We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife attended a conference here, and I tagged along. Great experience! The resort is beautiful, the staff is fantastic, the pools are huge, the beach is great, and rooms are some of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the ocean, with a balcony. But if you don't, the other side faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear russian33,
It is wonderful to hear that you and your wife had an amazing time with us at the Westin. We are excited to see that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed relaxing in your room as well as at our majestic pools. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    757
    286
    133
    101
See reviews for
630
657
65
628
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while I attended a business conference in the attached convention center. The convention center is first class. The facilities are clean and attractive, the service by the wait staff during lunches and breaks was excellent, as was the food. I would recommend it for anyone planning a conference.

With regard to the hotel, there is no denying it was beautiful and well-kept. We were on the 30th floor, in one of the few rooms with no balcony, overlooking the city. Pretty at night, but in retrospect, would have preferred the beach view. A few small critiques: our bathroom was really nice, loved the shower with optional waterfall shower head or handheld high pressure. However, the shower had a leak somewhere that caused a puddle to form in the attached toilet stall area. Speaking of the toilet, the flush handle seemed to be broken, causing the toilet to run continuously if you didn't manually return the handle to its original position. Again, a minor inconvenience, but worth noting.

My one larger complaint is that I expected more complimentary amenities considering the high price of the hotel. For example, in room high speed Internet (wired or wireless) cost a minimum of $12.95 per day, with a data limit! I can get free wireless internet at a highway motel, why not at this expensive resort?? Also, the hotel's parking garage across the street was NOT free for hotel guests. There was a machine at the gate to swipe a room key but it didn't do anything. So it seems like at one time, they offered free parking. I checked with the concierge and she confirmed they do not validate. The coffee maker in the room provided a limited number of complimentary cups of coffee. If you want more, there's a "nominal" fee. We didn't bother to find out what it was. The pools were great. Warm and comfortable, with free lounge chairs to enjoy at poolside. However, if you want a beach chair or umbrella to use on the beach, there was a rental fee. Otherwise, sit on a towel. I was just dismayed to see such an expensive hotel nickel and diming (rather, $5 and $10ing) for things that more economy resorts provide for free. And, as is the case through most of Hollywood, FL, the hotel restaurants were prohibitively expensive without a company expense account. Only their sports bar, Rivals, across the street, was "reasonable," by which I mean, a total two person bill under $100.

Overall, we enjoyed the trip, but had my company not paid the bill, I would not be staying here, especially with my kids in tow.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Joe D,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed your convention and that you found our pool area to be a great place to unwind. We would like to apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with your shower and that you found some of our services to be pricey. We appreciate your feedback as it will help us improve our overall services that we provide our guests. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked two nights and paid for both nights in advance. We also confirmed our room the day of our arrival letting the hotel know we would not be in till very late, we arrived at the hotel at 3am just as we had informed the hotel that we would. We checked in at valet, went to the hotel desk and were told that they had given our room to someone else. Keep in mind that we had paid for the room over a month in advance.
The hotel sent us to one of their sister hotels/resorts and took care of that expense however I am certain the resort they sent us to was not nearly the cost as the diplomats.
They did upgrade us to a nicer room the second night but did not refund us the first nights stay, they said they couldn't because we booked though another company ( Kayak). They did give us a credit for another nights stay in the future at any westin to make up for the first night lost.
The Hotel in general was beautiful. very clean room, quick room service, nice pools, and of course right on the ocean. If we didn't have the issues we had the first night without doubt I would have rated this five starts. When you book a 4 or 5 star hotel this type of mistake should never happen.
My wife did enjoy the spa ( off site location) and I enjoyed the golf ( off site location). We also dined at Hollywood prime at the hotel.
We were late 15 minutes for our reservation and had to wait ten minutes, total except able as we were a bit late.Dining experience was a bit disappointing in general. We ordered surf and turf, lobster was amazing, the fillets were a bit overcooked and over seasoned and just not what you would expect from a steak house. Our server was great, deserts were amazing and huge. If it were not for a just so so steak this would have been five stars as well.
I would stay here again as like I said everything else was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chavous 2,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your recent experience at our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize about the inconveniences you had encountered by being relocated on your first night at the hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the many things our resort has to offer on your second day of your reservation. We are happy to hear that your wife was able to relax at the spa and you were able to enjoy some time of our golf course. Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies about your experience the first night. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon!

