We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort pool and beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful resort pool and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just spent Easter weekend here and the resort is beautiful. It was super packed due to the holiday weekend. They had everyone wear wristbands for pool access which was good since it was super busy and they policed it at all pool entrances. We had a cabana for an entire day (reserve ahead of time). It was pricey, $300 plus another $60 service charge, but it includes a fully enclosed room with (small) flat screen tv and unlimited pictures of soda or tea. The cabana also has a table and 2 chairs, 2 Lounging chairs inside and 2 loungers outside the cabana with umbrella. At the peak of the day when it was super crowded it was really nice not to have to worry about our chairs getting snatched up while we swam and then not having a place to sit. The service at the cabana was great and there were several waitstaff around frequently if you wanted to order food. I will say that this is a large hotel and that valet, bellman service and check in/out get really crowded during peak times expect a wait. We did eat at Rivals (one of the hotel restaurants) one night, beautiful location on the intercoastal across the street. The food was good and service was great. The rooms are typical nice Westin, but with the extra of an amazing ocean view from the ocean view rooms. We will definitely be back again next time we are in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear AlwaysontheRD,
It is fantastic to hear that you and a magnificent Easter retreat with us. It is great to see that your family enjoyed relaxing in your poolside cabana and that our recreation team took excellent care of you. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your ocean view room and that you found our Rivals restaurant to be superb. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Miami.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
620
62
600
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a very large resort. Its important to keep that in mind. Probably at least half of the people there are there for a conference of one sort or another, and that is good, because the pool would be too busy otherwise. I went with my wife and two children during the first week of spring break before most of the country was on break, so there were probably a few less kids there. I thought that towards the weekend, there was more attention paid to trying to entertain the kids, and Tatjana was diligent, but I would have liked more earlier in the week.
Pools are quite nice with two pools one on top of the other. The top pool has a translucent floor in the center so that you could see through to the bottom pool (and vice versa) which provided some fun for the kids who liked to wave at the kids in the other pool.
Service was good for the most part. You often have to ask for what you want, but they do seem to try to follow through. Don't expect to have your needs anticipated at this huge place. The food at the pool was fine.
Pool seating was a bit anxiety provoking. Instead of the rush to get seats in the morning you are greated by a sign that says that at least one person from your party needs to be at the seats at all times or your belongings will be removed. I found it hard to believe that they could be THAT watchful, so I asked a server at the pool if that would happen if we were to get up to sit at a table at lunch. She replied that it would, we we dared not leave our seats. That seemed a bit overly officious. While I laud the drive to avoid people hogging seats all day, it means no family trip to lunch or to take a dip in the ocean, unless you want to move your stuff and then resettle later. This definately takes a lot of the relaxation out of your vacation.
I will say that it is a beautiful resort and the ocean views are spectacular. Breakfast buffet could use some variety. Rivals, the sports bar/restaurant across the street which is part of the resort is good and has beautiful outdoor seating on the intercoastal.

Room Tip: Consider heading to Dania Beach for dinner at Jaxson's and renting a fishing pole on the pier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear rbneuronyc,
It is nice to see that you enjoyed your overall retreat with us at the Westin Diplomat. It is great to see that you and your family had fun at our pools and that you enjoyed your dining experience at our Rivals restaurant. Thank you for your feedback regarding our kids club as well as our pool area. We will share your feedback with our recreation team so that we can ensure all of our guests are having a relaxing experience at our pools. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went for a mini vacation, adult getaway from the kid, this week. Sure it was packed with families during the holiday break but we had a great time. Our room was pure luxury with a balcony facing due east into the ocean. Staff was accommodating, professional and friendly. Even with the crowds this place was civilized and inviting. Thank you for a much needed escape.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear filmchef,
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your escape to the Westin. It is great to see that you had a great time and that our ambassadors helped to make your getaway even more memorable. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel markets itself as a 4/5 star, it is more like a 2/3 star. It is all in the lobby, which is quite plush and indeed the room was spacious but that was all. The "inclusive" breakfast buffet consisted of a drink, a bun or croissant and a piece of fruit. The queue for these was slow and tedious not in an hotel which is allegedly luxury.

