We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel with a great location right on the long, white beach. Fast and courteous check in, room was very functional, spacious and clean with a wrap around terrace (stayed on the Club level). A/C unit was a bit noisy coming on though, especially when you were trying to sleep.

2 great pools, one with partially glass floor looking down at the "bottom" one, plenty of chairs, towels, even complimentary cold lemonade around the "top" pool to cool you off. And even though this is considered the high season, there were plenty of available chairs on the beach as well. Lifequard was on beach duty through the day, beach volleyball set up, skidoo rental spot a short walk down the beach, which by the way was cleaned and "levelled" every morning.

Breakfast buffet is the best bet - small but with relatively good variety and made to order eggs, omelettes and wafers. Had a great dinner at the HP steak house on site - for something more casual just walk across the walkaway to the sports bar and enjoy some wings, oysters or other munchies while watching some nice boats passing by, watch sports on tv's or shoot some pool.
Small store and coffee bar are just off the main lobby as well.

For shopping, there is a large indoor mall (Aventura) 10 minute cab ride away, for entertainment: Gulfstream complex also about 10 min (shops, restaurants, small casino). Hard Rock Hotel and Casino ( a large one, Vegas style), about 20 min. cab ride.
For golfers - hotel has a pretty good course with shuttle from the main entrance.
For relaxation: a Spa, few minutes a way.

Went there for a conference - plenty of meeting rooms of various sizes. All set up went without a glitch, catering was flawless, couldn't find any faults despite 2 other large conferences taking place at the same time.

The only thing: elevators in the South Tower were pretty noisy, almost like cables slapping against each other. Few times people I was with were looking at the ceiling wondering if we will get stuck...

All in all, a really good spot for either a business meeting or family vacation. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 28th floor, South Tower, ocean view - incredible ocean, pool and city scapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear canjack1,

We are delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us. We are happy to hear that you had fun at the pool and beach. It is great to see that you found the breakfast buffet to be tasty and that you had fun exploring the local area. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    719
    276
    131
    99
See reviews for
597
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights pre-cruise in Jan.2013. Upon arrival you will notice that this resort is quite impressive and the doormen and valet are very quick to help. Entering the lobby you will be taken aback by the lovely lobby with about 30 large palm trees, a beautiful water feature, lots of tropical flower arrangements and lots of seating areas - probably one of the nicest lobbies I have ever seen! There was enough front desk staff and they were efficient and friendly and processed us very quickly. We upgraded to Club Level for an extra $75./night.
Our room was 3443 (South tower) which gave us full ocean view and a balcony. We were very surprised by how small the room was and it also seem dated. There was just enough room for 2 beds and a chair. The bathroom was a good size and we were surprised to see that the bathroom, which had a large counter, didn't have any shelves or drawers (who designed these rooms???) that even the blowdryer was just sitting on the countertop - no place to store it. The bedroom didn't have a dresser and there was one small 3 drawer dresser in the hall closet. The beds were comfortable and the room did have a coffee machine. The room was clean. Unfortunately the corner suite next to us had their music blasting through the walls. I called front desk to complain and they said they would send someone to their suite. We went out for dinner and when we came back we had to call again to complain about the loud music and again they said they would send someone down and front desk did tell us that if they had to go to the suite a third time then their policy is to ask the guests to vacate the premises. Eventually the music did stop.
I couldn't find much detail about their Club Level (Concierge service) so I will detail a bit about what we found. The Club Level is on the 33rd floor and you need your key to enter. The Lounge is beautifully decorated and lots of sitting areas - it is huge and very comfortable with ocean views on one side and city views on the other side. Also there are lots of seats outside so you can enjoy the sunsets and during morning breakfast enjoy the warm sun coming up. I really don't know if the Lounge is worth the extra money. Breakfast was nice consisting of an assortment of breads and bagels (no smoked salmon though) with a toaster close by. There were boiled eggs, a big bowl of fresh berries and another bowl of cut up melons, several cheeses and sliced ham. There were an assortment of cereals and also oatmeal. Fruit juices and coffee and tea were also there. Then in the evening there were appetizers - they change it up every day - we had little beef wellingtons, guacamole and chips; tasty egg rolls, conch fritters, assortments of cheeses, hummus, crackers - just enough to take the edge off your hunger before going for dinner. There is bar service but drinks are at an additional cost. Soft drinks and tea and coffee are free.
There is a bar by the lobby and they made great drinks - we had Rusty Nails and loved them. There is a deli also off the lobby were you can buy sandwiches, salads, wine, beer and even champagne - lots of other stuff in this deli.
Several restaurants to pick from - all good if a bit pricey.
The swimming pool area was beautiful. We used the pool both days and the water was heated and we were surprised by the number of children at the resort considering there are no holidays. Even though there were lots of kids, they were all well behaved and not running around.
Last year at the same time of year, we stayed at the Hyatt Regency Pier 66 and paid much less. The Pier 66 room was much nicer and quite a bit larger. The Hyatt also had a beautiful swimming pool area (Diplomats was nicer) and they had great restaurants as well. Also the Hyatt is very close to the Port Everglades so taxi service is a fraction of the cost compared to Diplomat and the same with airport fares.
So even though the Diplomat was lovely, we weighed the differences and think next year we will be staying at the Hyatt again and the money we save we can use on our cruise.

