We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, however I probably won't return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, however I probably won't return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a last minute trip to FL over the 4th of July holiday. Beachfront was non-negotiable and since it was last minute, the smaller places were full. We ended up choosing between the Westin and the Marriott. Obviously we chose the Westin.

The Good
The hotel is beautiful.
Staff was friendly enough.
Very nice lobby and it smells wonderful (the Westin scented stuff is great).
Nice rooms and comfortable beds.
Very nice pool and beautiful beach.

The Bad
Everything is EXPENSIVE. On site restaurants etc. are usually expensive but I felt some of it was a bit ridiculous. Eggs for $18 when you can go down to the Broadwalk and get them for $5.
Parking. I just hate having to pay for parking when I'm paying quite a lot for a room. That aside, the self-parking was easy to use, just $20/day.
No chairs on the beach. To me this is the worst thing about this hotel. To use a beach chair, you have to pay. $12/day for a chair, $18 for an umbrella, and even more for a bed. I'm sorry, I just paid a lot to stay at your hotel and wear your bracelet and now you want me to pay more to sit on the beach?
Nothing nice is done for the guests. As I mentioned, it was July 4th. We walked by the Marriott and they had a grill going. The Westin had nothing. I felt that they could have at least done a little something for the guests.

The so-so
The location. We like to be active so most days we walked to the Broadwalk, but it's not terribly close by. There is a trolley for $1 each way which stops right at the Westin which is nice, but there's really nothing nearby.

So as my title states, this is a beautiful hotel, but when we return to FL I think i'll choose to stay at one of the smaller beachfront hotels closer to the Broadwalk.

Feel free to contact me with any questions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear jessieboo,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed relaxing by the pools and that you found our ambassadors to be friendly. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. We would like to apologize that you felt the beach chairs were a bit expensive. The beach located behind our resort is not owned by the hotel and is a public beach. A vendor has been provided by the city of Hollywood so that our guests have the option of renting chairs so they can unwind at the beach. During the holidays here at the resort we offer several family fun activities through our Westin Destination Club and we are sorry to hear that you found them to be lacking. We will certainly share your feedback with our management team so we can continue to provide the top quality service we strive to provide all our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,103
    737
    283
    132
    101
See reviews for
614
650
63
616
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is well-maintained, very clean with great and comfortable rooms, a spacious lobby and a beautiful outdoor area. The two pools and spa are clean and the staff that buzzes about is very kind, professional and welcoming. Rooms are very clean, with a great balcony overlooking the ocean or city, with a great bathroom and a heavenly bed. I will say that the self-parking is a bit expensive, especially since you need to get away from the hotel to grab a good meal (the meal places at the hotel are a bit expensive and limited in food choices). I would stay here again and encourage you to do the same. We had a club level room. While the price is a tad higher, the breakfast alone made it worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear BCM12345,
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. It is great to see you had a fantastic time relaxing by the pools and that you got a great night sleep on our signature heavenly beds. We look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent retreat.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, one of the nicest in the neighborhood. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, no complaints there. However, in 2013 my expectation is that every hotel should offer free wifi, and yet this Westin only offered it for free in the lobby and charged a hefty premium for wifi in the rooms. Parking was also a little pricey, but not completely unreasonable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear datripmater,
We were delighted to hear that you had an overall fantastic experience here at the Westin. It is great to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found our resort to be beautiful. Thank you for your feedback regarding pricing for some of our services. We will certainly share this feedback with our management team so that we can continue to provide our guests with best service possible. We look forward to your next retreat to the Diplomat.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The male desk clerk that checked us in (and out) was great. Very friendly and gave us several choices of room areas. We took the City-view with a balcony on a high floor. It was fantastic. The lobby is large and very well decorated. The pool/beach area is outstanding. You must wear a wrist-band to get into that area. No charge for lounges around the 2-pools - - - but there may be on the beautiful beach area. Easy to get around the Hollywood area via the $1 Trolley that runs Wednesday thru Sunday. Many fantastic restaurants blocks away (via the Trolley). The Staff in the entire Resort were very friendly and helpful (especially the Pool area). I wouldn't hesitate for a moment in staying here again. Expensive ride from the FLL Airport - but the 'stay' is worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies facing the City are great. Nice view of the Waterways and lights of the area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear billanddoyle,
It is fantastic to see that you had an awesome retreat here at the Westin. It is great to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that our ambassadors helped to make you feel at home during your stay. We will share your wonderful feedback with them. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nice resort hotel. Stayed here for a conference and was pleasantly surprised. Huge lobby/atrium, which is beautiful. All the staff were very helpful and the rooms are great. Several onsite restaurants. A little pricey, especially with so many options around. If you can get a good deal, definitely give it a shot.

Room Tip: higher room to avoid the noise from pool and music. Can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Check-in101,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is fantastic to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found the resort to be beautiful and that you found our ambassadors to be very helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Westin Diplomat was the first hotel we stayed in on our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint. From the moment we checked in we were made feel very welcome and treated very well by the staff. Everything about the Westin is top class from the rooms, the spa, the dining options, the pool and beach area - we couldn't fault it.

We would particularly like to commend Arica from the front office who was very friendly yet professional. The extra touches to celebrate our honeymoon made it an extra special stay and we won't forget it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear JohnMah,
Thank you for taking the time to share your fantastic experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you choose us to celebrate this wonderful occasion. We are excited to share your excellent feedback with Aarica and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Congratulations,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms, and staff are wonderful, but who knew you had to pay for beach chairs,umbrellas and tables!
We arrived at the hotel @ 11:15pm and was charged the full day rate to park. Somehow this does not seem fair. This hotel takes full advantage. It's all about the benjamins here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear tthomasva3,
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is great to see that you enjoyed your room and that you found our ambassadors to be wonderful. Thank you for your feedback regarding parking at our resort as well as the beach rentals. The beach located behind our resort is not owned by the hotel and is a public beach. A vendor has been provided by the city of Hollywood so that our guests have the option of renting chairs while spending time unwinding at the beach. As always the lounge chairs on the pool deck are complimentary for all guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.