We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The beach is very nice for a FL beach. The resort facilities are great. The restaurants are good also. Vallet services are good.
The oceanview corner 1 bedroom suite is stunning. However I had to stay 1 extra night and had to move to a regular room. The front desk made the transition a complete nightmare! They made me do multiple unnecessary trips to the front desk making me waste ~1-2 hrs of my day on unnecessary trips. They were very disorganized. If I didn't had to switch rooms last minute my stay would have been more pleasant. The front desk needs better organization. Overall experience was good and due to location and resort facilities I would consider returning but will never consider adding an extra night! I would just check out to save the headache of switching rooms and wasting 1-2 hrs in the process.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear itorresmd,
It was a pleasure welcoming you to the Westin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you had a great time in your corner suite. We would like to apologize about your experience when you extended your stay. What you described to us is not the experience we wish our guests to have and we are truly sorry. We will share your feedback with our management team so we can continue to improve our services to our guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    721
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
595
635
63
603
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in an Ocean front balcony room... It was beautiful. The hotel is lovely and beach is very nice. The room was nice for the 3 of us plenty of space. We traveled with our 20 year old daughter and she loved it! Nice pools too. Everyone was very helpful and attentive. Hotel is about a $35 dollar cab ride from Las Olas Blvd Ft Lauderdal where all the action is! Would stay agian for a nice laid back trip but would stay in Ft. Lauderdal if I were looking for more action.

Room Tip: Ocean room delux room wth balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Trish S,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a relaxing stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your ocean front room and unwinding at the beach. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Hollywood.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 for a quick 1 week New York getaway... I am a SPG member and got the room upgrade to the Grand Deluxe room which was amazing... the views of the ocean were phenomenal. You even got a great view from the tub!! The location was great with two pools and a nice size beach with water sports and not to forget the palm trees in the hotel. The service was great from check in to check out. They have a deli style place on resort that sells Starbucks and has fair priced breakfast and lunch. If you are going to Ft.Lauderdale/Hollywood area in FL stay here it is worth every penny.

Room Tip: Get The Grand Deluxe Room...Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear K W,
Thank you for taking the time to share you fantastic experience with us. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found your upgrade to the ocean view room to be phenomenal. We hope to welcome you back soon for another excellent getaway.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very large, fancy resort. Valet checked our car, checked in and was immediately upgraded to a suite, ocean view, very, very nice. Only spent one night, but used the pool, walked on beach and swam in ocean, ate lunch at their cafe restaurant, and took a trolley from right outside hotel down to the broad walk to check out shops and restaurants. Had a great stay and had no complaints! FYI...seemed very busy on Sunday compared to Monday, and also seemed like many locals use their parking garage, pool and beachfront, only because we saw a lot of people walking out the front door in bathing suits and with just a towel going to their cars??

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lisamorne,
We are excited to hear that you had a fantastic experience. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your suite upgrade and that you found the pool and beach to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wanted a quick getaway from New York, and had heard that Hollywood, Florida was a really fun and interesting place. I picked the Westin because a friend recommended it, plus I got a good deal from JetBlue for an oceanfront room with a balcony. The hotel was beautiful, quiet, and comfortable, and it was just a mile away from the Broadwalk in Hollywood Beach, which is full of quaint little restaurants and surf shops. I stayed just 3 nights and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the ocean, and if you can get a balcony, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Bonnie3456,
It is wonderful to hear about your excellent getaway. It is great to see that you enjoyed your ocean view room and that you found the rest of our resort to be a great place to unwind. We hope to welcome you back from New York again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Wow! The beach was great, pool area had so many chairs we always found one for each of us even though we were a group of 9. The service at the pool could Hve been better, often had to go get the waitress. Once ordered, food arrived promptly and was great especially kids meal affordable and portions big enough for sharing. Food and plates were never picked up. Had to dispose of food myself otherwise had the birds eating off them. The pool area was very nice. Beach was fantastic. Except that you Hve to pay to get chairs on the beach which I think is ridiculous. I am staying at your hotel?!? Food at the hotel was great. Had breakfast at the buffet very morning, no complaints and kids under 6 eat free. Enjoyed south beach, sawgrass mills and adventura mall. Was introduced to Wilkins all I can say is if u like chocolate this is the place for you. I was Inteoduced to Lincoln street where the shops stay open til late at night and crowds are walking up and down til all hours of the night. Gorgeous street. I would definitely go back to the westin. Staff was helpful, responsive, brought me guard rails for the bed for my children. My only complaint was the comfort of the bed. Pillows gave me neck pains, and mattresses not very supportive. My husband thought so too. (Bring your own pillows?)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear moombagirl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and that you had fun exploring the local area. We are sorry to hear about the few inconveniences you experienced with your room as well as with Splash. We will share your experience with them so we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Good- Absolutely beautiful hotel. The lobby is amazing. The pool is a paradise for kids of all ages. The rooms are clean with modern luxury ammenities. The beach on the ocean is nice and right out back. The food is pretty good.
The Bad- If you think you are done paying for your stay here, simply because your room is paid for, think again. valet park $26/day, self park $20/day, in room wireless internet acces $16/day, rum& coke by the pool $18, room service breakfast for 1 was $40, burger & ice tea at the pool bar $35, breakfast buffet down stairs $28/person, bottled water $4. service fee and mandatory 20% gratuity added to everything.
The service- took an hour to check in on a Monday because there was a trade show in the hotel and they simply did not staff for it. Only one clerk checking in guests with like 50 people in line. Managers in jackets snickered and did nothing to add staff to accomodate. Took an hour to get our car out of valet because they were understaffed. lost our reservation at the restaurant and had to wait another half hour for another table. Attended a private party and the bartender had no support, so when he ran out of ice and glasses, he had to leave to go get his own ice and glasses, so there was no bar tender for like 15 minutes. The people throwing the party were upset because many guests left and went to the hotel bar and never returned. Bar tender said it was always like this. So if you are thinking of having an event here, you should probably look somewhere else. It's like the staff and management just don't care.

Room Tip: Unless you don't care about money, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Aaayron,
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be beautiful and that you found your room to be luxurious. It saddens us to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas. We apologize about the long check-in line as well as the experience with the party you attended. It is never our intention to inconvenience our guests and for this we are truly sorry. All of your feedback will be shared with the different departments so we can continue to improve our services here at the Westin Diplomat. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.