We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Diplomat. Hollywood, FL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton to your Saves list
Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Rates From $179
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Hollywood
Valencia, Venezuela
1 review
“Westin Diplomat. Hollywood, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was very well treated by the person in charge of our meeting; by staff who helped us with food and a very good recivi attention upon arrival. Excellent Hotel with beatuifull pool and excellent location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
14
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really wavered between a 3 and 4 star review for this newly minted Hilton property. My original booking was done while this was still a Starwood property. I was excited to learn that Hilton had acquired the Diplomat and re-booked through Hilton. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member which attest to my brand loyalty. At check-in there was no acknowledgement whatsoever of my honors being on file.When I asked if my number was on file she acknowledged it was. I then asked about the breakfast vouchers and was told breakfast was only available for Diamond members. I indicated I had confirmed that the Curio collection was supposed to include breakfast for both Gold and Diamond and offered to show her on the website. I was finally given access to the lounge.

Upon being assigned my room I asked if it was away from the elevators and ice machine as it shows in my profile. She said she did not notice the profile and offered nothing more than an apology. After 3 request to change rooms she continued to say none was available in that category, only after I asked to speak with a manager was she able to find a room.

Based on the quality of the room and property I would have given the hotel 4 stars but the 2 things that made me downgrade the rating were:

1 The awful, overpriced and terrible menu selections at the restaurant by the pool. (This hotel has a captive audience as there is nothing really walkable)

2 The difficulty in extending my checkout as was originally promised when booked through Starwood.

You guys are now Hilton, please act the part.

Room Tip: On low floors that are beachfront you can smell food from the large kitchen hood. Try to get a highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Relations Manager at Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Mitchell G,

We appreciate your feedback from your recent visit to our resort and would like to apologize for any inconveniences you had encountered with your Hilton Honors Gold member benefits and extended check-out request you had through Starwood. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate managers as we are looking for ways to enhance our guest services daily at our resort. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again for another relaxing getaway.

Sincerely,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is one of the most amazing properties in South Florida. It is expansive. It is beautiful. It is secluded in a great location. It has most of everything a family or a business needs. It was all inclusive in terms of services and conveniences.
My family visited this property at least once a year for 12 years. We had years when stayed 2-3 times. My kids learned to swim in the infinity pool. It became like home away from home. I brought family from Europe, friends from all over and business colleagues. We got to know staff and we absolutely had a great time.
This property just became a Curio by Hilton.
This is the demise of a Iconic Westin. I saw this coming for a long time. Actually, I even stated this in previous reviews.
This property was built by a union trust with union money. Since it was the union money they were very liberal with everything: large open spaces, large conference center, huge parking building and empty shopping center. Rooms instead were mediocre.
No wonder the project cost over $800,000,000.00. Union money. It sold last week for a mere $535,000,000.00. It included the hotel, conference center, shopping and parking center, the empty lots, the golf course and country club, etc.
Starwood offered outstanding service and management. The resort was an absolute destination. The Diplomat and Country Club was exclusive. The spa was amazing. The Links restaurant was great - a place where you rubbed shoulders with celebrities. The beach resort was breathtaking and the pool was one of the best. The executive club just gave you an upscale feeling. The view on both sides was absolutely spectacular.However, the last few years I witnessed the gradual demise. The union trust refused to invest in the upkeep and after the financial crisis started to cut corners, reduced services and displayed a union-like arrogance. It led to the closing of the exclusive Diplomat Resort at the Country Club. They moved the spa to the beach resort which was necessarily a bad move. The pool area was neglected and chairs and the covers were outdated and dirty. The new towel policy was similar to neighborhood cheap motels. Executive Club became so frugal that it was not worth to visit, except for the view.
It was time for some investment in updating.
Now, the Thayer Trust states that it will invest $100 million in this property.