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed at the Westin Diplomat one night as we were flying in the night before a cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale. Given just that one night's stay, our time there was excellent. Beautiful lobby, amazing pool and perfect ocean views. Christopher at check-in was courteous, funny and just really made us feel like we were at home. He asked us all about our trip, our room preference, wake-up calls, etc. We had drinks at the lobby bar which was crowded with a business group but we still got excellent service at the bar. Breakfast the next morning and free wi-fi (in the lobby, which had plenty of places for me to sit and get online for a few minutes) rounded out a great experience. I would certainly recommend and return.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free internet / wi-fi in the lobby as it is beautiful and there are plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Adam B,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. We are happy that you decided to start your vacation at the Diplomat. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our resort and that Christopher took excellent care of you upon your arrival. We hope that we see you again in the future.

Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the second time I have visited the Westin hollywood for a conference. On that front the hotel does well as it has great conference facilities and it is a very large hotel that can accomodate large groups. The downside is that when checking in/out at the beginning or end of the conference there can be long lines and slow service. The SPG platinum service line attends to all customers and while I credit staff for their individual attentiveness to patrons they need to be more cognizant of speed of service when there are long lines of customers waiting for help. This is a managerial problem that the hotel just doesn't have enough check in staff. Surely this is foreseeable when the hotel knows they have a large conference booked the following day.
The in house restaurants are nice and the pools are great for kids.
The hotel is nice but the surrounding area of Hollywood FL looks old and run down.

Room Tip: A beach view room may mean a partial view from the side of the hotel. Ask for room with a full beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear nodrama1,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is great to see that you enjoyed your conference and that you found our ambassadors to be instinctive to your needs. We apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with lines at our front desk. Our front desk ambassadors strive to provide each guest with personalized service, and we are sorry that your wait time was longer than expected. We will certainly use your feedback as an opportunity to help improve our services. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'm a tagalong on a business conference for this trip. The hotel room is very nice, two walls of windows, room 730. The view non existent, but I don't complain. The bathroom is spacious, separate water closet, rain shower, and a large tub. Odd placement of light switches, just a minor annoyance.

The food and drinks here is expensive. So far I've tried the poolside lunch, dinner at the sports bar, quick breakfast at the grab and go, and full breakfast at the cafe, all good, not great.

The lobby, pool area are very nice-2 pools, wish one was adults only.

The beach area is small. The hotel has built so far out and so high that you lose the sun by mid afternoon. You must pay for loung chairs, an outrage given the price of the room.

The location...there appears to be no other restaurants or shopping unless you're willing to walk two miles. however, the trolley stops right at the door every half hour and for $1 you can ride to shopping, bars and restaurants.

One other thing about the beach, the sand is dirty. I don't know why, but when I washed the sand off of my feet, an oily dirt was left behind, very strange. The water though, was beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Service Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear nodrama1,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is great to see that you enjoyed your conference and that you found our ambassadors to be instinctive to your needs. We apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with lines at our front desk. Our front desk ambassadors strive to provide each guest with personalized service, and we are sorry that your wait time was longer than expected. We will certainly use your feedback as an opportunity to help improve our services. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel has very poor treatment for Starwood Platinum members. SPG Gold/Platinum check in line was non-existant. Received no upgrade to a premium room, and was placed in a basic room on one of the lowest floors. Instead of having an a view of the ocean, I had a view of HVAC chiller equipment. Wait time to speak to a manager was over 30 minutes on the phone. The Club Lounge was a nice space, the food was lacking and left a lot to be desired. Quality of service for SPG Platinum members seems to have really declined in the last couple of years.

Room Tip: Skip this hotel if you are a SPG Platinum member
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Minnisnowda,
As a loyal Starwood Platinum member we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy to hear that you found the space in our Westin Executive Lounge to luxurious; however, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay. We apologize that we did not have an upgrade available during your retreat, and about the delay in reaching a manager. We value your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and we will use your feedback to help us improve our services. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Be well,
Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.