We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice ambience and decorations. Club lounge has a beautiful view. Best experience having breakfast up there. Nice place for family vacation. Right on the beach. The hotel has several swimming pools. Would be nice to have a shuttle service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mako A,
We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation to the Diplomat. It is fantastic to see that you enjoyed our Club Lounge and the beautiful views that it provides. It is also nice to see that you enjoyed relaxing on the beach, as well as our pool area. We hope to see you again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    721
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
598
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at Westin for 5 nights for a Business Conference. I have only one word to describe the experience - "Awesome". Below are my ratings of the place on various aspects

1. Location: Full marks for the location. It is bang on the beach and you cannot ask for more being in Miami. A late night walk or an early morning jog is blissful on the beach.
2. Distances to key places: This place is about 45 mins away from Miami International airport and about 20 mins away from Aventura mall (in case you want to do some shopping). Walmart is just 10 mins away on foot.
3. Rooms: Rooms are neat and clean and so are the bathrooms. Some of the corner rooms have huge balconies on which you can have a nice party.
4. Housekeeing: This is one area where improvement is required. Stocking up the room with bottles of water (complimentary) is something that the housekeeping does not do on their own. You have to ask them each time for couple of extra bottles.
5. Meeting rooms & Banquet halls: This hotel has amazingly huge banquet halls (Capacity 7000 pax). So its ideal for planning any conferences etc.
6. Food: The food served on all the days was great. Being a vegetarian, I usually struggle whenever i travel abroad. But the offering here was pretty good and manageable.
7. The cafe: I had breakfast at the cafe twice. The spread was disappointing. For the $30 charge, the number of options available is minuscule. I've had better breakfasts that have been better value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing room while booking...you might have to pay a premium for it, but it would be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear kjrishnadorai,
It is exciting to see that you had an awesome stay at the Westin. It is great to see that you enjoyed our location, our meeting facilities, as well as our food and beverage options. We apologize that our housekeeping services had fallen below you expectations. We will share your feedback with our housekeeping team so we can ensure we continue to provide our guests with a fresh room. We hope to welcome you back to the Diplomat soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a wonderful conference hotel. The amenities are wonderful and the rooms are comfortable. Staff attending to the work is at best uneven. I arrived early to check in at 10:30 in the morning. Understandably a room was not available. At 2 the front desk put a priority request in to get a room clean. By 5 I was finally able to get into my room. It was clean, comfortable and offered a fabulous ocean view. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and Nicky appointed. But I was constantly reminded of the missing attention to detail. Little things like no soap in the conference area bathrooms - this was the case in a couple of different bathrooms both days I was at the Conference. The place is busy and I think a bit too "conference" oriented for family vacations - even considering the two story pool!

I'd gladly go there again, but hope the staffing attention to details improves.

Room Tip: Ocean view side offers balcony and excellent day time vistas. City side view is ok at daylight but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Anderbob,

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your experience. We are happy to hear that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the many amenities we have to offer our guests. We are sorry that your wait for you room took longer than expected. We would like to thank you for your feedback on the areas that you felt we can use some improvement. Your comments will be shared with our management team so we can ensure we are providing our guests with a top notch experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The perfect spot for business or adults vacation.
Breathtaking views from oceanside rooms and fantastic amenities and service.
I stayed in room 1655 for 4 nights. Basic suite in mid-level of hotel. Bath opens to ocean view.
Balcony provided lovely place to sit and enjoy the beach view. White sand beach with chairs for rent. Food and drinks are top notch. Pools are fab. Not many children on site for spring break season-would not take little ones here as they may find it more suitable for 'grown-ups'

Room Tip: Ocean view is the obvious choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear jojobean,
We are delighted to hear that you found your spring break retreat to be relaxing. It is great to see that you enjoyed your suite and that you found our food options to be top notch. We hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Last thanksgiving we decided to go to Florida to spend some days on the beach. 2 adults and a teen.
During the last years we went to the trump, but due to our last stay we decided to try something else.(read my review)
First time at the westin, LOCATION is excellent, the beach was great, pools are nice, staff was very friendly and rooms were clean.
They have a problem thou with housekeeping, there were 2 days that till late in the afternoon our room wasn't done, also the first night the requested extra bed never came to the room, and we reminded them at noon, 16pm, and 20pm .... we came back around midnight extremely tired and had to sleep the three of us in one king bed.
Except that everything was GREAT, we had a wonderful time, so we will definitely give it another chance.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the "starbucks" located at the hotel .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Tzabarit,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving retreat with us at the Diplomat. We are thrilled to see that you had fun relaxing by the pool and that you found our location to fit your needs. We would like to apologize about your experience with our housekeeping team. We will share your feedback with them as it will help us to continue to improve our services at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Attended large medical NCCN convention at hotel for four days, but stayed off site. So cannot comment on rooms. First of all, expensive parking. My daily rate was $20.00, I think the Valet was at least $25.00. Garage was across the street & the parking machine was faulty almost every day. There were several members in our party & I don't think anyone could get the machine to work on the first try (using credit cards or cash). There should be a way to pay at the desk or something. The "box lunches" were absolutely HORRIBLE!. I cannot believe that a hotel of this caliber would serve something so bad (I doubt they used an outside catering service- but they may have). I have had better meals from my local gas station than these. Dry breads & crusty cheese- appeared that maybe they were made up the night before? The hot served meals were better, but again surprised at quality. The staff cleared away the displayed food too quickly. Excellent A/V set-up. The bathrooms very not cleaned as often as expected for a large group as this. By the way, please put a trash can nearby the bathroom door so that we can throw away our paper towels after opening outside bathroom door handle (please come up to 21st century standards for germs!). There were a plethora of hotel employees at outside door (valet, etc.) that I felt I had to wade through to get into main doors. I used the concierge one day & was amazed that she had to walk across the lobby to registration desk to get a printed map or info. As I was waiting in line, she did this several times. I cannot believe that you cannot afford to give the concierge their own printer! She was nice & helpful (please note, that she did not complain or say anything about this- just something I noticed), but this was time consuming for her. After all this, I think I would be afraid to actually stay in the hotel. Also have to pay for internet service. I did not expect a free newspaper since I was not on site, but it my understanding that guests also must pay for papers (???)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear nittanylionctr,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is great to hear that you enjoyed some of the dinners with your conference and that our concierge ambassadors took excellent care of you during your visit. We would like to apologize about the inconveniences you experienced during your conference. We will be sure to share your feedback with our housekeeping and catering team so that we can continue to provide the top quality service our resort is known for. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hotel! Large lobby, lots of pools, clean, Starbucks inside, staff outstanding, Splash (the outdoor restaurant) is very good, we go 2 to 3 times a year and the hotel just makes the trip and your in south Florida too. Ha.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Greg H,

It was wonderful to once again welcome you back to the Diplomat. It is exciting to see that you once again enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our services from Ingredients and Splash. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.