We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As soon as we walked into the hotel, the size and beauty of the lobby blew us away. There was a piano being played in the corner along with a wall-waterfall. It is close to the airport, cruise ships and right on the beach. It is always busy and can be unsettling if not used to that type hotel. Our room had a balcony that wrapped-around the corner of the hotel and it was an amazing view of the ocean. The room was very nice and clean, however smaller than I expected. If you want a quality, beautiful hotel when in Ft Lauderdale or Miami, this is a great place.

Room Tip: Get access to the lounge that sits at the top of the hotel. The food is incredible and the scenery w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Joe d,
Thank you for sharing your magnificent feedback with us. We are excited to see that you enjoyed your retreat with us and that you found our facilities to be top notch. We hope to welcome you back in the future for another great stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    721
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
598
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights at the Westin Diplomat in Hollywood. It was Easter weekend and very busy but we were very happy we booked this pre-cruise hotel stay at the Diplomat. The hotel is perfectly located on the beach in Hollywood about a 20 minutes drive to the port in Ft. Lauderdale. It is a large hotel of almost 1000 rooms and has one of the best pool areas we have seen in the FLL/MIA area. The hotel was crowded with families for our stay but we were one of the families too.

Our room was facing the main beach route and the intracoastal waterway. It was large, modern and very comfortable, although we had booked as 3 and they did not originally have us in a room for 3. But they found a room with a sofa sleeper and we had no major complaints after that. Of course food and parking ($25/night) is expensive at a resort but we knew that going in. There really aren't any modest restaurants within walking distance so we took the Hollywood Beach shuttle ($1) to downtown one night and to the Broadwalk beach area another. Both areas have lots of restaurants and the shuttle comes every 30 minutes right to the hotel. We had a car reserved but they were out of standard sized when we got to our car rental and so took a taxi ($41) from FLL. We also took the water taxi ($10) from the Diplomat Landing across the street one day and that took us up to Port Everglades where we got to see all the cruise ships before dropping us at the Hilton Marina. We enjoyed lunch there out at the pool and took pictures of the fabulous yachts before heading back south to Hollywood on the water taxi. Ended up back at the Diplomat pool and beach and had a great swim in the warm Atlantic water.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Diplomat and wouldn't hesitate to stay again, maybe with a car next time.

Room Tip: Make sure they have the right room reserved for you if more than double occupancy.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear MrMacCruises
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location and that you had fun unwinding at our pool oasis. It is also great to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and that you took advantage of some of the area offerings. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Florida.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I cant even begin to say how amazing this place is, its right on the sand, very family friendly, great food and overall awesome service. I would recommend this to anyone. Family, couples, or even solo. You will be happy, i promise.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony, you cant go wrong with seeing the sunrise and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Victoria R,
Thank you for taking the time to share your amazing experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic retreat with us and that you found our services to be awesome. We appreciate your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I can't not thank the Westin Diplomat and GM Ed Walls for going out of their way to make our stay exactly what we needed. I contacted the Westin and let them know that I was bringing my mom for a weekend to grieve for my young sister who we lost suddenly in March. The Westin provided my mom and I a chance to relax and find some peace after a stressful last 7 weeks. General Manager Ed Walls and his staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed. I cannot thank them enough.
The rooms, the beach, the amenities were great and I'd highly recommend the Westin Diplomat, I know I will definitely be back with my two young daughters.
Thanks again for everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lindsay S,
We are happy to hear that you and your mom and a wonderful retreat with us at the Diplomat. It is great to hear that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool and that you found our amenities to be top notch. We would like to share our condolences to your family regarding your love one. We are happy to learn that we were able to provide your family with some comfort during these difficult times and we will certainly share your kind words with our ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This Westin blew me away. It is not your typical business, no frills Westin. This one has class. marble floors, spacious bathrooms, oceanfront rooms, pools, and awesome lobby. The food was very good, which included healthy options, like steak and tuna salads, steamed veggies, etc. Of course, for calory hungry people there were plenty of options as well. I was especially impressed with Rivals sports grill - great place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Alex N,
It is exciting to hear that you enjoyed your retreat with us at the Westin. We are thrilled to learn that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities our resort offers and that you found the food options to be tasty. We are excited to share your feedback with our Rivals restaurant. We hope to see you at the Westin again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here this past weekend and absolutely loved it! It's located in a great place and the staff is very accommodating and helpful. You can't really have a bad view no matter which side of the hotel you stay on. We also brought our 14 month old daughter with us, so very family oriented as well.

Room Tip: The rooms on the South side face the beach and the rooms on the north side face the canal and city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Danielle H,

Thank you for sharing your amazing feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and that you found our ambassadors to be very accommodating. We hope to welcome you to the resort again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We love, love, love the Westin Diplomat. We started coming here before we had kids...and come back every year. We are on six times and coming. The most recent time we were in the elevator with a room service person, she had a plate of chocolate strawberries with our son said 'looked yummy!' She gave us the entire plate! How nice!!! Wonderful pool, beach, rooms and service!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear jcdagget,

We are excited to hear that you loved your time with us at the Westin. It is great to hear that you once again enjoyed the pool and beach. We are also glad to hear you found our services to be top notch. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.