We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort....not such a nice town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice resort....not such a nice town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very clean and modern beach resort with all of the amenities. It has a nice large beach area, and two very large pools (one on tope of the other set on different levels). The town of Hollywood is not an attraction in itself, it's north of Miami and south of Ft Lauderdale, and is a pretty tired & sleepy town.

Room Tip: get a oceanfront room on a high floor for a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Stephen K,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are happy to hear that you found our resort to be a great place to relax in the Hollywood Area. We hope to welcome you back soon for another renewing stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    757
    286
    133
    101
See reviews for
630
657
65
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location it´s awesome I highly recommend take a run in the beach around 6am you will see the raising of the sun in one of the must incredible cities in the world. The amenities in this hotel are outstanding anything you need they can get it. I went there for the SAP LATAM kickoff and the expectations on the hotel were more than perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear marucz,
We are happy to hear that you had an excellent experience with us and that you found our many resort amenities to fit your needs perfectly. It is also great to see that you enjoyed the running route along the beach with the beautiful view of the sunrise. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights during a recent conference, and I have nothing but great things to say about my experience. Walking into the lobby to check in, I was greeted warmly and sincerely by an older gentleman, the resort "host" I believe. The lobby is beautiful and has an open-air feel thanks to soaring palm trees, fountains and a glass ceiling several stories above. Outdoors on the beach side, the grounds are laid out in a way that is interesting, attractive, and allows people to move about without creating areas that are too crowded.

My room on the 15th floor of the south tower was just absolutely perfect - perfectly designed to complement the beach landscape of the hotel, and impart a feeling of peace and relaxation. The room looked out on the ocean and had a large balcony with sliding glass doors. The furnishings and decor were tasteful and clean. The bathroom was luxurious - beautiful granite counter and ceramic tile floor, great lighting, a spacious stand-up, glass walled shower, a separate soaking tub, and toilet in its own frosted-glass walled space. On the outer wall of the bathroom were sliding panels, which could be opened up so that you could look out into the room...and if you also had the curtains and sliding door open, you could look from the bathroom all the way out across your room to the ocean view, and enjoy the light breeze. What better way to start your day, or get ready for a meeting, than that! I also hope Westin never gets rid of their bathrobes... sooo comfy, they're the best.

My only negative comment about the room was the thermostat and corresponding noise. For some reason you cannot turn the air completely off in your room - the fan runs constantly even if the user chooses OFF. The fan is fairly loud and therefore created an unrelenting white noise effect... I hate white noise and really wished it was possible to just truly turn the system off and enjoy the sound of the waves on the beach, but no such luck.

Room service was prompt, accurate, and reasonably priced compared to typical room service costs at similar hotels. I ate at Rivals and Splash and was happy with both - especially Splash, which sits oceanside. I appreciated that the hostess asked whether I preferred "sun or shade" before seating me at lunchtime, with bright sun overhead.

The conference facilities are very nice - the only small negative is that the layout of smaller meeting rooms was a bit confusing, so it was sometimes difficult to figure out where things were located. After a few conference sessions, this wasn't much of an issue.

I would return here in a heartbeat - it's a beautiful hotel, my room was fabulous, the staff were friendly, and it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay for a conference.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for an ocean-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear ARoomWithARevi,
It is excellent to hear that you had a wonderful time at your conference with us at the Westin. It is great to see that you enjoyed the many amenities our resort has to offer and that you found the services at the resort to be top notch. We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed some of our food options and that you found your room to be a great place to unwind. We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located on the beach. It is about 15 minutes ride from the airport. There is a grand lobby with palm tress and bars and a nice fountain. Checking in took a minute and went upstairs to the room, expecting a small one. To my surprise the room was pretty big, with a jetted tub, separate shower and toilet. I like the fact that I could open a "window" from the tub and watch some TV. After that, went downstairs and checked the pool (which was pretty large but busy) and started walking on the beach. I loved the fact that I was able to have breakfast overlooking the ocean. The bed was very comfortable. At night it got a little noisy with some girls partying next door (you could hear them through the balcony). Everything was very clean and well kept.
Food was expensive (not more than you would expect for a hotel this category) but you can go to Aventura or Fort Lauderdale if you want to eat something different... Next time I will get a balcony overlooking the ocean...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lucybelle1,
We are excited to hear that you had a great stay with us. It is wonderful to see that you found the lobby to be a great place to unwind and that you found your accommodations to be comfortable. It is also fantastic to see that you had fun relaxing by the pool and that you enjoyed your breakfast overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As soon as we walked into the hotel, the size and beauty of the lobby blew us away. There was a piano being played in the corner along with a wall-waterfall. It is close to the airport, cruise ships and right on the beach. It is always busy and can be unsettling if not used to that type hotel. Our room had a balcony that wrapped-around the corner of the hotel and it was an amazing view of the ocean. The room was very nice and clean, however smaller than I expected. If you want a quality, beautiful hotel when in Ft Lauderdale or Miami, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Get access to the lounge that sits at the top of the hotel. The food is incredible and the scenery w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Joe d,
Thank you for sharing your magnificent feedback with us. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your retreat with us and that you found our facilities to be top notch. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another great stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Westin Diplomat in Hollywood. It was Easter weekend and very busy but we were very happy we booked this pre-cruise hotel stay at the Diplomat. The hotel is perfectly located on the beach in Hollywood about a 20 minutes drive to the port in Ft. Lauderdale. It is a large hotel of almost 1000 rooms and has one of the best pool areas we have seen in the FLL/MIA area. The hotel was crowded with families for our stay but we were one of the families too.

Our room was facing the main beach route and the intracoastal waterway. It was large, modern and very comfortable, although we had booked as 3 and they did not originally have us in a room for 3. But they found a room with a sofa sleeper and we had no major complaints after that. Of course food and parking ($25/night) is expensive at a resort but we knew that going in. There really aren't any modest restaurants within walking distance so we took the Hollywood Beach shuttle ($1) to downtown one night and to the Broadwalk beach area another. Both areas have lots of restaurants and the shuttle comes every 30 minutes right to the hotel. We had a car reserved but they were out of standard sized when we got to our car rental and so took a taxi ($41) from FLL. We also took the water taxi ($10) from the Diplomat Landing across the street one day and that took us up to Port Everglades where we got to see all the cruise ships before dropping us at the Hilton Marina. We enjoyed lunch there out at the pool and took pictures of the fabulous yachts before heading back south to Hollywood on the water taxi. Ended up back at the Diplomat pool and beach and had a great swim in the warm Atlantic water.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Diplomat and wouldn't hesitate to stay again, maybe with a car next time.

Room Tip: Make sure they have the right room reserved for you if more than double occupancy.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MrMacCruises
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and that you had fun unwinding at our pool oasis. It is also great to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that you took advantage of some of the area offerings. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Florida.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I cant even begin to say how amazing this place is, its right on the sand, very family friendly, great food and overall awesome service. I would recommend this to anyone. Family, couples, or even solo. You will be happy, i promise.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony, you cant go wrong with seeing the sunrise and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Victoria R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic retreat with us and that you found our services to be awesome. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.