We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge Service is non existent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Concierge Service is non existent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 days for a public relations conference in room 1631. While the views from the room were terrific and the individuals who checked me into and out of the hotel were both incredibly nice, the concierge service is the most useless I have ever encountered. I approached them twice in a very friendly manner for suggestions on what to do and was brushed off in a rude manner, with a fake smile and given a color photocopy of a tour sheet. Pretty much the same experience on another occasion.

The concierge desk is unfortunately staffed with rude workers that don't lift a finger to answer any questions with suitable explanations, do nothing to help hotel guests that do not know the city or go out of their way to listen to hotel guests or suggest any interesting activities. The experience equalled fake smile, here is a flyer and get out of my face. Before I could even finish my second question the concierge desk attendant was making eye contact with the guest behind me to signal that our 60 second chat was now over. I expected so much more from a Westin Resort of this caliber and despite a wonderful all round experience, the poor service at the concierge desk (on two occasions) ruined a stay that could have been truly wonderful. Advice to the Westin: please provide better training to your concierge staff as they truly hold the keys to providing your guests with a wonderful experience of the city and your hotel and unfortunately your staff was unhelpful and bordering on rude on two separate occasions. Very ironic that I was at the hotel for a public relations conference and yet experience the very worst service from the Westin. So bad in fact that it prompted me to author this review

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mobyjames,
Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your stay. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience at our resort. We would like to apologize that our concierge ambassadors fell below your expectations. Our concierge ambassadors strive to use their knowledge of the hotel as well as the local area to provide each guest with a wealth of information so they can make the most of their retreat. We will certainly be sharing your feedback with them as it will help them to improve their services. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,062
    716
    275
    127
    98
See reviews for
591
621
62
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Special pools, waterfalls, cabanas, seating, pool bar...its just everything you need right on the beach. Watersports available without leaving the property! Great for couples or families! The onsite restaurants are amazing! Sushi bar, steak and seafood restaurant, starbucks onsite!

Room Tip: The rooms with ocean front are really worth the extra money. We had 32 floor and felt like we were 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Foster001,
Thank you for telling us about your magnificent stay. We are excited to see that you found our resort to be a great place to visit in Hollywood. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the pools and that you found our restaurants to fit your needs perfectly. We cannot wait to welcome you back.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a huge and very busy hotel which ticks lots of boxes if you are looking for a week on the beach. The rooms are very nice, the lobby coffee bar is great with a good selection of breakfast items. Nice but pricey restaurant on lobby level. Front guest- very helpful but very busy, expect to stand in line to check in.
Theres a 7-11 nearby and a Walmart a 15 min walk away. If you cross over the street and follow the bridge to the intra costal walk way you will find a sports bar which is a change from the hotel. The pool areas are well maintained but always busy. I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jr444,

It is great to see that you had a lovely experience with us at the Westin. We are happy to learn that you found your room to be comfortable and that you had an opportunity to indulge in our many food & beverage options. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fabulous and most of the staff friendly. The front desk seemed under staffed with long lines and frowns to go with. However once get past the unfriendly front desk, the rest is great. This was our first stay, let's hope it was an isolated incident. We had a double charge on the room for $800, brought it to managements attention and instead of an apology, we received an insulting comment. Too many other hotels to try, when customer service is lacking. Staff can make or break a a good experience. Especially on the front line. When you spend this type of money you expect exceptional service. Lets hope the stay in May is much better.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Txloyas,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn that you found the hotel to be fabulous and that you found most of our ambassadors to be friendly. It saddens us to hear about your check-in experience at the resort. Our front office ambassadors pride themselves in providing a high level of service to all of our guests and we apologize that this was not you encountered. Your feedback will be shared with them so we can ensure each of our guests have a relaxing start to their retreat. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife attended a conference here, and I tagged along. Great experience! The resort is beautiful, the staff is fantastic, the pools are huge, the beach is great, and rooms are some of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean, with a balcony. But if you don't, the other side faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear russian33,
It is wonderful to hear that you and your wife had an amazing time with us at the Westin. We are excited to see that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed relaxing in your room as well as at our majestic pools. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while I attended a business conference in the attached convention center. The convention center is first class. The facilities are clean and attractive, the service by the wait staff during lunches and breaks was excellent, as was the food. I would recommend it for anyone planning a conference.

