We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pools and beach are really nice. You can walk for miles. Hotel lobby and rooms are quite zen like and beautiful. Disappointed that lounges by beach have to be rented and not included with hotel stay. Steak house and buffet in morning is quite pricey. Cafe in lobby has great assortment of coffees, snacks and healthy choices to eat. Must pay for parking. Had ocean view but music started at 6:30am some mornings and could be heard in our room. Mentioned this to front desk manager and music still played early some mornings. One day all elevators were out of commission due to maintence and had to walk down 32 flights of stairs.

Room Tip: rooms not facing ocean will not be disturbed by music from pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Debi W,
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your retreat to the Westin. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed the pools, our coffee shop and our relaxing lobby. We would like to apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with our elevators. What you experienced is not typical and we do not wish to inconvenience our guests in this manner. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,074
    720
    276
    131
    98
See reviews for
595
634
63
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came here for a last-minute getaway, and were somewhat disappointed that the W South Beach was booked. However, we could not have been more pleasantly surprised with the Westin Diplomat. Access to har-tru tennis courts, a great steak dinner in the lobby restaurant, and a cabana to enjoy the pool were the highlights. Our room was big, clean, and comfortable with an amazing wrap around balcony with a great view. We will be back!

Oh yes, we did make it to South Beach during our stay. It was a very scenic drive down US-1 and a quick drive back up I-95.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear J W,
We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay at the resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the many different services we offer such as our cabanas and tennis courts. It is also great to see that you had a fantastic dinner at our Hollywood Prime. We hope to see you at the Westin again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The unacceptable service began at arrival on the afternoon of Aug 16, 2013 - my son-in-law drove my 2 daughters & I from the west coast of Fl because he was going on to Miami. Pulling up in front of the Westin he was met by a valet - he told the valet he was dropping us and going to self park for a short time. We received NO assistance exiting the vehicle or removing our bags from the back of the SUV. There was no one to offer assistance up the front steps. Check in went smoothly - I was assisted by a pleasant young woman who was attending the same concert that evening. We settled into our room & went downstairs to meet up with my son-in-law in the Asian restaurant for a drink. From there we wanted to grab a quick meal before he went on his way.I asked the concierge for a restaurant onsite - she said the steakhouse was reserved thru 9 pm and suggested a sports bar across the walkway. We went across & found the restaurant didn't open until 5:00 - it was 4:15. You would think a concierge would know opening time of a suggested restaurant.We returned to the lobby to see what we could find - my son-in-law mentioned the Asian place did have few choices other than sushi. The concierge did not include that restaurant in her suggestions. After eating I returned to the concierge to ask about taxi service to & from the concert - she advised taxi's line up in front & would be lined up outside the concert venue after the show. It took some work in the blazing sun for us to secure a taxi from the man at the valet stand. After the show, I would call it a major fiasco trying to hail a taxi- there were thousands of people in need. The concert ended shortly before midnight & we finally found a taxi at 1:30 am - this was on our own after 2 calls to the Westin for assistance. It seemed there was no regard for the safety of 3 women as we stood on the curb outside SunLife Stadium. On arrival back at the hotel we were met with overflowing trash cans at the front door! Unacceptable! We had considered a 2nd night stay just to enjoy the property, however during our ride back, we decided that no longer sounded like fun - we left on the morning of Aug 17th. I would expect far better customer service at a Starwood property - especially a Westin. My experience and that of my daughters was less than acceptable from beginning to end. I overlooked the unvacuumed hallway to our room on arrival, but think at this point it should ne mentioned - it was a Friday & you would think it would be priority for housekeeping to have common areas in shape for weekenders.
Westin's reply to my letter:
Dear Ms. XXX,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at our resort. I wanted to reach out and extend my sincerest apologies for the many inconveniences you had encountered during your 1 night stay with us. It truly saddens me to hear that our level of service had fallen short in more than one area during your stay. We always strive to go above and beyond to make sure our guests have a memorable experience where they want to return and we are truly sorry to hear you had encountered otherwise.

