We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Amazing weekend. Located right on the beach it's the perfect location to relax and enjoy with the family. The hotel has two beautiful pools to choose froom. One of them has a waterfall and if u look up, there's a transparent glass showing you the bottom of the other pool. The last night there we ate at the restaurant located inside the hotel, Hollywood Prime. It was the best steak I have ever tried. So tender and soft. Wow! speachless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear aalmn06,
Thank you for sharing your awesome feedback with us. We are excited to see that you enjoyed unwinding at our outdoor oasis and that you had a delicious meal at Hollywood Prime. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    982
    681
    254
    112
    92
See reviews for
543
574
58
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for four nights for a conference and cannot complain! Great staff, and everything ran smoothly. I spent a lot of time at the pools, and enjoyed the beach some. Prices are a bit high at the resort, but I guess what can you expect. Our view from our room was amazing!! Right above the pool with an ocean view! I enjoyed sitting on our balcony in afternoons when I tired of the pool. The steak house is TO DIE FOR, but make reservations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear readmeli,
It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your retreat with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed relaxing on your ocean view balcony and that you found our Hollywood Prime steakhouse to be fantastic. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Corner room with city and beach view spectacular. Property was very clean and neat. Observed staff straightening chairs or tables, picking up left cups etc as they walked through the public areas. Everyone seemed to have pride in the Hotel. Great pool with lots of varied lounging options from all sun to all shade, active and quiet. Great to have also be right on the beach which was well maintained (by outside company). Good selection of restaurants. Bathrooms could use more towel racks. There were non near the sink area. Staff always eager to accommodate our needs. Plenty of beach activities like jet sky, parasailing etc if you wanted.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for corner city and beach view room at least 8 floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Euroagogo,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback with us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your corner room and that you felt that our ambassadors took pride in the service they provide. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the property for one night as a stop over before driving to marco island. The hotel was very busy during the Labor Day weekend but the staff was on top of it. Check in for spg gold and plat members were quick and easy. Complimentary room upgrade was given without asking on top of a choice of free drink or Internet or points. The hotel seemed to take care the plat members well as they were automatically upgraded to club level ocean front room.

The beach and the pools were the main reason we chose this property over other spg hotels in the area. The hotel was on the beach - no need to cross the road and it was very nice. The sand was smooth and the water was clear. If you come to the beach early enough you can see small fish swimming in the shallow area. Kids loved them.

The main pool next to the beach was nice for kids as well. The infinity almost zero entry pool was good for babies. Although most of the times teenagers and couples used it as a hangout place during our stay.

This is a large convention hotel with good amenities for conventioneers. With that being said, be prepared to meet a bunch of drunk people wondering around the pool and beach area at night. Security was present during the day but not at night to prevent non guests from entering and using the beach and pools.

Room Tip: Ocean view at south tower high floor (10 floor and up) is worth an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear jeruk85,
It is always great to hear from one of our platinum members. Thank you for being a member of the SPG program and for your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your platinum upgrades and that you found the pools to be a great place to unwind. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here while attending a Conference at the convention center last weekend. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The lobby is beautiful and the ocean views are spectacular. The pool area is fun at night, a bit noisy with kids during the day.

The staff was friendly and helpful. My only issue would be the cost of food and drinks. $12 for a simple rum and Coke was a bit steep. The fish taco at Splash by the pool was yummy and not too expensive.

Room Tip: I was in room 2755 which faced the ocean and pool, directly in the center of the hotel. See pic. Eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear fishtail,
We are excited to learn that you enjoyed your conference with us. It is great to see that you found your room to be comfortable and that you found the fish tacos at Splash to be delicious. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for five days this summer. Booked a club floor room and loved the lounge. Pools were great. Beach was beautiful. Wish it was a little more on the beaten path but we really loved the property. Valet parking was mostly a nightmare but didn't really detract from the trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear jeffd99_13,
Thank you for sharing your fantastic feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our Westin Executive Club Lounge to be excellent. We appreciate your feedback on our valet parking and would like to apologize about any inconvenience that may have occurred. We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife routinely stays here for busienss. We stayed here for two nights in August for a bit of family fun. The customer service was excellent. Car valet was a breeze and it was ready promptly any time we needed it. Friendly staff at check-in. Very nice room and bathroom. Room had a terrific view of the ocean. My wife and I slept in a King bed and our 6 y.o. daughter slept in the sleeper-sofa (which she loved).
The pools are amazing. One overlaps the other and there is a glass floor/ceiling between them so the swimmers below can see the swimmers above and vice-versa. The top pool has a waterfall onto the pool beneath it. The beach was equally magnificent. Plenty of towels for use at the beach or pool.
Breakfast buffet food was good -- though not cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear BRCanning,
It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a fantastic retreat with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our ambassadors to be friendly. We truly appreciate your compliments on our pools and it is great to see your family had fun. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another excellent stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Westin Diplomat
Hollywood Westin
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort
Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.