We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin yes, Hollywood Beach no” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Westin yes, Hollywood Beach no”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night business/vacation trip to Hollywood and enjoyed staying at the Westin Diplomat. The resort spaces are welcoming and elegant. The pool area is lovely and well designed, but guests would benefit from an adult only pool area. Would highly recommend the Westin's sunny breakfast and formal dinner restaurants. But Splash at the pool and Rivals on the inland waterway were careless with their food preparation.

Hollywood Beach was dirty with litter, I tried twice to walk the beach and after picking up broken glass along the shoreline and avoiding several plastic bags gave up. The resort should consider raking the beach in the morning as many resorts do at other beaches.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear KSS,
We are so pleased to hear about how enjoyable you found your time at our resort, but are sorry that the condition of the beach kept it from being an even better one. This is an area for which we will now be seeking improvement and we hope it will not affect your next stay.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,074
    720
    276
    131
    98
See reviews for
595
634
63
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N/A
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Was only there for 3 nights for a meeting, but indulged self in blissful spa services , used the futuristic gym,was pamperd by staff, ate my fav things and was surrounded by beauty and taste, didnt leave prooert and wanted fr nothing .. The bed, the robe, the layout of room..ahh, Was transported.. Spa staff and hotel staff and restaurant staff trainedin art of customer service.. And i had a view!!

Room Tip: Just ask check in , they pick BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear susanrose2374,
It has been such a pleasure to read about your recent Westin experience. We are delighted to know that you had such a relaxing and comfortable retreat and that you wanted for nothing while you were on property. It would be such a pleasure to see you back for another stay.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

came here for a conference so stayed for about 5 nights and went to the conference center. used the spa which is beautiful with really good quality services. Incredibly gorgeous spa and they serve lunch after the service in a spa cafe overlooking the beach. definitely visit this place. the rest of the hotel-is so-so. the lobby is beautiful but limited in its footprint. there is one bar with mediocre food and a little small, a grab and go cafe, with terrible food although the salads are passable and a cafe that we went to every morning for breakfast which was good enough. NOWHERE can good coffee be found...even though numerous gourmet options are listed. as for the rooms, our room was OK but pricey for a conference ant 300 a night. we asked for another lamp because our room had no overhead lighting and was dim. the internet service in the room was free (could have been because of the meeting) and was really spotty. One day it took almost 40 min to get onto the internet and I kept logging on over and over. so overall the place feels quite dated. In our room, it was basically clean and had a refrigerator and a minibar. the only complaint I have is that the shower slicone around the edges had black mold under it. I think it had been cleaned and left a stain or it needed to be lifted and cleaned from the inside since the silicone seal was clear. If you go to the conference center, it is very nice, very efficient etc. I think the food choices could have been better and healthier but that is not necessarily a reflection of the hotel but what the convention planners requested. Also, a big complaint, the entry has no ramp, just stairs. there is a ramp on the side with a disabled ramp and elevator but when you arrive with luggage - this does not seem to be a popular option. when we arrived, it was pretty chaotic and no one helped us with our luggage with a cart, we ended up dragging our suitcases up the stairs with no one apologizing for that. we arrived at about 11 PM so there was no dinner rush. overall, if you need to stay at this place ask for some details on the room first. I saw the "penthouse" of the president of our organization and it was really fancy, so they know how to do some rooms well. so in summary-nice, enough, some dated decor and plain, mediocre food except I haven't tried their famous steakhouse yet, Not worth the 300 a night. if you get a cheaper price, it may be an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: call and ask about the view and the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear s P,
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay at our resort. We are sorry to hear that the overall experience did not live up to its expectations but are definitely glad to hear that you enjoyed certain aspects of it. Your feedback will be used to improve our resort and services and we hope that you are able to return for a much better stay.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here as I had a meeting at the hotel. The location is quite good, and the lobby is beautifully designed and decorated. There is a lobby cafe/convenience store where you can grab a quick sandwich or salad or various drinks and snacks. We also spent an afternoon at the beach bar with very exotic sounding drinks, but we learned quickly to stick with what you know in the drink category! This is a high rise and I am certain most rooms have a terrific view. Unfortunately because we had a late flight into FLL, we got a room on the 4th floor overlooking the air handling units. Suggest requesting a room on a high floor.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Ann S,
Thank you for sharing your Westin experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the resort and its features overall but are very sorry that you did not get the opportunity to relax in one of our rooms with a view. We hope to see you again in the future when you are able to do so.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

stayed here for a few days after a cruise. as expected (we are Westin regulars), extremely comfortable bed, great service. not much else to say. except that the peel and eat shrimp at the pool bar is awesome - probably about 2 pounds total and very tasty. I bit south of the boardwalk bit not a bad walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear 1441ab,
We are so glad to hear that your recent stay with us lived up to the Westin experience you have come to know. It is such especially a pleasure to know you were able to enjoy the facilities onsite as well as some of the local area. We hope that a visit to our Westin will become a regular one for you.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This hotel is really beautiful, the view is breathtaking from the balcony room overlooking the pool and the beach. The sunrise was beautiful as well as the mist in the morning, the view is great both at night and day. The hotel staff is great as well as the ambience of the place is wonderful. Great job Westin !!!!!!! Will definitely visit again.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Sheema D,
It is wonderful to hear that your recent stay with us was such a memorable experience. We are especially glad you enjoyed your room and the ambience we have created within the resort. We look forward to having you visit again in the future.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I last stayed here a few years ago...the property is in awesome condition and the room are superb. The bed was one of the best. Bathroom was well appointed and the balcony overlooking the ocean was perfect...not too small as with many hotels. Staff was friendly too. Only complaints were that I received an overnight package and no one bothered to tell me....and the convention center is a bit disjointed from the hotel and not well marked.

Room Tip: upgrade to an oceanfront..balcony and view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Deigs,
We are very pleased to hear that you found the resort just as it was during your last stay. It is our number one priority to provide the best guest experience possible and we are happy to know that yours was so enjoyable. Your suggestions for improvement will definitely be shared to enhance our facilities and we hope to see you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.