We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for both business and vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great for both business and vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Loved staying here! Had an oceanfront room with balcony that was spacious and great for business! Lots of pool areas and it is right on the beach! No crossing street to get to the beach.
Business breakfast in meeting room offered real eggs! They have several restaurants on property to choose from, and the food in Hollywood Prime was excellent.. Adding this to my list of preferred hotels for south Fl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Tazkiki,
It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay here at the Westin. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your ocean view room and that you found our Hollywood Prime restaurant to be superb. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,105
    737
    283
    132
    101
See reviews for
616
650
63
616
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Back in December of 2006 I vacationed at The Sheraton Bal Harbour Beach resort. This at the time turned out to be one of the best vacations of my life. Sadly, the following year, Starwood Properties decided to demolish it to build the St. Regis Bal Harbor. 3 beautiful 25+ floor glass towers that cater to those with deep pockets & an expectation of lush amenities. I stayed there, it’s a fantastic place, but that’s for another review.

The reason I bring it up is because with the Sheraton leaving I wondered what establishment would now take it’s place as the new family friendly locale. Enter, The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa. Located in Hollywood, Florida, ‘The Dip’ (as I’ve heard it being called), is a 36 story hotel, with an outdoor infinity pool on it’s upper level (yes, UPPER level), which rains down via two waterfalls in to a 240ft long lagoon pool on the lower level. This as I’ve witness accommodates a lot of people and those that don’t feel like swimming in its mineral based waters there’s a powder soft sanded beach right behind it.

For adults there’s the Diplomat’s 18hole golf course, a tennis center, workout studio & spa. The resort is also optimized for wedding receptions, conventions, and as I witnessed during my stay a family reunion.

My room accommodations were on what’s called the Club Floor. It’s located on the upper levels of the hotel and boast a 10,000 square foot lounge which offers daily complimentary continental breakfast as well as evening cocktail service. The lounge itself has two huge outdoor areas with one oceanfront view while the other, faces the city. As for my room I was very pleased with it. I didn’t’ expect a balcony but was glad one was there, the oceanfront view as well as that of the massive pool below was breathtaking which you can see in the images I posted. (too bad tripadvisor doesn’t allow for video, simple images don’t do it justice). I also didn’t expect to get a mini fridge, but was glad I when I discovered it.

Check in was quicker than expected. The self-parking ($20 per day vs $25 per day Valet) however needs some work. I was told my room’s key would work but it didn’t on several occasions. I ended up having to get a card key specifically entering & leaving the self parking lot. From that point the process worked as normal.

If you’re up for a nice stay at a resort that has something for everyone, I highly recommend you stay at the Diplomat. As I mentioned earlier it reminds me a lot of the Sheraton in Bal Harbour from years ago, just more contemporary with a lot more features.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Room floor. It makes your stay that much more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear lamott2k,
We are excited to hear that you have found your new home away from home in South Florida. It is great to learn that you enjoyed relaxing by the pools, and unwinding in our Club Lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was spectacular. Great pool, beach, beds. Loved it. Location for restaurants withing walking distance was minimal. But, within a drive to Ft. Lauderdale and Miami. Loved this hotel. The staff (Chanel at the front desk) was so welcoming. The beds were super comfortable. The pool was clean and food was pretty good. Whether traveling with family, friends or business, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear 4star2starbudget,
We are excited to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed unwinding at the pool and that one of our front office ambassador’s Channel made you feel at home. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very nice hotel,didnt care for the valet parking and the crowds there.When we arrived the streets were packed with people and cars.The hotel was nice but the pool looked like an MTV spring break shoot.Not to mention 75% of the people were speaking Spanish or some other language,not my wife and I s cup of tea.Booked it on hotwire on the way home from the Keys.Wont be back to the FT.Lauderdale area.There was 3 of us in our party and I booked 2 queens for me ,my wife, and a friend.When we chccked in they gave us a room with 2 full beds?Not comfortable.

Room Tip: Maybe book thru westn its self?I used hotwire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear William D,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities but we are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations in all areas during your stay. The crowds you experienced are not typical and we are sorry about any inconvenience you experienced because of this. We will embrace your feedback as a learning opportunity so we can improve our services for you and future guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were there for a business conference, we were at least 900 strong!The staff are truly amazing people!!! Two members stand out the most and that is Christopher and Juan at the front desk. Everyone there was warm and friendly to us. Entering into the lobby was breathtaking; palms trees, fountains, rows of seating and great lightning, awesome. And the view is so pretty from the top floor. I went out on the balcony every morning to view the sun ocean view. I traveled by car over 20 hours and tired is an understatement. The rooms are just plush. I never expected to be in a place like this after that drive. Very Impressed!!!! The is now my new home away from home in Hollywood, Florida. Thank you for making me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Hidilly,
It is exciting to hear that you had such a wonderful retreat with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you found your room to be comfortable and plush and that you found our lobby to be a great place to unwind. Thank you for your kind words on our dedicated ambassadors; we will certainly share them with Juan, Christopher and the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a group of 3 couples visiting for the July 4th weekend. We have been to the area many times before and are very familiar with the area and have visited the hotel and used the spa facilities during other vists.
The hotel was very crowed for the weekend, A convention was being held which added to the volume of guests but that was never an issue.
The pool area was over run. The hotel did not seem to have any regulation on the activities of the people. We doubted that they were even guests. There were people eating food IN THE POOL. With bags of chips and dips IN THE WATER and on the edge of the infinity pool. Families with inflatables and toys everywhere. There was loud music playing from boom boxes. Men were smoking cigars in the pool area. it was a disgusting mess. it is unimaginable that all these groups were guests. The elevators were crowded with sandy wet people and their inflatables. One one occasision there was a a trail of blood coming from the elevator! Rooms seemed to be filled with groups. I do not know if they all spent the night but there were certainly more people than could be accomodated in a guest room.
Additionally, the parking garage system had faults as well. The card system in place is very inconsistent and does not always work. There is no attendant in place so you could get stuck there for a while. Upon check in not all of the members of the group received the same type of card to the garage. some got a hard plastic card and some were told to use the room key or a paper card.
Aside from the terrible guests the the hotel is attracting the staff were friendly and capable but the hotel management needs to review some of the bigger issues at this facility.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Deluxe was nice for the view and balcony. rooms are quiet. Bathrooms are nice size. No dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dolores M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you found the pool area to be overcrowded and a mess. Our pool area does become much busier than normal during holiday weekends because we have many families and groups traveling together to celebrate and enjoy each other’s company. During these higher traffic times we do staff more security and require our guests to wear wristbands to ensure the pool area is only for our guests staying at the resort.
Once again, we are truly sorry to hear the busier pool area had impacted your stay and you were not able to relax as you were hoping to. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back for a much more rejuvenating stay in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If it stays like this, the rating will be upgraded to 5 when we leave. Checkin was quick, even though there was a long line (seemed like the called more staff when they saw the line building up), everyone has been very friendly and the room is excellent. More than we asked for

Room Tip: Our room 546 was very nice, but faced the Street, not the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Ole_Bangstad
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your retreat at the Diplomat so far. It is great to see that you enjoyed your welcome experience and we hope that rest of your stay is relaxing and renewing.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.