We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for business or pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for business or pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This place was fantastic. I would recommend an ocean view and on a high floor. The resort had everything you need but all restaurants are over priced and the the A/C was too high in lobby, hallways and conference centre, thus the 4 stars. In some of the conference rooms I had to go get a sweater.

The beach was clean and the pools were awesome with lots of loungers. $10 to $20 to rent a beach lounger on the beach was surprising. Overall the staff was great. The food was tasty, especially the sushi bar which I went to 4 times. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I have no compliants. Great place to stay if you are looking to relax or in town for a conference like myself.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Ploytech,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your wonderful experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool; that you found your room comfortable; and that you found our ambassadors to be helpful. Whether it is for business or pleasure we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    986
    682
    255
    112
    92
See reviews for
548
575
58
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Amazing place if you would like to stay on the beach. Be prepared to have to pay to sit in a lounge chair at the beach, however the pool chairs are free and plenty are available the pool is amazing and the bar staff is great. The inside little snack bar is not so organized. The rooms are great the views the space. Parking isn't bad at all for the difference in price might as well valet and have unlimited access to your vehicle. Staff pays no attention to details we were here for our honeymoon and no one ever acknowledged that not one person at the hotel. My 2nd and last complaint of our stay was that the spa is not on premise yet and was not informed when making our reservation over the phone that we would have to take a shuttle over the bridge for services. And after relaxing at the spa who wants to drive back on a bus with a maniac for a driver. I was very impressed with the appearance of the hotel however attention to detail would have been nicer.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Lovetobeach2012,
We are excited to hear that you had an overall amazing experience with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and that you found your room to be comfortable. We apologize that you found the shuttle to the spa to be an inconvenience. We will soon be opening our new Heavenly Spa by Westin at the beach location soon. We are truly sorry to hear that our ambassadors did not congratulate you on your recent nuptials. We would like to say congratulations on your wedded bliss and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was truly a beautiful hotel and relaxing stay! I would definitely recommend getting a room with an ocean view balcony because the fresh ocean air is amazing. The pool is very nice an seems very up to date compared to other resort pools in the area, however I spent all my time in the ocean. The beaches were clean and very nice.

The reasons why it only received a 4 star & not 5 was for a couple small problems. Our room did have a few ants. I sort of expected that for Florida, but was hoping against it because it seemed like an overall clean place. The other negative was the breakfast. There was an expensive breakfast buffet, which my husband & I were willing to pay if it had quality, resort level food. However, we checked it before going and the breakfast seemed worthy of a $10 (or less) buffet, which was very disappointing. Lastly, most the staff were superb and wonderful, except the door holders. I would rather open my own door than be greeted by a frown, lol.

Overall. I would definitely recommend it! The staff were mostly great, the hotel had a beautiful outdoor architecture and the ocean was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear SeaTides,
We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your overall vacation and stay at our resort. We are also excited to see that you found your ocean view balcony room and the pool and beach area to be relaxing and enjoyable. I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for few inconveniences you had encountered during your stay. It is of upmost importance to us to provide our guests with a clean environment and good quality food and I am sorry you found a few of those areas to be lacking.
We truly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ridge, new york
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We live in ny and wanted i go away for 4 nights for some warm weather with our 4 month old daughter . ill lay out our four days hopefully it helps

We arrived on a Wednesday check in was quick we received a room at 11 am without any issue room is nice spacious an clean
we hung out by the pool very nice and clean splash the pool side restaurant we ate at every day very tasty but $50 lunch every day for a burger chicken sandwich and fries so on the pricer side
We did the beach on thur rented chairs and an umbrella $45 beautiful beach water was clean went for a walk both ways very safe

We then took the trolly to the broadwalk 10 mins with stops o the end so we could walk the entire thing 2.5 miles back to the hotel about a mile from the end of the broadwalk to the hotel very nice lively area lots f shops and restaurants all reasonable

Fri we did the water taxi a lot of fun $10 gets you to fort lauderdale 1 hr to stop 5 you can transfer to the fort lauderdale stops there

Sat we did the pool and beach again then we ate the sports bar at diplomat landing nice good causal food hope thus helps the resort is beautiful very clean staff is wonderful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Firehouse1,
It is thrilling to hear that you enjoyed your four night retreat with us at the Diplomat. Thank you for your kind words on the property. It is great to see that you had fun relaxing by the pool as well as the beach and that you took advantage of some of the many activities there are to do in the Hollywood area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for a short 3 day vacation and absolutely loved this hotel! Came all the way from Western New York to a place in Florida I have never been. This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and I couldn't have asked for a better trip! The room I had was of a view of the beach and it was STUNNING!!! One of the best trips I have taken!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear amdwfc88,
It is fantastic to hear that you had a great stay with us. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your three day vacation and that you found your room as well as the beach to be a wonderful place to unwind. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was here for a business conference, and the conference facilities were fantastic. The rest of the resort was fine. The rooms were adequate but looking ready for a refresh. Little improvements would go far, like better hangers for slacks as opposed to using the metal clips. Metal clips es no bueno, folks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear MarkNelsen,
We appreciate you taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that your conference went well and that you found our conference facilities to be top notch. We are sorry to hear that our guest rooms fell below your expectations. We will certainly share this with our management team so we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

went for anniversary weekend.. loved it very CLEAN, staff is really nice, pool beach is beautiful they have a kiddie pool very nice & clean and beach is very close and clean also .. 2 thumbs up can't wait to go back

Room Tip: choose Ocean view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Elizao24,
It is exciting to see that you had a lovely time at the Westin. It is great to see you enjoyed unwinding at our outdoor oasis and that you found our ambassadors to be really friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Happy Anniversary,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Westin Diplomat
Hollywood Westin
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort
Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.