We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Coconut Creek, Florida, USA
1 review
“Great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Beautiful resort located on the beach in Hollywood Florida. Great atmosphere, comfortable clean rooms, friendly staff. Great location with easy access to many things to do, from Miami to Fort Lauderdale.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Bruce S,
Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear when the resorts atmosphere and friendly staff had such a positive impact on a guest’s stay. We hope to welcome you back soon to South Florida for another great retreat.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    770
    291
    133
    102
See reviews for
640
673
65
641
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I take my wife a couple times a year to this beautiful hotel.(her favorite) Its called a stay-cation ,when we just need to get a break from the usual.The rooms are magnificent and the best views of the city and the coast line anywhere. The heavenly beds ROCK and the sunken bathtubs are what honeymoons are made for,even if you've been married a while. Everything on the premises is immaculate and well cared for. The beach is beautiful and offer the benefit of loud with kids or an upstairs and more quite pool.We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you can, try to get a room with partial ocean and city views and up high as you can... breath tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear jruccolo,
We are so pleased to hear that you choose our resort for your local getaways. It is wonderful to hear that you continue to enjoy our amenities with each visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We loved our stay at the Westin Diplomat. The facilities were excellent. We especially loved the beach and work out facilities. We enjoyed having a cabana by the pool. The steakhouse was just okay though.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Maria L.,
We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Westin Diplomat. It is especially good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities available at our resort and we hope that you are able to return for a future stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yeh...it has a great view! STOP - you are embarrassing yourselves. Most people here are not on vacation. Like me, they are here for a convention.

Because this is a convention hotel you would think the hotel would have ample staff at the front desk at 8:00 PM - Nope - 20 minute wait to check in.

Room: Over hyped bed (you can buy for $4,000) with a comforter so heavy it takes your breath. And in the middle of the night the A/C shuts down (they are eco friendly you know) because Westin believes no one should experience rest below 75 degrees.

Big bathroom with separate stalls for toilet and shower - Nice - except for the ring of mold around the shower...Yuk. Yes I know it is Florida but this is a hotel with A/C and you must control mold. No shower pressure to speak of and the five minute wait for hot water was an added bonus.

Ordered room service - steak (well done), wings, and water. Have a look at the well done steak and the bill. The poor guy who brings up the meal get $0 of the service charge and delivery charge. Pathetic.

Made it to breakfast - crowded and obviously once again understaffed.

Seated right by the entry. Mmmm - great spot for everyone to walk by.

Asked for menu - five minutes for the menu and she never returned.

Made way to buffet - no egg guy - waited, made toast - he finally shows up. Two eggs scrambled with a little cheese. I walked away for 10 seconds and he had blown me off and went to the next guy. The poor egg guy became confused because there were four if asking for eggs and he could not keep the orders straight. Then, the best part, he cracked the eggs and they were partially frozen...yuk. No milk in scrambled eggs - awful - I walked away for the last time and made cereal. Toast/bacon/potatoes/cereal/yogurt = $30.

I have not been here 24 hours and I can't wait to get out of here - two more days to go...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Harper 5633020,
We are extremely sorry that you were not pleased with your stay and apologize for the problems you encountered throughout; especially those of understaffing. This is not the experience we aim to provide for our guests and your feedback will be shared throughout the hotel in order to improve our services. We do hope to see you again for a much better stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

we checked in on a Friday and left on Tuesday. The hotel was quite busy on the weekend and we enjoyed the quiet brought on by the start of the work week. We used the new fitness center and the new spa. The fitness center is exceptional with two levels of equipment, towels, and water. The Lifestyle treadmills are in need of service but there were enough of them to get the workout done. The Heavenly spa was exactly that but at a price. The splurge was worth it. We were placed in an oceanfront room with a balcony. The view was exceptional. It does get hot as the sun comes up but the AC worked quite well. The bed was exactly as described: heavenly. The bathroom had one design flaw: the shower door wasn't flush and allowed water to go out onto the floor if the shower head wasn't angled toward the inside wall. A mini-fridge was in the room and kept our drinks and snacks chilled. We didn't use the mini-bar. Internet is only available in the rooms for a fee but is available throughout the lobby for free. We found several places to lounge throughout the hotel. The furniture in the lobby was extremely comfortable. The pool deck is expansive and there are far away places where you can lounge in peace away from the noise around the pool. The zero entry top-level pool is exceptional in design. The lower level pool is much larger. Cabanas are available for rent as are the beach chairs and umbrellas. Parking comes at a hefty price, even self parking in the garage on the other side of Ocean Drive. However, there is a covered walkway and it wasn't a hassle getting in / out. We will return for another trip.

Room Tip: if you can afford it, book a "Grand Deluxe" room which is ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear StephandJohn32244,
It is an absolute pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at our resort. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities we offer, especially our most recent additions of our Heavenly Spa and Westin Workout. We do hope you will return for another heavenly Westin stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved the room and the dining. The view were spectacular. I would definitely stay here again. The only not so excellent rating would be the service at the pool. We ordered a cabana ($250) and the upside to this is having your own private server, yet almost 100% of the time when we needed something (mixers, ice) we had to go to the bar to ask for it. The pool is really neat though. It would be a great place for couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Marci T.,
Thank you very much for sharing feedback from your stay here at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the pool and will be sharing this information with the recreation department to help improve the service. We are glad that you did enjoy the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We did a last-minute booking at Hwire and got Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa (Hollywood, FL), I could not be more pleased. We only had 1 night but it was wonderful. It was easy to find, it was beautiful, enormous, great service and amazing accommodations! I am hoping to stay there again in January. The only flaws are #1 have to pay to park, #2 have to pay for internet,

We got there late after driving for 16 hours and when i told the woman who was checking us in, she upgraded us to an amazing room with great views! I enjoyed soaking in the bathtub, the bed was so comfortable, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dana B,
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that we were able to make special accommodations for you on your night here. We do hope to see you in January for your next stay.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.