With regard to the hotel, there is no denying it was beautiful and well-kept. We were on the 30th floor, in one of the few rooms with no balcony, overlooking the city. Pretty at night, but in retrospect, would have preferred the beach view. A few small critiques: our bathroom was really nice, loved the shower with optional waterfall shower head or handheld high pressure. However, the shower had a leak somewhere that caused a puddle to form in the attached toilet stall area. Speaking of the toilet, the flush handle seemed to be broken, causing the toilet to run continuously if you didn't manually return the handle to its original position. Again, a minor inconvenience, but worth noting.

My one larger complaint is that I expected more complimentary amenities considering the high price of the hotel. For example, in room high speed Internet (wired or wireless) cost a minimum of $12.95 per day, with a data limit! I can get free wireless internet at a highway motel, why not at this expensive resort?? Also, the hotel's parking garage across the street was NOT free for hotel guests. There was a machine at the gate to swipe a room key but it didn't do anything. So it seems like at one time, they offered free parking. I checked with the concierge and she confirmed they do not validate. The coffee maker in the room provided a limited number of complimentary cups of coffee. If you want more, there's a "nominal" fee. We didn't bother to find out what it was. The pools were great. Warm and comfortable, with free lounge chairs to enjoy at poolside. However, if you want a beach chair or umbrella to use on the beach, there was a rental fee. Otherwise, sit on a towel. I was just dismayed to see such an expensive hotel nickel and diming (rather, $5 and $10ing) for things that more economy resorts provide for free. And, as is the case through most of Hollywood, FL, the hotel restaurants were prohibitively expensive without a company expense account. Only their sports bar, Rivals, across the street, was "reasonable," by which I mean, a total two person bill under $100.

Overall, we enjoyed the trip, but had my company not paid the bill, I would not be staying here, especially with my kids in tow.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Joe D,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed your convention and that you found our pool area to be a great place to unwind. We would like to apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with your shower and that you found some of our services to be pricey. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve our overall services that we provide our guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked two nights and paid for both nights in advance. We also confirmed our room the day of our arrival letting the hotel know we would not be in till very late, we arrived at the hotel at 3am just as we had informed the hotel that we would. We checked in at valet, went to the hotel desk and were told that they had given our room to someone else. Keep in mind that we had paid for the room over a month in advance.
The hotel sent us to one of their sister hotels/resorts and took care of that expense however I am certain the resort they sent us to was not nearly the cost as the diplomats.
They did upgrade us to a nicer room the second night but did not refund us the first nights stay, they said they couldn't because we booked though another company ( Kayak). They did give us a credit for another nights stay in the future at any westin to make up for the first night lost.
The Hotel in general was beautiful. very clean room, quick room service, nice pools, and of course right on the ocean. If we didn't have the issues we had the first night without doubt I would have rated this five starts. When you book a 4 or 5 star hotel this type of mistake should never happen.
My wife did enjoy the spa ( off site location) and I enjoyed the golf ( off site location). We also dined at Hollywood prime at the hotel.
We were late 15 minutes for our reservation and had to wait ten minutes, total except able as we were a bit late.Dining experience was a bit disappointing in general. We ordered surf and turf, lobster was amazing, the fillets were a bit overcooked and over seasoned and just not what you would expect from a steak house. Our server was great, deserts were amazing and huge. If it were not for a just so so steak this would have been five stars as well.
I would stay here again as like I said everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chavous 2,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize about the inconveniences you had encountered by being relocated on your first night at the hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the many things our resort has to offer on your second day of your reservation. We are happy to hear that your wife was able to relax at the spa and you were able to enjoy some time of our golf course. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies about your experience the first night. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.