We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big conference hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Big conference hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Attended a conference at the Westin. Even though I booked two months before the conference, I did not receive the conference rate to stay two extra days and the reservation agent had to make 3 separate reservations to accommodate my additional days, and I was not guaranteed to stay in the same room. I had asked for a high floor for the view and quite. When checked in had a low floor right over the hotel HVAC fans which never stopped. On my last day the shower head broke . When I told the front desk, they did comp me $100.

The board walk as 30 minute walk if you desire to eat some where else.
The Hollywood Prime restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear thaddius s,

We appreciate you taking the moment to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn that your experience at our resort was not the relaxing and renewing experience you have come to expect from a Westin. I apologize about your check-in experience; however, I am happy to hear that the front desk tried to help improve your stay. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    758
    286
    133
    101
See reviews for
630
658
65
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chuluota, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel on Hotwire. It was the destination for a meeting event and we could not have been happier that we secured the reservation. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff was kind and knowledgeable. I don't get to South Florida often but would definitely recommend the Westin!

Room Tip: Our room was located between the Intercoastal and the Ocean. We had a good view of each. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear PeggyJoe,

It is fantastic to see that you trip to the Diplomat was a rejuvenating one. It is wonderful to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Florida.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a great location right on the long, white beach. Fast and courteous check in, room was very functional, spacious and clean with a wrap around terrace (stayed on the Club level). A/C unit was a bit noisy coming on though, especially when you were trying to sleep.

2 great pools, one with partially glass floor looking down at the "bottom" one, plenty of chairs, towels, even complimentary cold lemonade around the "top" pool to cool you off. And even though this is considered the high season, there were plenty of available chairs on the beach as well. Lifequard was on beach duty through the day, beach volleyball set up, skidoo rental spot a short walk down the beach, which by the way was cleaned and "levelled" every morning.

Breakfast buffet is the best bet - small but with relatively good variety and made to order eggs, omelettes and wafers. Had a great dinner at the HP steak house on site - for something more casual just walk across the walkaway to the sports bar and enjoy some wings, oysters or other munchies while watching some nice boats passing by, watch sports on tv's or shoot some pool.
Small store and coffee bar are just off the main lobby as well.

For shopping, there is a large indoor mall (Aventura) 10 minute cab ride away, for entertainment: Gulfstream complex also about 10 min (shops, restaurants, small casino). Hard Rock Hotel and Casino ( a large one, Vegas style), about 20 min. cab ride.
For golfers - hotel has a pretty good course with shuttle from the main entrance.
For relaxation: a Spa, few minutes a way.

Went there for a conference - plenty of meeting rooms of various sizes. All set up went without a glitch, catering was flawless, couldn't find any faults despite 2 other large conferences taking place at the same time.

The only thing: elevators in the South Tower were pretty noisy, almost like cables slapping against each other. Few times people I was with were looking at the ceiling wondering if we will get stuck...

All in all, a really good spot for either a business meeting or family vacation. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 28th floor, South Tower, ocean view - incredible ocean, pool and city scapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear canjack1,

