We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, not so good pool side service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, not so good pool side service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Loved the room and the dining. The view were spectacular. I would definitely stay here again. The only not so excellent rating would be the service at the pool. We ordered a cabana ($250) and the upside to this is having your own private server, yet almost 100% of the time when we needed something (mixers, ice) we had to go to the bar to ask for it. The pool is really neat though. It would be a great place for couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Marci T.,
Thank you very much for sharing feedback from your stay here at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the pool and will be sharing this information with the recreation department to help improve the service. We are glad that you did enjoy the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    722
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
599
636
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We did a last-minute booking at Hwire and got Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa (Hollywood, FL), I could not be more pleased. We only had 1 night but it was wonderful. It was easy to find, it was beautiful, enormous, great service and amazing accommodations! I am hoping to stay there again in January. The only flaws are #1 have to pay to park, #2 have to pay for internet,

We got there late after driving for 16 hours and when i told the woman who was checking us in, she upgraded us to an amazing room with great views! I enjoyed soaking in the bathtub, the bed was so comfortable, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Dana B,
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable and that we were able to make special accommodations for you on your night here. We do hope to see you in January for your next stay.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This resort is simply amazing, this is hands down the best Westin that I have stayed at. I loved that it was right on the beach. The rooms were clean and adequate in size. The food is excellent and staff was very friendly, by the amount of people at the resort, I could tell that it is very popular and I can see why. My only wish would be for them to offer free wifi in the rooms, but I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear jaz131s,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed the property and its location so much. It also a delight to hear how much you appreciated the customer service we offer, as it is our greatest source of pride. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay at the Westin Diplomat.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Checked in at 6pm on a Sunday evening. 2 receptionist booking in guests. Not an ideal situation, regrettably there was a rather complicated guest checking out and had an issue with money-points and other items. There was no Private area this could have been taken to and the guest was liking the attention. The Manager handled the situation efficiently and amicably, I would rather have not been able to hear it. My turn,we were checked in efficiently and speedily. Were we frightened of heights, no? It was a good thing as we were on the 31st floor. Well appointed room with balcony and a fantastic panoramic view. Room was large and spacious with a great bathroom-we changed and went down to survey the lobby. We saw a restaurant called the HP and approached the reservation desk. A very pleasant lady called Valerie took our details and gave us a table time. We asked if there was an area local to visit pre our booking to get a drink. 20 mins away walking or taxi 10. We walked around the hotel, great space and a great pool and beach. Small centre across the road with a grill place. We returned to the hotel and were about to have a cocktail when we were asked to take our table, as it was ready. The restaurant was busy, our waiter David went through the menu. Speciality of the restaurant and commendations being on the served steak.We had a starter each and David guided us to the steak but big enough for 2. We had 2 vegetable dishes and this was ample food.we spoke of additional restaurants opening in the near future in the vicinity, giving more selection here.We got the bill, whilst expensive it was a real treat and well worth the price. The following day, I walked the beach and it was pristine.We swam in the hotel pool. We had the buffet breakfast $25 each + taxes, that was again well executed and worth it.
The car was valet parked and $25 in the garage or $20 on the ramp. The service was impeccable, from the valet-check in-pool attendants-cafe-HP restaurant employees, maids.
It's on our to do again list.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the sunrise view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear 625Johnboy1,
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback with us. We were especially happy to hear how much you enjoyed the service within each of our outlets and that you had such a memorable experience at Hollywood Prime. It would be our pleasure to have you return for another stay as soon as possible.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. We stayed for 7 nights as a coastal treat after a lengthy road trip. Checkin was undertaken as a conversation, not a process. We felt we were welcome guests not just the next in line. Our room had a wrap around balcony with sea and inter coastal views. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom had walk in shower. We picked up breakfast most days at Ingredients (excellent value for snacks throughout the day with fresh fruit and juices) and sat on our balcony enjoying the sunshine. We had dinner 3 times at Rivals Sports Bar, excellent food at reasonable price. It's obviously a conference hotel, there were a lot of delegates around, but leisure visitors were not outnumbered and facilities were geared up for all day for anyone wishing to use them. Highly recommended and looking forward to future visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear DaveL427,
It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. It is great to see that you found our check-in process to be breeze and that you found your room to be very comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in May to get in a few sunny days at the beach ahead of the start of Summer up north. As a Platinum member in Starwood's program I have come to expect a very high level of service from this chain's properties and The Westin Diplomat did not disappoint. We were upgraded to nice suite with ocean and partial bay views at checkin. The Hotel is located directly on the beach, which is nice, especially compared to the W Hotel in Fort Lauderdale which has the main road in-between the property and the beach itself. That being said, the beach chairs are a bit pricey and should really be included in the room rates. The chairs closest to the pool can get crowded, but there is almost always enough space further away from the hustle and bustle to find some peace. The pool is large and consists of two decks which is kind of neat. The restaurants at the property are ok, but not spectacular. We enjoyed the sushi bar the most. The complimentary drinks and snacks as well as breakfast provided to Platinum members in the lounge was a nice touch, especially since they were complimented by striking views from the rooftop like terrace. This property is a bit on the older side, I would not go so far as to call it dated, but it could use a bit of makeover even though it is being kept very nicely. We would definitely return to this hotel for a quick beach getaway.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Colin C,
We greatly appreciate your feedback as well your loyalty to Starwood as a Platinum guest. It is such a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with the service and amenities offered. We hope to welcome you back for another beach getaway very soon.
Be well,
Karianne Arsenault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Pros: ocean view, Pool, Nice Staff.. Beautiful
Cons: no
We came to this hotel mainly for the beach, so we paid for Ocean view room, we could look at the sea in the hot tub. The pools are also cool.
The beach itself is not as good as some other place, say Miami beach.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Zhenj H,
We are delighted to hear that you had a fantastic retreat at our resort. It is great to see that you had fun unwinding at our pools and that you found the views from your room to be wonderful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.