To cap this we had to obtain a wristband to access the pool areas once again a queue and register! There were few goodies in the room, no coton wool balls or other toiletries just soap conditioner and body lotion all the cheapest brands or no brand. There was no shoe cleaning kit, no sewing kit, none of the items that one has come to anticipate in well run luxury hotel.

When we arrived at 10.00pm after a transatlantic flight our rom was out of order due to an air conditioning malfunction we had to wadi an hour for this to be fixed and indeed the check in was tedious.

Warning there are, I am certain plenty of much better hotels than this one, I have never stayed in an hotel as downmarket as this, all in all a three star charging five stare prices.

Room Tip: Don't bother but if you have to select sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Stephen R,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room as well as our lobby area. We are truly sorry to hear that the rest of your experience was not as tranquil. We apologize about the lines you experienced during check-in and any inconvenience that the wait may have caused you. We are also sorry to hear that you found the amenities in the room to be lacking. We do have other amenities available and can be delivered to your room upon request by contacting our Service Express team. We hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back soon so you will be able to experience the top quality service we are known for.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My family & I have stayed at the Diplomat for spring break five years in a row. We always have an enjoyable time at the resort. Excellent pools & activities for the kids, provide a relaxing vacation for parents and plenty of opportunities for the kids to have fun and meet new friends. We've always experienced nothing but excellent & accommodating service from the staff. Thanks so much to LD, Fiona, Ryan, Daniel, and the kids activity staff. We will see you next year! :)
The Underwood family

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Kucwood,
It is exciting to see that you had another amazing experience with us at the Diplomat. We are thrilled to hear that we have been your spring break destination over the past five years. It is great to see that you once again enjoyed relaxing by the pool and that our dedicated ambassadors helped to once again make your stay extra special. We look forward to seeing you next spring.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSPman222
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here the last week of march with the family. At check in there were long lines at 4 pm with only one person at the front desk. Nobody at elite area line as shown in my picture. Terrible. Seems as if nobody really knows what's going on. After 30 minutes of waiting in line i was finally serviced. Pre booked a corner suite and was not given access to the club room even though I was platinum. This has never happened to me. I thought the policy was all suites was given access to the club room. The person at the desk said it was oversold and they cannot allow any other guests access. Also requested a high level and was given level 11 of 36.

Food was great everywhere. Lines at the self serve - 30 minute wait again. Could not get into steak house except for 5:30, even though nobody else was in there when we left at 6:30 but one other couple. Food was great though. Restaurant didn't even open until 5:35. The lady had to setup her computer outside the door and she seems overwhelmed and had another man helping her setup signs.

Beach was crowded but very nice. Service around pool was fine but pricy. Hummus and pita was $16.

I cannot review bill on the tv. Ice machine not working on my floor and no out of order sign.

Overall nice hotel but they need more staff. They also need to welcome gold and platinum guest with something a little more than free Internet. For the price and lack of service we will be at the Breakers next year. I will save my spg points for other properties more desired such as st regis.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear PSPman222,
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. As a platinum member we would like to say thank you for your continued loyalty to Starwood Hotels. We are truly sorry to learn that you experience over the busy holiday weekend did not exceed your expectations. The lines that you experienced during this time are not typical and we are sorry about any inconvenience that you experienced because of them. Your feedback will be shared with our management team so we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back for a more relaxing stay in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is one of Starwood's greatest. Just outside Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. The rooms are big and comfortable and gthe higher up the more beautiful the view. Looking out into the sunset and down at the people swimming in the lagoons, etc. Pay to upgrade to the coincerege level as it is worth it with a nice big contiental breakfast in the morning and a nice evening happy hour.

There are several restaurants from casual to very upscale and a nice ice cream bar.

Nice shops and even golf is available.

Last time I was there it was right before the Holidays and it was decorated beautifully.

I will be going back in September.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear donnamarie6099,
We are thrilled to hear about your magnificent stay. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed the scenery around the hotel and that you found our concierge lounge to be an excellent place to unwind. We look forward to your return in September.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.