tower. I think it helps to be a Starwood Preferred Guest, which we are. Request the south tower because there is a high rise being built next to the north tower. By the way parking is not included, we decided to use the hotel's valet staff, they charged $18.00 per day only $5 more than if you park it yourself across the street. The car valet service is worth it. Our suite was terrific and well appointed. It had a very comfortable Heavenly Bed, a very spacious modern bathroom (Great Shower!), and a very roomy living room. Our housekeeper was wonderful, our room was always very neat and tidy when we returned to our room in the evening. Our room (29th Fl.) had a spectacular view of the Ocean to the south with Miami Beach off in the distance. There is now a brand new beach in front of the Westin Diplomat. They had completed building up the beach in front of the hotel when we visited July 4th weekend. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was not at capacity and we found that there was plenty of room for us at the Westin pools. The hotel is surrounded by other high rises so if you are looking for something more remote this would not be a good choice for you. The spa is a shuttle drive away which is a little inconvenient but my wife was very happy with her massage. We found the room service to be very good - both the food and the service. We found the management to be very responsive to our needs. The club room on the 33rd floor has a magnificent view off of it's balcony. Their cookies were delicious! The hotel is very modern and well maintained. We did our Scuba Diving Certification with Laura Parke about 15 miles north of the hotel in Pompano. We were very happy with our instructor and the dive sights that she took us too. We were very happy to see such a beautiful reef (which included some wreck diving too) so close to the Florida shoreline. We would definitely stay at the Westin Diplomat again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

I thought the Westin was the luxury hotel of the Starwood properties. It was like staying at a one star hotel with a four star price.

The pool was so crowded it resembled a public pool. It was impossible to lounge poolside because they were not enough lounges for everybody. Clearly this hotel likes to pack people in, but doesn't offer the facilities to accommodate the masses.

My experience was so bad I plan to eliminate Westins from my vacation plans going forward.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.