Room Tip: I suggest paying the extra to get an ocean view room and ask for a balcony also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear niagaragal01,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It is great to see that your stay with us was relaxing and renewing. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our club lounge and that you found our pool area to be a great place to unwind. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a fantastic property. Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. I only wish the weather had been a bit nicer. We had a perfect room, loved the tub! The view was amazing. Watching the ships arriving and departing from both port of Miami & Ft. Lauderdale. The beach was never very crowded. You can hop on the Trolley right outside and ride down to the Hollywood Broadwalk or the downtown area, great shopping and eating. The public areas were always very clean. The staff was wonderful. Service was great! Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Mid way up , like the 15th floor to 25th oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear 324hourtour,

It is great to learn you loved your stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the relaxing on the beach and that your enjoyed the view from you room. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well.

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tournament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to clean my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurant meeting room
No, I do not recommend this hotel.
Below Expectations Fitness Center, Spa, Service, Food and Beverage
Month of Arrival: February 2013
The one thing everyone should know about this hotel: It is no longer a 5 start hotel and appears to be heading the wrong direction

Room Tip: Don't go here if you want to sleep in, have service, or expect hot water in your shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Pennie727,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your most recent experience at our resort. We are sorry to learn that your recent stay was not the relaxing and renewing experience you have come to know from the Westin Diplomat. We apologize about your inconveniences with housekeeping, tennis, and lack of hot water on Saturday evening. Your experience is not the experience we strive to provide our guests and we are truly sorry for the inconveniences. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have an ocean view which was breathtaking. Service was great and the food was good. I was surprised that you had to pay for chairs and umbrellas at the beach. They aren't cheap, but worth it as the pool is very shady. Jetskiing is reasonabIe and offered onsite at the beach...$80 for a 1/2 hour or $85 for 2 people. I would consider the hotel itself a little on the expensive side, as 2 drinks and a sandwich (1) were $50. Automatic tip was included on everything, no matter the size of the party. The off site spa was hit or miss. I heard that our colleagues has the greatest spa service and also the worst. Mine was good. Not mind blowing, but good for a facial. Things are close if you need liquor store or a Walmart and the hotel mini shop has sunscreen and various items. They have a great Starbucks/deli with chips, wine and croissants that are wonderful. Skip breakfast and eat there. Overall, it was very nice. Extremely clean, pleasant, good location and a LITTLE pricey for a higher starred hotel. Taxis are plentiful however, make sure you know where you are going as they might take the long way and your fare will be double. South Beach will run you about $60 - 80.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mercedes88,

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed the ocean view, our spa, and the food options we offer. Also it is nice to see you took advantage of the local area and that you had fun on the beach. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Diplomat from 02/16 to 02/22.
Room was very clean and comfortable w/ a fabulous view. Especially loved the desk accents!
Due to its location and that we did not have a car with us, there were very few options in terms of food or beverage. I felt that the Westin took full advantage of this situation, charging sometimes ridiculously high amounts for staple items.
We enjoyed the Café for most lunches – thank you for including the gratuities to the bill! Excellent service and nutritious options, however, the ethnic inequalities in terms of employment opportunities are blatantly obvious. This is rather disconcerting from such a reputable company.
Wish the fitness center was open 24 hours. This was very disappointing, especially when I called the operator at 9:00PM inquiring where the gym was. We would have appreciated if she had also included the center hours. We otherwise experienced excellent service from everyone, including the individuals constantly holding the front doors open.
On our last day, 02/22 between 2-2:30PM, please review the surveillance camera overlooking the revolving door out to the pool. You will likely see my 65 year old mother taking a header due to slippery wet floors. No one, visitors or hotel employees, came to her aide. Please rectify this situation. Sincere caution to anyone else taking this route in/out of the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Rebecca B,

Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are excited to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and that you had an amazing view. We would also like to apologize that you found our resort to have very few dining options available to our guests and that some of their pricing was high.

We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy the excellent service and many nutritious options that our Café has to offer our guests. Please know that we recognize and appreciate the diversity of people, ideas and cultures, and believe that diverse experience and people are required for our business to succeed. We support a culture of inclusion where associates at every level, including the full range of backgrounds, cultures and orientations can reach their maximum potential.

Our fitness center is temporarily located across the street and running does close at 9:00pm, however, we are all looking forward to our new state of the art, 24 hour, Westin Workout opening this Spring.

We are also truly sorry to hear your mother had slipped and fell on a wet floor. We hope she is doing well at this time. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Have a great day,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My Family and I stayed at the Diplomat from February 15 - 19th, 2013. The entire facility was freezing. Couldn't check-in till after 4:00 p.m. Staff couldn't locate parcels which were left for us. Charged for goods and services we never purchased or experienced. I specifically asked front desk personnel to have the manager call me and I'm still waiting (it's Feb. 23rd). The one thing I can honestly say worked perfectly was that the staff accepting tips I should never have offered. BTW, "Splash" the poolside/beachside restaurant and bar was absolutely filthy the entire time we were on the property, even the birds wouldn't eat the rubbish, food scraps on the ground. This management team seems to rely on it's excellent location and doesn't feel the need to deliver.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear xdghs,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not the relaxing and renewing experience we wish to provide each and every one of our guests. We apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with your parcels as well as your experience at our restaurant splash. I would like to sincerely apologize that no one from our management staff has reached out to you yet. Please feel free to contact me at Karianne.arsenault@westin.com regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.