We are delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had fun at the pool and beach. It is great to see that you found the breakfast buffet to be tasty and that you had fun exploring the local area. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise in Jan.2013. Upon arrival you will notice that this resort is quite impressive and the doormen and valet are very quick to help. Entering the lobby you will be taken aback by the lovely lobby with about 30 large palm trees, a beautiful water feature, lots of tropical flower arrangements and lots of seating areas - probably one of the nicest lobbies I have ever seen! There was enough front desk staff and they were efficient and friendly and processed us very quickly. We upgraded to Club Level for an extra $75./night.
Our room was 3443 (South tower) which gave us full ocean view and a balcony. We were very surprised by how small the room was and it also seem dated. There was just enough room for 2 beds and a chair. The bathroom was a good size and we were surprised to see that the bathroom, which had a large counter, didn't have any shelves or drawers (who designed these rooms???) that even the blowdryer was just sitting on the countertop - no place to store it. The bedroom didn't have a dresser and there was one small 3 drawer dresser in the hall closet. The beds were comfortable and the room did have a coffee machine. The room was clean. Unfortunately the corner suite next to us had their music blasting through the walls. I called front desk to complain and they said they would send someone to their suite. We went out for dinner and when we came back we had to call again to complain about the loud music and again they said they would send someone down and front desk did tell us that if they had to go to the suite a third time then their policy is to ask the guests to vacate the premises. Eventually the music did stop.
I couldn't find much detail about their Club Level (Concierge service) so I will detail a bit about what we found. The Club Level is on the 33rd floor and you need your key to enter. The Lounge is beautifully decorated and lots of sitting areas - it is huge and very comfortable with ocean views on one side and city views on the other side. Also there are lots of seats outside so you can enjoy the sunsets and during morning breakfast enjoy the warm sun coming up. I really don't know if the Lounge is worth the extra money. Breakfast was nice consisting of an assortment of breads and bagels (no smoked salmon though) with a toaster close by. There were boiled eggs, a big bowl of fresh berries and another bowl of cut up melons, several cheeses and sliced ham. There were an assortment of cereals and also oatmeal. Fruit juices and coffee and tea were also there. Then in the evening there were appetizers - they change it up every day - we had little beef wellingtons, guacamole and chips; tasty egg rolls, conch fritters, assortments of cheeses, hummus, crackers - just enough to take the edge off your hunger before going for dinner. There is bar service but drinks are at an additional cost. Soft drinks and tea and coffee are free.
There is a bar by the lobby and they made great drinks - we had Rusty Nails and loved them. There is a deli also off the lobby were you can buy sandwiches, salads, wine, beer and even champagne - lots of other stuff in this deli.
Several restaurants to pick from - all good if a bit pricey.
The swimming pool area was beautiful. We used the pool both days and the water was heated and we were surprised by the number of children at the resort considering there are no holidays. Even though there were lots of kids, they were all well behaved and not running around.
Last year at the same time of year, we stayed at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66 and paid much less. The Pier 66 room was much nicer and quite a bit larger. The Hyatt also had a beautiful swimming pool area (Diplomats was nicer) and they had great restaurants as well. Also the Hyatt is very close to the Port Everglades so taxi service is a fraction of the cost compared to Diplomat and the same with airport fares.
So even though the Diplomat was lovely, we weighed the differences and think next year we will be staying at the Hyatt again and the money we save we can use on our cruise.

Room Tip: I suggest paying the extra to get an ocean view room and ask for a balcony also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear niagaragal01,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It is great to see that your stay with us was relaxing and renewing. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our club lounge and that you found our pool area to be a great place to unwind. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a fantastic property. Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. I only wish the weather had been a bit nicer. We had a perfect room, loved the tub! The view was amazing. Watching the ships arriving and departing from both port of Miami & Ft. Lauderdale. The beach was never very crowded. You can hop on the Trolley right outside and ride down to the Hollywood Broadwalk or the downtown area, great shopping and eating. The public areas were always very clean. The staff was wonderful. Service was great! Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Mid way up , like the 15th floor to 25th oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear 324hourtour,

It is great to learn you loved your stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the relaxing on the beach and that your enjoyed the view from you room. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well.

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tournament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to clean my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurant meeting room
No, I do not recommend this hotel.
Below Expectations Fitness Center, Spa, Service, Food and Beverage
Month of Arrival: February 2013
The one thing everyone should know about this hotel: It is no longer a 5 start hotel and appears to be heading the wrong direction

Room Tip: Don't go here if you want to sleep in, have service, or expect hot water in your shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Pennie727,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your most recent experience at our resort. We are sorry to learn that your recent stay was not the relaxing and renewing experience you have come to know from the Westin Diplomat. We apologize about your inconveniences with housekeeping, tennis, and lack of hot water on Saturday evening. Your experience is not the experience we strive to provide our guests and we are truly sorry for the inconveniences. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have an ocean view which was breathtaking. Service was great and the food was good. I was surprised that you had to pay for chairs and umbrellas at the beach. They aren't cheap, but worth it as the pool is very shady. Jetskiing is reasonabIe and offered onsite at the beach...$80 for a 1/2 hour or $85 for 2 people. I would consider the hotel itself a little on the expensive side, as 2 drinks and a sandwich (1) were $50. Automatic tip was included on everything, no matter the size of the party. The off site spa was hit or miss. I heard that our colleagues has the greatest spa service and also the worst. Mine was good. Not mind blowing, but good for a facial. Things are close if you need liquor store or a Walmart and the hotel mini shop has sunscreen and various items. They have a great Starbucks/deli with chips, wine and croissants that are wonderful. Skip breakfast and eat there. Overall, it was very nice. Extremely clean, pleasant, good location and a LITTLE pricey for a higher starred hotel. Taxis are plentiful however, make sure you know where you are going as they might take the long way and your fare will be double. South Beach will run you about $60 - 80.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mercedes88,

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed the ocean view, our spa, and the food options we offer. Also it is nice to see you took advantage of the local area and that you had fun on the beach. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.