Ms. XXX, please know that your feedback has been shared with our management team to ensure our guests are being assisted and provided with accurate information regarding the hotels amenities and restaurants throughout their visit. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We do hope to have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back for a more relaxing retreat.

Be well,

KARIANNE
ARSENAULT
Guest Services Manager
THE WESTIN DIPLOMAT RESORT & SPA
3555 S. Ocean Drive, Hollywood, Florida 33019
T 954.602.8676 F 954.602.8906

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Upon check-in, hotel gorgeous! Nothing not to love. My room had an ocean view, deck and was quite spacious. Broken panel door that was never fixed after reporting on day 1. Couldn't use bathtub because of this (no privacy). Then the air conditioner was stuck on. 75 would have been great but couldn't tolerate 55! They did respond quickly to this and it was fixed within an hour of the complaint. Room service routinely 1 hour waits as there was a very large conference going on that they didn't really seem prepared for. (I was actually a part of this conference) Routinely waiting 45 plus minutes for tables at the various restaurants (all of which were DELICIOUS!). Long waits when trying to get to your next meeting are stress causing! The concierge didn't seem to know a lot about the area. She actually gave us wrong information on 2 occasions. We called the concierge twice from different tours we were on and it seems the norm that no one answers the phone at that desk which we found very frustrating. The grout lines in the beautiful marble in my bathroom were mildewed (common in Southern Florida? I dunno).

Room Tip: avoid trips during times when conferences are going on.... they do not seem to have adequate eating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear TracyBrossard,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your ocean view room and that you found our restaurants to be delicious. We are sorry to hear about the few inconveniences that you experienced during your retreat. Your feedback has been shared with our management team so that we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Westin Diplomat is a very nice facility with a spacious entry and very open area of pools and sitting areas around the facility. The room on the 32nd floor, ocean side of the building made for a great position to watch the sun rise for the 5 days we were there.

As with most spa's, the food, hotel services such as parking, internet, etc. are very pricey; but I enjoyed the stay and would gladly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors ocean side provide great opportunities to watch beautiful sun rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kevin C P,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are happy to learn that you found your retreat to be relaxing and that you enjoyed the sunrise from your room. We hope to see you at the Diplomat.
Be well,
Karianne
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Westin Diplomat. The 1st couple of days the place was fairly deserted - Friday afternoon the volume of traffic started picking up. The facility was clean, in fact I can't say anything changed from last years stay. This time we had breakfast on our veranda, it was very nice -- a little pricy, but nice. We also used the garage this time, as we rented a car so we had flexibility to go out and about. The per day charge was billed directly to our room and our room key worked at the in/out gates. I will say the parking was also kind of expensive, but....We dealt with it. The pools were great, the room was clean and comfortable. Room service did the minimum on 2 of the days...Left no cups, no creamer for coffee..Basically changed the bed clothes and left clean towels. We had no cups or creamer for coffee....Check in was smooth and hassle free. David was my desk clerk - friendly and professional. Considering we had a veranda, I asked for 2 lounge chairs to be delivered. They never arrived, but we were on with the chairs. Overall, I would recommend visiting the Westin Diplomat and it's sister site at the golf course location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Darla P,
It is great to hear that you had another fantastic experience at our resort. We are happy to see that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and having breakfast on your balcony. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas during your stay. We will embrace your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When I looked and saw only 78% recommended I had to pick my jaw up off the floor, you have got to be kidding me!! This hotel was BEYOND amazing, and I cannot say that enough. From the minute I walked in to the minute I walked out was heaven. Greeted immediately at the desk and was upgraded to an Oceanview room with a balcony, then I was not told what time check-out was but ASKED what time would be convenient for me to check out, and if i wanted a later time just to let them know! GREAT customer service!! 5 stars!! Not to mention the lobby, and the pool! I was so sad to leave. Keep up the good work Westin Diplomat!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lmahoney,
It is fantastic to hear that you had a great experience at our resort. Thank you for your compliments on our service, pools, and lobby. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your retreat. We hope to welcome you back soon for another excellent stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.