We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure!!!! WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure!!!! WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were there for a business conference, we were at least 900 strong!The staff are truly amazing people!!! Two members stand out the most and that is Christopher and Juan at the front desk. Everyone there was warm and friendly to us. Entering into the lobby was breathtaking; palms trees, fountains, rows of seating and great lightning, awesome. And the view is so pretty from the top floor. I went out on the balcony every morning to view the sun ocean view. I traveled by car over 20 hours and tired is an understatement. The rooms are just plush. I never expected to be in a place like this after that drive. Very Impressed!!!! The is now my new home away from home in Hollywood, Florida. Thank you for making me feel comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Hidilly,
It is exciting to hear that you had such a wonderful retreat with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you found your room to be comfortable and plush and that you found our lobby to be a great place to unwind. Thank you for your kind words on our dedicated ambassadors; we will certainly share them with Juan, Christopher and the rest of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to your new home away from home.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    720
    276
    131
    98
See reviews for
595
633
63
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manhasset, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed as a group of 3 couples visiting for the July 4th weekend. We have been to the area many times before and are very familiar with the area and have visited the hotel and used the spa facilities during other vists.
The hotel was very crowed for the weekend, A convention was being held which added to the volume of guests but that was never an issue.
The pool area was over run. The hotel did not seem to have any regulation on the activities of the people. We doubted that they were even guests. There were people eating food IN THE POOL. With bags of chips and dips IN THE WATER and on the edge of the infinity pool. Families with inflatables and toys everywhere. There was loud music playing from boom boxes. Men were smoking cigars in the pool area. it was a disgusting mess. it is unimaginable that all these groups were guests. The elevators were crowded with sandy wet people and their inflatables. One one occasision there was a a trail of blood coming from the elevator! Rooms seemed to be filled with groups. I do not know if they all spent the night but there were certainly more people than could be accomodated in a guest room.
Additionally, the parking garage system had faults as well. The card system in place is very inconsistent and does not always work. There is no attendant in place so you could get stuck there for a while. Upon check in not all of the members of the group received the same type of card to the garage. some got a hard plastic card and some were told to use the room key or a paper card.
Aside from the terrible guests the the hotel is attracting the staff were friendly and capable but the hotel management needs to review some of the bigger issues at this facility.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Deluxe was nice for the view and balcony. rooms are quiet. Bathrooms are nice size. No dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Dolores M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear that you found the pool area to be overcrowded and a mess. Our pool area does become much busier than normal during holiday weekends because we have many families and groups traveling together to celebrate and enjoy each other’s company. During these higher traffic times we do staff more security and require our guests to wear wristbands to ensure the pool area is only for our guests staying at the resort.
Once again, we are truly sorry to hear the busier pool area had impacted your stay and you were not able to relax as you were hoping to. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back for a much more rejuvenating stay in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

If it stays like this, the rating will be upgraded to 5 when we leave. Checkin was quick, even though there was a long line (seemed like the called more staff when they saw the line building up), everyone has been very friendly and the room is excellent. More than we asked for

Room Tip: Our room 546 was very nice, but faced the Street, not the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Ole_Bangstad
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your retreat at the Diplomat so far. It is great to see that you enjoyed your welcome experience and we hope that rest of your stay is relaxing and renewing.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the very start we were given the best treat ever: early checkin, information, late checkout, dinner reservation etc. I was searching and searching tripadvisor for where to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary together with our two boys. In the end I went for Westin Diplomat. And they gave us a memorable day! Especially the restaurant Hollywood Prime was faboulous: the service, the food, the atmosphere, everything!!! I'm usually balanced and sometimes probably too critical but when everything meets your expectations and on some areas surpass it, it is easy to give the best review.
YES, we will return!

