We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is understaffed and degrading fast” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Davie, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hotel is understaffed and degrading fast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have stayed at this facility once a year with up to 23 others for our annual tennis tournament. This year the hotel shut down the remote hotel, had moved the spa, got rid of newspapers to SPG members, disturbed me at 0800 to clean my room, had no towels ready for our group of 24 on the tennis courts, no water for us that we had pre paid for, no promised 6 courts initially on the final Saturday, Spa had no cable TV or magazines to read, and to top it off, no one of our guys could get any hot water for any of the rooms shower Saturday Night after 6 hours of tennis and before our awards dinner in the hotel large restaurant meeting room
No, I do not recommend this hotel.
Below Expectations Fitness Center, Spa, Service, Food and Beverage
Month of Arrival: February 2013
The one thing everyone should know about this hotel: It is no longer a 5 start hotel and appears to be heading the wrong direction

Room Tip: Don't go here if you want to sleep in, have service, or expect hot water in your shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Pennie727,

Thank you for taking a moment to share with us your most recent experience at our resort. We are sorry to learn that your recent stay was not the relaxing and renewing experience you have come to know from the Westin Diplomat. We apologize about your inconveniences with housekeeping, tennis, and lack of hot water on Saturday evening. Your experience is not the experience we strive to provide our guests and we are truly sorry for the inconveniences. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,070
    720
    276
    129
    98
See reviews for
594
630
62
601
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have an ocean view which was breathtaking. Service was great and the food was good. I was surprised that you had to pay for chairs and umbrellas at the beach. They aren't cheap, but worth it as the pool is very shady. Jetskiing is reasonabIe and offered onsite at the beach...$80 for a 1/2 hour or $85 for 2 people. I would consider the hotel itself a little on the expensive side, as 2 drinks and a sandwich (1) were $50. Automatic tip was included on everything, no matter the size of the party. The off site spa was hit or miss. I heard that our colleagues has the greatest spa service and also the worst. Mine was good. Not mind blowing, but good for a facial. Things are close if you need liquor store or a Walmart and the hotel mini shop has sunscreen and various items. They have a great Starbucks/deli with chips, wine and croissants that are wonderful. Skip breakfast and eat there. Overall, it was very nice. Extremely clean, pleasant, good location and a LITTLE pricey for a higher starred hotel. Taxis are plentiful however, make sure you know where you are going as they might take the long way and your fare will be double. South Beach will run you about $60 - 80.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mercedes88,

We are happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed the ocean view, our spa, and the food options we offer. Also it is nice to see you took advantage of the local area and that you had fun on the beach. We hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at the Diplomat from 02/16 to 02/22.
Room was very clean and comfortable w/ a fabulous view. Especially loved the desk accents!
Due to its location and that we did not have a car with us, there were very few options in terms of food or beverage. I felt that the Westin took full advantage of this situation, charging sometimes ridiculously high amounts for staple items.
We enjoyed the Café for most lunches – thank you for including the gratuities to the bill! Excellent service and nutritious options, however, the ethnic inequalities in terms of employment opportunities are blatantly obvious. This is rather disconcerting from such a reputable company.
Wish the fitness center was open 24 hours. This was very disappointing, especially when I called the operator at 9:00PM inquiring where the gym was. We would have appreciated if she had also included the center hours. We otherwise experienced excellent service from everyone, including the individuals constantly holding the front doors open.
On our last day, 02/22 between 2-2:30PM, please review the surveillance camera overlooking the revolving door out to the pool. You will likely see my 65 year old mother taking a header due to slippery wet floors. No one, visitors or hotel employees, came to her aide. Please rectify this situation. Sincere caution to anyone else taking this route in/out of the pool area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Rebecca B,

Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are excited to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and that you had an amazing view. We would also like to apologize that you found our resort to have very few dining options available to our guests and that some of their pricing was high.

We are glad to see that you were able to enjoy the excellent service and many nutritious options that our Café has to offer our guests. Please know that we recognize and appreciate the diversity of people, ideas and cultures, and believe that diverse experience and people are required for our business to succeed. We support a culture of inclusion where associates at every level, including the full range of backgrounds, cultures and orientations can reach their maximum potential.