This is a bitter loss for Starwood. It was a stellar Westin. This is not the only loss for Starwood,. There is a trend in South Florida for them. They lost the Atlantic (a Luxury Collection property) and St. Regis (now a Ritz) in Ft. Lauderdale and Le Meridien in Sunny Isle. Whar's next?
I was happy that I was able to visit the Westin Diplomat one last time in October to say a teary good bye.
With sadness we anounce the Demise of the Iconic Diplomat

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The property is lovely with beautiful pools, lobby. etc. We had a corner suite with a wrap around balcony and an absolutely fabulous view. Room was spacious (though dated decor) and was well tended. Location is a little cumbersome but expected due to proximity to water. Valet service was prompt for incredibly busy area. On site dining options and the cafe with carry out options is well stocked. All in all, look forward to how it evolves as a newly minted Hilton product and would consider returning. Research everything that matters to you before booking as we had loud "party animals" next to us that woke us at least twice in the wee hours

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Relations Manager at Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear MrsH0dges,

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your overall recent visit, pools, and breathtaking views from your suite. We would also like to extend our apologies that you were disturbed by some loud neighboring guests during your stay. We look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Have a great day,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've never been to Hollywood FL or to this hotel but glad we tried it. So much more relaxing than the rat race of South Beach and a awesome hotel. Pools are great and the ocean was a motion. Not a lot to do in the area some plan on stay put at the hotel or driving a bit.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Relations Manager at Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Whammie787,

We are glad you chose to visit our resort as well as Hollywood, FL. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again for another amazing retreat!

Thank you,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Dated decor, loud a/c unit made it difficult to sleep and there was no electrical outlet near bed to charge phone. Only outlet was located behind the bed and blocked by large, wood headboard making it impossible to reach. It's 2014. Get some bedside lamps with outlets like every other hotel on the planet. This was extremely frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Relations Manager at Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Amy,

I want to personally thank you for sharing details about your stay with us. I understand guest room presentation was a concern, and assure you that we will use your feedback to improve. An extensive renovation is in the process of review and your comments will help us outline our improvements. I hope you will give us another chance to offer authentic Hilton hospitality when you return to the area. Thank you!

Thank you,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Diplomat is a beautiful hotel. We stayed for one night pre cruise out of Miami. Perfect location right on the beach. Lots of "on property" restaurants and bars to choose from. Pools and property are picture perfect. We opted for the self parking ($20), as the valet line seemed to be always backed up. The self parking turned out to be a nice alternative, as they have their own parking garage. It is automated, so you get a ticket when you pull in and then pay at the machine when you leave. Much quicker than waiting for valet. Staff were attentive and friendly. Spent a lovely evening just exploring the property. The property is very large and you get a lot of walking in! We had some drinks at the Tiki bar by the pool and followed up a bit later with dinner at the sports bar/restaurant over the walking bridge. We thought the prices were quite reasonable, and the food and drinks were good. Our room was very comfortable with a king bed and large bathroom. Very clean. The elevators were quick and painless as well. Only a couple of negatives; While we were at the TIKI bar, someone at the pool kept yelling "WHOOP WHOOP" at the top of their lungs, even the staff became annoyed, but no one did anything about it. I really expected a manager or security to do something about it. Bit disappointing. The second issue was that the hotel apparently has very thin walls.We awoke as a child (in the next room, I assume) began screaming at 5am and didn't stop for quite some time. Oh well, we had to get up to catch a boat anyway! Had breakfast in the executive lounge...lovely service and food choices. All in all I would call it an excellent stay. We will definitely return on our next trip to Miami area.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 35th floor and the view was stunning! Don't worry about the elevators...the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Relations Manager at Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear darlenec58,

We are thrilled to see that you had enjoyed your pre-cruise stay at our resort. It looks like you truly had an opportunity to explore a lot of what our hotel has to offer. We would like to apologize for your encounters with a loud guest outside by the pool as well as being woken early by a neighboring baby. We truly appreciate your feedback and cannot wait to welcome you back again on your next trip to the area.

Thank you,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019 (Formerly Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Resort & Spa, part of Curio - A Collection by Hilton is an elegant retreat right on the beach. Whether staying on pleasure or business this pristine Hollywood Beach Florida hotel and resort is sure to delight. Rooms are spacious with gorgeous views of the ocean and pools. The infinity pool is perfect for families or couples and our attentive staff will deliver refreshments to you there or at the lagoon pool below. The beach is only steps away and Splash restaurant will pack food and drinks for you to take to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diplomat Resort & Spa Hollywood, Curio Collection by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.