Room Tip: Select ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear JensTheMan,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your 25th Wedding Anniversary with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that we exceed your expectations and that you found our services from the front desk to Hollywood prime to be excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Last week we drove from Key West to Hollywood Florida for a family reunion and booked what we thought was a four-five star hotel, the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida. How very wrong we were.
Hardly anything went right after our long wait to check in.
This Westin was so bad that it deserves the longest negative review I’ve ever written and believe me, it could have been longer.
• Valet $26.50 vs. self parking $20.00 per day (including all the extra days they can add onto your bill).
We were charged for Valet parking at $26.50 per day for three days and $20.00 per day for four days. The problem is, we checked in at 6:30 p.m., never used Valet and checked out a little after noon on the sixth day. We stayed only five nights!
• Go seven and one half floors to exit ½ floor below where you parked.
Even though the self parking garage across the street from the hotel is bifurcated by a bridge and courtyard, it clearly was designed to allow cars to enter and exit from the same side. However, these geniuses have blocked the exit on one side of the garage forcing parkers to go up to the fourth floor, then across and back down four floors to the exit in the next garage. We found a parking spot half way up the first floor from the original exit but had to leave by driving up three floors, then over to the next garage and back down four floors to exit. More on parking later.
• Bring your own clean bed linens. This hotel is frugal.
We requested our bed linens to be changed daily by placing the sign on the pillow but they were only fully changed one time out of five nights. The carpet was stained and dusty but we never saw a vacuum used. However, we did return early one day and found two pillows standing upright on the carpet and two lying on the sofa while the maid replaced some of the linens on the bed but not the pillow cases which she laid on the sofa and carpet. How did we know? We mark the linens each day because we’re tired of paying hotels for services and amenities which are promised but not delivered. The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is one of those hotels.
• Bring your own soap!
We found one bar of soap in the shower and one bar on the bathroom counter the day we checked in. After three days one bar was down to crumbs and the other a small chip we left on the shower floor hoping for a new one but we were not given new soap. We were not given another new bar of soap until the last day and we believe that only happened because we were scheduled to checkout that day (this was also the only time all our linens were changed) so we think the maid thought a new customer was coming. Hopefully they clean at least once for each new customer before they arrive. Don't count on it!
• Front desk personnel were incompetent and lazy.
We had booked an additional night through Hotels.com and alerted the front desk of the new reservation which, of course, they unsuccessfully looked for in their system for two days (we gave them the confirmation number) but they never found it so they then charged us an additional night’s stay. Instead of doing their job and finding out why the new reservation did not appear in their system, they placed the blame on us. We would have gladly printed the Hotels.com e-mail confirmation but we chose not to pay for internet access (which now days should be included). Had the front desk offered to allow us to use a computer in the business office to accomplish this task, we could have cleared up the Westin’s mistake quick and easy. Instead, we must spend our time doing their job at the end of our trip! We went to our room three different times only to find we had to return to the front desk because our keys didn't work.
• In-room Internet access $12.95 plus taxes per day.
We did use the business center computer for something and we were charged $7.36 including taxes for 15 minutes. That’s over $25.00 an hour!
• Reserving a hotel room is like a box of chocolates…
We had booked the first night’s stay at the Westin website and the remainder as we expanded our stay through our preferred hotel website agent, Hotels.com. We’ve observed that after booking hundreds of rooms with online websites like Hotels.com, Pricewatch.com and Expedia.com that we invariably are given a room across from the ice machine, next to the elevator or both (even when the hotel is sparsely booked). So by booking the first night directly with the hotel’s website we don’t usually get those rooms. But then we booked an additional night at the end of our stay with Hotels.com and the Westin's front desk couldn’t deal with a problem of such magnitude. We’ll see how long it takes them to understand their short comings and correct their mistakes after we provide documentation. Could take months.
• What next, electronic ankle bracelets to go to the pool and beach?
We never visited the pool or beach because they required us to stand in a long line for security guards to lock plastic wrist bands on us (we’re senior citizens, although we were wearing our beach hoodies). Instead of four security guards and bracelets why don’t they just ask us to put our key in a machine to verify we’re staying there? Simple and cheap! What next, electronic ankle bracelets? The pool was so full of people and the beach so small we can’t believe there are that many people trying to sneak in who aren’t staying there or maybe there was a terrorist threat they didn’t tell us about?
• Go out the front of the hotel, turn right, walk to sidewalk and then turn right for the beach.
We did try to go out to walk the beach but were prevented in doing so by security guards who would not let us because we had not been banded. We were told to go out the front door of the hotel and then to the right on the side walk but were again prevented access by more security guards. Instead we were told to go past the next building where there is a public access sidewalk to the beach. So much for reserving a hotel on the beach. Location, location, location!
• Bring your own beach chair!
Beach chairs will set you back an additional first born per chair, per day.
• FINAL WARNING - THIS VEHICLE IS ILLEGALLY PARKED. IT WILL BE TOWED WITHOUT FURTHER NOTICE AND STORED AT OWNERS EXPENSE.
What brought that on? We’d found a wonderful $20.00 per day self park spot in the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida garage and parked there for four days and on the last day received a big orange sticker across our window we had to peel off with the above pronouncement. The parking spot we parked in had a parking bumper and a white stripe and no signs were posted warning not to park there. Our little car fit nicely. After checking out on our final day we found the sticker stuck to our car so I did not have a chance to see if they would actually tow a properly parked car. I’d love to see these Westin idiots explain that to a judge.
• In closing, we had a very nice family reunion.
I’d always wanted to stay at the Diplomat when I was growing up in Hollywood but never did. This was my big opportunity. Dashed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear RD o,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We apologize about the experiences you described with our parking, service, housekeeping, pool, and security. It is never our intention to inconvenience our guests and we are truly sorry that your stay was not a relaxing one. We will embrace your feedback as an opportunity to improve our services for you and future guests of our resort. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we were very impressed with the ease of the registration process and the beauty of the lobby. That having been said, it all went downhill when we got to our room! The room was so tiny we could hardly fit our luggage and the dresser was in the clothes closet because it did not fit in the room. We are SPG Gold so we were on one of the club floors. We immediately called the front desk and our room was changed. We were moved to the 19th floor... this is not a club floor. The room was larger but it was dirty. It looked like it hadn't been properly cleaned in awhile, the shower leaked unto the bathroom floor and there was dried vomit on the deck railing. The next morning I called the hotel manager and reported all of this. She did have the room cleaned and the shower fixed (however, it started leaking again after 1 day). In an effort to make us feel better about things, she did send champagne and fruit to our room. I felt that was a nice gesture. This hotel is a disappointment for a Westin. Parking is very expensive, which is unfair because there is no where else to park. Internet is also expensive but we received it free because of the SPG GOLD status. The pool area is nice but it is in need of heightened security. On the weekend we could not find a chair at the pool and there appeared to be people there who were not staying at the hotel. I have to say the view from our room was beautiful but we found this hotel to be a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear summersun14,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your retreat. We apologize about the inconvenience you had with your room here at the resort. Our housekeeping team’s goal is to provide each of our guests with a clean and comfortable guest room and we are sorry that this is not what you received. We will share this with our housekeeping manager so we can ensure each of our guests have a relaxing stay. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I really love this place! The pool is amazing. I enjoy coming here for a quick weekend get away. Must admit had not been here in about 3 yrs. But I still enjoy the rooms and can’t say enough of the beds truly heavenly!. On Saturday the pool was really busy but Sunday and Monday was A LOT better. Drinks by the pool the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear giyo19,
We were excited to welcome you back after 3 years away. It is great to see that you once again enjoyed your retreat with us and that you got a great night sleep on our signature Heavenly Beds. We hope to welcome you back for another weekend getaway.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.