Our fitness center is temporarily located across the street and running does close at 9:00pm, however, we are all looking forward to our new state of the art, 24 hour, Westin Workout opening this Spring.

We are also truly sorry to hear your mother had slipped and fell on a wet floor. We hope she is doing well at this time. We would like to thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Have a great day,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My Family and I stayed at the Diplomat from February 15 - 19th, 2013. The entire facility was freezing. Couldn't check-in till after 4:00 p.m. Staff couldn't locate parcels which were left for us. Charged for goods and services we never purchased or experienced. I specifically asked front desk personnel to have the manager call me and I'm still waiting (it's Feb. 23rd). The one thing I can honestly say worked perfectly was that the staff accepting tips I should never have offered. BTW, "Splash" the poolside/beachside restaurant and bar was absolutely filthy the entire time we were on the property, even the birds wouldn't eat the rubbish, food scraps on the ground. This management team seems to rely on it's excellent location and doesn't feel the need to deliver.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear xdghs,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not the relaxing and renewing experience we wish to provide each and every one of our guests. We apologize about the inconvenience you experienced with your parcels as well as your experience at our restaurant splash. I would like to sincerely apologize that no one from our management staff has reached out to you yet. Please feel free to contact me at Karianne.arsenault@westin.com regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Even though I spent 10 years living in SoFlo I never experienced the Diplomat. Service was excellent, rooms were great and the staff was everything you would expect from a high end resort. I played the golf club and they too were excellent and the course was in reasonable shape although I expected more for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Gunshycanuck,

We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your room as well as our golf course. We are also delighted to see that our ambassadors helped to make your stay even more memorable. We hope to see you at the Westin again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this resort with my two small children and my husband is here on a conference. My first impression of this hotel was amazing. We were able to check in at 11am and we stayed in a suite (no balcony) over looking the ocean. The location is good since you are on the beach.
Here are some pros and cons that I have noticed ...so far.
Cons: dinner options are a very nice and expensive steak house which was excellent or a sports bar that had poor service. It takes about 30 mins to walk to the downtown/boardwalk to other restarants. We did not have a car. If you drove it would take 5 mins. All food options at the hotel are expensive but large portions and very good drinks. Lunch for 2 and 2 drinks is about 50 dollars but we could not finish the meal.

Pros: the food is very good! The views and facilities are very nice and worth the price. The service the we have received in the last 24 hours has been the best we have ever had. We travel a lot and this hotel is very classy.

Tips: if you like a little walk the Walmart is 15 mins away. You can walk and it is very safe. You can buy water and snacks there. If you want to eat outside the resort you can go into the downtown easily.
They add a tip onto most bills at the restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear CHTHONS,

It is great to see that you had a relaxing stay with us at the Westin Diplomat. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by our dedicated ambassadors. We are sorry to hear that you found some of our food and beverage options to be expensive. We will share your feedback with our food & beverage director. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Attended business meeting at hotel. Not a large meeting for the size of the hotel but numerous attendees had to wait until after 6 PM for rooms. While I was checking in, front desk staff were asking each other whether they could contact housekeeping (trying to ascertain which rooms were clean). Meeting food ranged from an excellent opening night meal to mediocre lunches and dinners with multiple attendees leaving uneaten food on their plates due to lack of flavor or over cooking. Facility is great but they are overpriced for their marketed service level.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear WARSAWRUN,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies regarding the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We are sorry to hear about your check in experience as well as some of the food options during your event. Your feedback will be shared with our front office as well as our banquets team so we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back to the Diplomat.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollywood
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hollywood Beach
Free internet...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Marriott Hollywood Beach
Marriott Hollywood Beach
#11 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
7.3 mi away
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel Hollywood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Ocean Inn
Ocean Inn
#8 of 66 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Beach, Mid-rang...
Show More
2.4 mi away
Riptide Hotel
Riptide Hotel
#12 of 66 in Hollywood
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Suites, Beach...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
Caribbean Resort by the Ocean
#16 of 66 in Hollywood
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.