We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation traveler yes. Business Traveler-not so much” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Garden City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vacation traveler yes. Business Traveler-not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent for a vacation but not exactly great for business. Lots of children make it rather noisy at times. Met by protestors too yesterday who were protesting Charlie Crist who washers for fundraiser. Hotel should remove protestors regardless of what they are protesting. Not appropriate and disrespectful of those staying in hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,072
    719
    276
    131
    99
See reviews for
596
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is one of the better Westins I've visited. The property is massive, but they have ample staff to handle the hundreds of rooms that make up the resort. I was visiting for a conference, but I couldn't help but admire the beautiful beach and attractive pool areas. I just wish I had been able to take some time to enjoy them!

The rooms, I thought, were better than the typical Westin fare. Stunning views, updated and well-maintained furnishings, and excellent bathrooms. The shower, in particular, was something I'd expect to find at a St. Regis rather than a Westin. My room also had a large, wrap-around balcony with views of both the beach and the intercostal waterway - great views at sunset and sunrise.

In short, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear dekjason,
It is wonderful to hear that you had a great experience at the Westin during your conference. We are excited to hear that you found the resort to beautiful and that you found your room to fit your needs perfectly. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed last year and the hotel was under construction and not the "Diplomat" experience. Stayed last week and the hotel was beautiful (I have always loved the location on this part of the beach). Had the city view which is lovely at night and in the early morning. Needed some help for family that came into town and the front desk went above and beyond. Special thanks to Dave Stewart for terrific customer service. June rates are very reasonable for this level of hotel. Just writing this review makes me want to go back to that beach...

Room Tip: at night the ocean view is dark, so the city view is not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Foozeroo, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovations and had the Westin Diplomat experience we strive to provide. It is also a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the views and had such a positive experience with Dave and the front desk. We hope to see you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to the diplomat with my two boys (6&2), wife, and cousins family. We were there from a Saturday through Wednesday. The resort had a fantastic pair of pools with a unique floor where you can see from the bottom of the upper one into the lower. My 6 year old loved this. There were also waterfalls that you could swim through on the lower pool. The beach was clean and a fun area to play in. The best feature was that this is a convention hotel so the resort area was almost empty during the week. The area has lots of good restaurants and no wait at any of them this time of year. The boardwalk is a nice area to walk along the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear srteich,
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are glad your whole family had such a pleasant experience. It is great to hear that your children had so much fun at the pools and that you were able to take advantage of the other features in the area. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was at hotel for business and must say it was the best stay ever. Very professional and helpful staff. Had corner suite, great views, extra comfy bedding and wish I could have stayed longer. Pool and scenery were absolutely gorgeous. Very clean, plush and lovely. Highly recommend staying here. If you do not rent a car you will need to take a cab, but I stayed on the beach and grounds except quick cab ride to department store.

Room Tip: Corner balcony is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Mimi B,
We appreciate your feedback tremendously and are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed the hotel and all of its amenities. It is also wonderful to hear that you would have stayed longer and we hope that you get the chance to do so soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I spent six nights at the Westin Diplomat in Hollywood in early June. This is a hotel of spectacular beauty and we greatly enjoyed our stay. We paid extra for a room with a balcony, overlooking the ocean, and our experience was well worth the extra expense. We greatly enjoyed eating on the balcony on cloudy mornings, although it was a bit bright and warm for this on the few sunny days. The beach directly in front of the hotel is an excellent place to swim, and we also enjoyed swimming in the beautiful and very large pool at the lower level.

On our last full day Hollywood had more than 8 inches of rain, and it took us some extra time to negotiate flooded streets to return to the hotel in the early evening. We did not wish to venture out into the flooded streets again to eat dinner, and we did an informal assessment of the eating possibilities in the hotel. The formal restaurant is pricy and offer items such as 20+ ounces of steak. Since 6 ounces of steak satisfies 100% of the daily protein requirement of a 150 pound male, I cannot understand why one would need or want to eat such a huge quantity of meat in one sitting. The Café is mostly a breakfast and lunch place. We ate a very nice dinner with our daughter there at about 6 pm one evening, but it is generally closed by then and we had the place almost to ourselves that evening. The Café does not have a spectacular view, but it, like all of the hotel, is quite attractive. “Splash” is an outdoor bar with tables set under an overhang right adjacent to the beach. We ate there twice and greatly enjoyed the food, the view, and the ambience. It often closes by 5, and it was closed at 6 on that rainy Friday evening. The other option is the Sushi bar, which was the only option after 6 that Friday besides the formal restaurant. My wife and I are not particular fans of Sushi, but we were able to obtain excellent hamburgers. In the mornings we ate on our balcony with food purchased at the Ingredients, a kind of mini-mart that features cereal, milk, yogurt, fruit, muffins, rolls, coffee, and the like. Even though there are many restaurants in the beach area in Hollywood, we enjoyed the ambience of the hotel so much that we ate most of our breakfasts (4 of 6) on our balcony and most of our dinners (also 4 of 6) in the hotel.

We had a really splendid time here and we will not hesitate to return when we again have reason to be in the Hollywood, Florida area.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to obtain an ocean-view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Danny38,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife had a spectacular stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed swimming in our majestic pools and that you had excellent meals at our restaurants here at the resort. We hope to welcome you and your wife back to the Westin soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very nice hotel with reasonable room rates. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous pools and great food, however you definitely need a car if you want to go anywhere other than walking to 7-11 or Wal-Mart. They allowed early check in which was very much appreciated- Dave was a gem! The beach front view from the balcony was awesome. Had to take a shuttle to the spa but once I was there it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear erickan_12,
It is outstanding to learn that you had a fantastic vacation with us. We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and that Dave took made you feel at home during your stay. We are sorry that you were disappointed about our spa being at the golf location. We have exciting news that our new Heavenly Spa by Westin is now open at our beach location. We hope you can visit us again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.