We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service for a nice hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Terrible Service for a nice hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

the hotel is beautiful. The service however, is not on par with the quality of the hotel and expectations of reasonable service. We are staying in a suit on the 31st floor with 2 kids. Right next door there is a wild party going on by the members of the Reebok Global Brand conference, The hotel appears to be unwilling to do anything about it or at least offer us something for our discomfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear VasiliPupkin,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our resort. We are glad to hear you found the hotel to be beautiful; however, we are truly sorry to hear that our services fell below your expectations. We would also like to extend our sincerest apologies that your suite was located next to another guest suite that was having a party. We always strive to provide our guests with an environment where they are able to relax and unwind and are sorry that this was not your experience. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a more rejuvenating stay.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,103
    737
    283
    132
    101
See reviews for
614
650
63
616
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I swear I wrote a tripadvisor review for this hotel but it is no longer here...I feel so strongly about our experience that I'm submitting again. Maybe I was dreaming the first time...or having a nightmare.

1. Management needs a top down makeover -- the front office personnel are rude, flippant, and pretend to care. If you aren't standing on the frequent Westin guest carpet when checking in...good luck.
2. The concierge(s) can't be bothered with complaints, though they are happy to make reservations for you. Three times a complaint about our filthy room was unresolved -- I called house keeping - still nothing.
3. WAY OVER THE TOP RATES FOR THE ROOM. Ridiculous prices for the rooms - and this was during a conference when rates are supposed to be "good". Not worth it. I read a review about someone saying this hotel is a Sheraton room for a Westin price and that says it all. Though the Sheratons I've stayed in are cleaner -- like the phone doesn't have gunk on it, the floor has been vacuumed, and the shower stall glass has been wiped down.
4. FOOD IS RIDICULOUSLY EXPENSIVE. Seriously...win the lottery before going here.
5. Our room was small -- it faced the ocean but it was probably 2/3 the size of a regular hotel size room. No balcony either so this made it that much smaller.
6. We attended two conference parties -- the food was subpar.

I've never written a review like this. Ever. So disappointed in Westin. They need to really up their game at this property. We will never return.

Room Tip: Just because it is ocean view doesn't mean you will have a balcony. ASK for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Service Managers at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear saltkettle,
We apologize that your experience with us did not exceed your expectations. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our front desk ambassadors as well as our housekeeping services. What you have described is not the high quality experience you have come to expect from a Westin and we are truly sorry. We will use your feedback to help us improve our services for you as well as future guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my 3rd stay at this hotel in the past 4 years, always in March. The hotel is interesting looking and has nice common areas. My favorite upgrade is the change in the coffee shop place in the lobby. They now make salads, sandwiches, and have a to go area with snacks and drinks. The downside is that it is the only affordable place for a quick breakfast and everything was gone a few mornings by 9:30 AM. The beach area seems to have some erosion, seems like there is a hill on most of the beach now, have to go down to get to the water. It was $31 for 1 chair and an umbrella on the beach. The cabana prices were a little steep- $250 and $300 per day. The pool area does not seem to be as well kept as prior visits. The pool tiles had some black mold on some areas around the edge. There was a divet type hole on the bottom of the pool my husband got him foot scratched on. The bathrooms were out of toilet paper everyday and it wasn't very crowded on the days we were there. Food services at the pool bar area was great. I rate this hotel as average because it just doesn't seem as well kept as it was on past visits. There do seem to be some areas of improvement as the workout area is being redone, the pedestrian bridge across street was closed and being worked on, and the new coffee bar area. We did walk to the broadwalk one night and it is about 30 minutes to there from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Spring Break
Dear llamamamaof2

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort. It is always great to hear from our loyal repeat guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our newest additions, Ingredients, our coffee shop. It has quickly become a favorite of many of our guests. We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding our pool area and hope your husband is feeling better. We are continuously working to maintain our outdoor space as well as constantly enhancing the hotel through different projects. We are excited to share that our pedestrian bridge is now finished and reopen and we will soon be opening our new Westin Workout and Heavenly Spa.

We do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience some of the new amenities we will have to offer.

Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days for a public relations conference in room 1631. While the views from the room were terrific and the individuals who checked me into and out of the hotel were both incredibly nice, the concierge service is the most useless I have ever encountered. I approached them twice in a very friendly manner for suggestions on what to do and was brushed off in a rude manner, with a fake smile and given a color photocopy of a tour sheet. Pretty much the same experience on another occasion.

The concierge desk is unfortunately staffed with rude workers that don't lift a finger to answer any questions with suitable explanations, do nothing to help hotel guests that do not know the city or go out of their way to listen to hotel guests or suggest any interesting activities. The experience equalled fake smile, here is a flyer and get out of my face. Before I could even finish my second question the concierge desk attendant was making eye contact with the guest behind me to signal that our 60 second chat was now over. I expected so much more from a Westin Resort of this caliber and despite a wonderful all round experience, the poor service at the concierge desk (on two occasions) ruined a stay that could have been truly wonderful. Advice to the Westin: please provide better training to your concierge staff as they truly hold the keys to providing your guests with a wonderful experience of the city and your hotel and unfortunately your staff was unhelpful and bordering on rude on two separate occasions. Very ironic that I was at the hotel for a public relations conference and yet experience the very worst service from the Westin. So bad in fact that it prompted me to author this review

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mobyjames,
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort. We would like to apologize that our concierge ambassadors fell below your expectations. Our concierge ambassadors strive to use their knowledge of the hotel as well as the local area to provide each guest with a wealth of information so they can make the most of their retreat. We will certainly be sharing your feedback with them as it will help them to improve their services. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Special pools, waterfalls, cabanas, seating, pool bar...its just everything you need right on the beach. Watersports available without leaving the property! Great for couples or families! The onsite restaurants are amazing! Sushi bar, steak and seafood restaurant, starbucks onsite!

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean front are really worth the extra money. We had 32 floor and felt like we were 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Foster001,
Thank you for telling us about your magnificent stay. We are excited to see that you found our resort to be a great place to visit in Hollywood. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the pools and that you found our restaurants to fit your needs perfectly. We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a huge and very busy hotel which ticks lots of boxes if you are looking for a week on the beach. The rooms are very nice, the lobby coffee bar is great with a good selection of breakfast items. Nice but pricey restaurant on lobby level. Front guest- very helpful but very busy, expect to stand in line to check in.
Theres a 7-11 nearby and a Walmart a 15 min walk away. If you cross over the street and follow the bridge to the intra costal walk way you will find a sports bar which is a change from the hotel. The pool areas are well maintained but always busy. I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jr444,

It is great to see that you had a lovely experience with us at the Westin. We are happy to learn that you found your room to be comfortable and that you had an opportunity to indulge in our many food & beverage options. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fabulous and most of the staff friendly. The front desk seemed under staffed with long lines and frowns to go with. However once get past the unfriendly front desk, the rest is great. This was our first stay, let's hope it was an isolated incident. We had a double charge on the room for $800, brought it to managements attention and instead of an apology, we received an insulting comment. Too many other hotels to try, when customer service is lacking. Staff can make or break a a good experience. Especially on the front line. When you spend this type of money you expect exceptional service. Lets hope the stay in May is much better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Txloyas,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you found the hotel to be fabulous and that you found most of our ambassadors to be friendly. It saddens us to hear about your check-in experience at the resort. Our front office ambassadors pride themselves in providing a high level of service to all of our guests and we apologize that this was not you encountered. Your feedback will be shared with them so we can ensure each of our guests have a relaxing start to their retreat. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.