We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is one of my faves! Great pools! Beautiful lobby, with very helpful personnel. Room was very nice , with a great view of the ocean.The coffee shop in lobby was stocked full of breakfast items at responsible prices, the cupcakes were to die for! Would love to go back !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear annie5959,
We are so happy to hear that you had such a comfortable and pleasant stay at our resort. This is the Westin retreat we hope to provide all of our guests and your feedback makes us very proud to give the service that we do. We would love to have you back whenever you return to the area.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,074
    722
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
599
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hubby and I were booked here by our travel agency when we were part of a group going on a cruise.

We arrived on a bus and they had all of is checked in within 30 minutes. The staff was great and the concierge was very helpful in setting up a group reservation for dinner. That was nice as we hadn't eaten since breakfasts and we were starving.

Our room overlooked the city. The room was spacious and clean. The bathtub was up against a wall that opened up to the bedroom. The bellman said it was so you could relax in the tub and still watch tv.

The shower and the toilet were in separate compartments in the bathroom. We had a chuckle about not picking the wrong door in the morning.

We ate breakfast - a nice buffet - at the restaurant in the lobby. It was tasty and had a lot of selection. We also walked around the nice pool Area that led to a beach. We didn't have time to explore everything but we enjoyed what we did see before our bus left to take us to the port.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear breoni,
We are thrilled to hear that even though your stay with us was so short it was memorable and relaxing. We are especially glad you found the staff to be so helpful and the rooms so accommodating. It would be a true pleasure to have you back again and hopefully you are able to enjoy yourself for a bit longer.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good hotel but a bit lacking in some of the things that, as a frequent traveller, I would expect. No vanity kit in the room ie no shower cap, cotton buds etc. No nice toiletries which I would expect in a 4 star hotel. No free wifi in room. No iPhone doc/charger. It all feels a bit old school for something this posh and expensive!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,
We are very sorry to hear that we did not provide you with the amenities necessary for a comfortable stay. In order to decrease our carbon footprint, we usually provide many amenities upon request only, but this should have been better relayed to you. This process will be reevaluated to make for a better guest experience that we hope you will be able to enjoy in the future.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Unfortunately, I was only able to stay at this wonderful hotel for one night as I was on a quick business trip. The hotel staff that greeted us were friendly and the check-in staff were fast and efficient. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. My room was well appointed and had an amazing ocean view. The bedding was very comfortable and I slept well (which is hard for me to do).

Given my fast turn-around, I would definitely like to stay at this property again so that I can get the full experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Miss650,
It is such a pleasure to hear that although you were only with us for one night you had such a positive and memorable experience. We are especially glad to know that you felt comfortable and would like to return for the full experience because we would love to have you back.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a gorgeous Starwood property. The location is phenomenal - right on the ocean. The hotel itself is in great shape, with a massive, open lobby, great meetings rooms (with great views), and excellent rooms. I was upgraded to a suite with a wrap-around balcony, and the views of both the ocean and the Intercoastal were breathtaking. The pool deck outside is massive (as is the pool), and never felt crowded. Lastly, the Club Lounge upstairs was one of the nicer ones I have seen during my travels. Definitely a place to which I will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear hegartnw,
Thank you so much for sharing how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our resort. We are very happy to know that you found some of the facilities to be among the best of those you have visited and we look forward to your return.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 10th anniversary by spending the night at the place we were engaged - the Westin Diplomat. I used Starwood points for the booking, and called the morning of the stay requesting an upgrade on the occasion of our anniversary (I'm also a Starwood Gold member). Since it's high season in South Florida, I didn't expect my request to be honored, but I figured it couldn't hurt to ask. We were delighted to find we'd been upgraded to a suite on the 35th floor upon check in. The view was amazing, and the hotel service impeccable. We dined at the Hollywood Prime steakhouse in the hotel, which was extraordinary. Thanks to the Westin we had a perfect anniversary. My highest compliments!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear TheMergz,
We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable time spending your anniversary with us. It is our goal to make every Westin experience perfect and we couldn’t be happier to know that this was the case for you. We hope you are able to return in the future to create many more lasting memories.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siesta Key, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to this hotel in about 4 years and all I can say is, it's as wonderful as it was back then. No sign of age, or neglect. Everything still seems new and fresh. The personnel are wonderful.nin particular a front desk gentleman gave us a great room with a wonderful view of the ocean!
I was there to attend a conference and that was also run impeccably even though there were 1500 attendees. Food is wonderful, pool is fantastic, just the right temperature. The only thing that was different was across the street at the landings there used to be shops and restaurants. Now there is only a sports bar. Not sure what's going on with that property. Wonderful place if you can afford it...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Deartravelor146,
It is such a pleasure to hear that your most recent stay was just as enjoyable as the previous time. We always enjoy hearing about guest experiences and are so glad yours was the ideal Westin retreat. We hope to welcome you back for many more stays.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;