We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They try very hard....too large for me.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Chicago suburb
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“They try very hard....too large for me.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a very large facility. If you like that...then they do that model well. I was here on business or I would not have selected such a massive property for my own vacation time. I prefer much smaller more boutique type hotels. That being said...the employees work very hard here at making the customers happy. I was offsite....an hours walk away.....thought I lost my wallet.....called security and they sent a driver for me in my panic. Wallet was in my room. Security understood my situation and re-acted promptly. Icemaker not working on my floor....made a call and it was promptly rectified. Many people working vallet....all excellent and efficient. Housekeeping very punctual and efficient.There are 2-36 floor towers in this hotel....each with a bank of 6 elevators. I know this might be a bit of a weird accolade.....but in my 6 days there I never waited more than 30 seconds for a car. An amazing thing for people who understand high rise elevator usage. They have this working nicely. The spa area is off-site about 10 minutes away.....but a very lovely facility tied together with their golf course. Some areas of improvement. No drink service on the beach? Some of the beach equipment...frames for lounging etc....a little banged up....showing their age. Throughout the resorts exterior....rust is popping thru everywhere. I realize what salt water breezes do.....but maintenance is critical. Nowhere in the INTERIOR of the hotel to get a cocktail till 4pm.....must go all the way to the pool/beach bar. Overall the experience was pleasant....just not my style.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Managers at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Gariupamg,

We are excited to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is great to see that your business retreat went well and that our security team took excellent care of you during your time of need. Thank you for you feedback on where we can use some improvement. We will certainly use the information you provided us to help ensure we can provide the best service for our guests. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    983
    681
    254
    112
    92
See reviews for
544
574
58
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed at this resort several times in the last 4 years and the quality is exactly the same. It is very well located, very quite area, close to restaurants and malls (Adventura Mall).
The only comment will be the closing time of the Fitness center, which is not open 24 hours.
The restaurant and the food is first quality, with good choices. If you wat a change just walk across the avenue where you will find a couple of good ones. Excellent for kids.
The beach is very nice, so is the pool. The lobby is marvelous! lots of places to seat and chat.
The rooms are clean, and very nice, specially if you get the ocean view ones.
the Valet service is an asset, but if you like they have a parking building across the street.
Wifi is not free.
Will continue to go back year after year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear OsValdo S,

It was a real treat to once again welcome you back to the Diplomat. Thank you for making us your home away from home. It is great to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and that you were able to take advantage of the amenities we offer here at the resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Generally this was a very nice if not dated hotel. The pool area and location on the beach is very nice and they have a nice cafe where you can buy wine, coffee, food, etc.
Normally the rooms are $450 over presidents day weekend which is CRAZY but i had a discount for a wedding. I paid $350/night and had no hot water or toiletries- it took me over 30 minutes to check in with just a few people in line at noon. They explained to me there were too many people in the hotel so they ran out of hot water. The hot tub was full of 6 and 7 year olds even though there was a HUGE sign that said "no kids under 16 are allowed in hot tub by florida state law" yet everyone ignored the sign, even the security guards who walked past constantly. For $350/night I would expect hot water at the very least. When I called to get a discount they offered me 5000 spg points- the hotel costs 12,000/night.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony. Otherwise you might as well be staying in a courtyard marriot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear SmithGNYC

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to apologize that your experience did not exceed your expectations. We are sorry about the inconveniences you had experienced with the lack of hot water and toiletries. We will share your feedback with our Housekeeping and Engineering ambassadors. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, staff is very helpful, room was large clean great view of the ocean and pool unfortunately weather was poor and I wasn't able to use either. Grounds have places to eat that were very good, splash pool side restaurant, rivals sports bar a nicand hails them for you. e cafe and a bar where the guests would go before and after dinner. I didn't try the steak house. Cabs are lined up in front of hotel and the staff keeps them orderly and hails them for you. You get what you pay for and if you have deep pockets you'll want to stay here. $399 plus tax per night and restaurants and bars are expensive

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Patioo,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to see you found our ambassadors to be helpful and that you enjoyed several of our food & beverage options here at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I was here for business but even though i wasnt paying for the room, it still wasn't worth the price. They charged extra for everything and my toilet didn't even work. They came and fixed it but didn't bother to apologize or anything. I actually think I was also double-charged for valet parking and when I questioned it was simply told that their must have been a good reason for the additional cost. Oh brother!

Worse yet, anytime I wanted to call the operator, I either didn't get anyone, was put on hold and then hung up on or would have to wait to have my call taken. Now that's brutal.

Not impressed and I travel a lot for work. I suspect the management of this hotel has recently been changed baca use their were too many gaps in their service. I paid over $400 for one night. Just not worth it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Stinkyrules,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations and we would like to apologize about the inconveniences you described to us. Your experience is one we would not want to see occur again and we will use your feedback to help us improve our services here at the resort. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was here for a conference. They have good conference facilities and a nice pool and beach area. The lobby is quite nice and large with places to relax and eat. You can also walk over to a marina. I was quite let down by the concierge. I asked where could I rent a motorcycle and she was not sure and didn't make any effort to find or arrange it for me. I was quite dissapointed with I would try a Harley dealership in Miami. I have stayed at many Westins and expected more.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the water for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear MMBarnes,

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you enjoyed our pool oasis and that you found the lobby to be a great place to unwind. We apologize about your experience with one of our concierge ambassadors. We will share your feedback with them so we can assure we are providing the best service possible to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently attended a conference at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, FL. The hotel lobby was upscale and the pool area and beaches were nice. The rooms were slightly above average with doors that open from the bathroom tub area to the bedroom and they have very nice bedding, but the shower in our room actually had black mold growing in the upper right corner, likely due to no vent in the shower. The quality of the rooms for the price ($320/night) was less than I would have expected.

The amenities were very nice, but you paid a high price for them. The average price for a burger/sandwich at the outdoor/pool restaurant is $17.00. We didn't dare try to restaurant after we saw that the basic egg/toast breakfast was over $20.00. Plus, they automatically add 18% gratuity at the restaurants and even the beach chairs cost $10/day + 18% gratuity. The servers do not tell you this and on our first lunch we almost tipped the server an additional $24 when the $18 tip was already inlcuded.

I stayed an additional two days for pleasure, but did not eat on the property due to the extremely high prices. We actually walked and cabbed to the Broadwalk at Hollywood Beach approximately 1.5 miles away where there are outdoor cafes with wonderful food at reasonable prices.

Also at the Westin Diplomat, I was dissapointed that during my stay the upper deck pool overlooking the beach was reserved the entire day for another conference at the hotel so none of the other guests were allowed to use the pool.

Overall, the hotel was nice, but very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear BeachGirlKS,

It is fantastic to see that your overall stay at the Diplomat was enjoyable. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the pool area as well as some of the amenities we offer here at the resort. We are sorry to hear that you found our food & beverage options to be pricey and about your experience with the shower in your room. We will certainly share your comments with the appropriate departments so we can continue to evolve and grow. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Westin Diplomat
Hollywood Westin
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort
Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.