We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for water lovers, but expect lines” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for water lovers, but expect lines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas vacation and you cannot beat the location and access to beach and some awesome pools. It was a great way to be close to the water, swim multiple times a day, and just enjoy the weather. However, if you are expecting impeccable service, that is not the case given the number of people that stay at this hotel. The lines are long everywhere, to check in, get information, get breakfast, at the bar, you cant even get a place to sit by the pool. So dont expect personal service, but the location cannot be beat and it's a nice hotel with great rooms.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are obviously very nice, but we had a corner room that gave us a bit more space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear bosgirl123,

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your Christmas vacation with us at the Westin. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and swimming in our 2 pools. We are sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations with some of the services we provided. We will use this information to help us improve our services in the future. We hope to welcome you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,075
    721
    276
    131
    99
See reviews for
595
635
63
602
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful lobby with WIFI, comfy, relaxed seating and coffee/snack bar. Great pool area on 2 levels, hotel is right on the beach. The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean. Outstanding views. Free parking included. One of the nicest hotels we ever stayed in with the most accommodating staff. Only one negative, no WIFI in the room.

Room Tip: Check in staff will choose an outstanding room for you without even being asked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
DearArlene0912,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. It is great to see you enjoyed relaxing by the pool as well as your room. It is also great to see that you enjoyed spending time in our atrium lobby and that had an opportunity to enjoy our coffee shop Ingredients. We hope to see you back at the Diplomat soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you're reading this review, there's a very good chance you just found out that the Westin Diplomat is hosting your conference. Well, that's about all it's good for in this reviewer's opinion. Actually no, I take that back. Here's the thing: they will never change unless they start losing business...so all you meeting planners out there STOP BOOKING THIS HOTEL FOR CONFERENCES! You're only encouraging them.

First: The location is not great. Yes, there's a beach and a large pool - but they do that resort thing where they try to trap you in the property so that you spend a maximum with them, eating their (very average, very expensive) food and drinking their (very average, very expensive) drinks. Imagine how frustrating it was that the steakhouse could not accommodate us for dinner (they were booked!). Between 12 noon and 5 pm, everything seems to shut down food-wise, except for the beach bar or the mini-mart. Here's another example: There's an overpass from the parking lot, which is located across the street. On the structure's facade there is all this signage advertising a "marina, restaurants, and shopping". In reality, though, it is an abandoned strip mall of empty shops with a single, lonely sports bar (owned by Westin, of course!) whose bartender was more than happy to share his views on homosexuality and pedophilia with me. WOW. The food is reminiscent of an Applebee's, but with a five-star price.

I was extremely disappointed that the SPA IS NOT LOCATED ON THE PREMISES. You must take a shuttle that runs every 1/2 hour a few miles inland. This felt like a bait-and-switch to me.

There are a lot of steps (to/from the offsite parking lot, as well as going into the front door of the hotel). Seems like they would have thought that through a little better.

The whole place is crawling with people who are ostensibly there to help you, but it quickly becomes apparent that the hotel is - how should I put this - not paying top dollar for its staff, and they're getting exactly what they pay for. I swear they're instructed not to direct you outside of the property. The doorman couldn't tell me where I might find hot food at 2:45 pm. Swear to god.

The bathroom is slightly cramped for two people. There was a tub, but it was very small and quite uncomfortable (I'm 5'10") and it did not have jets.

TIPS:
- Bring a car so you can have a real dinner. There is absolutely no shopping, entertainment or activities within walking distance (they planned it that way!) so be sure you've got your own wheels. If you're coming here for fun/vacation, I *strongly* suggest that you consider hotels in the Miami Beach area, which is actually close by, and yet light-years from this corporate force-feed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the South Tower get a lot more sun. Also, this is very important: You want odd numbers fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear frequentflyer_02111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay at The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa. First and foremost, please accept our sincerest apologies for any challenges you encountered during your stay as this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests. Your comments are very much appreciated, as this will help us to improve the quality and service at our resort and the products we offer. We are also in the process of building a new Spa and Workout facilities within the Resort that will be opening in early 2013. We do take all reviews very seriously and I will be sharing your comments with our management team, so we can work on resolving the issues you experienced during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Diplomat for a couple of days for Thanksgiving. We had a very nice sea view room on one of the top floors. The view was truly impressive as we could see a full ocean when opening the window. As we are both platinum, we got access to the lounge which was very nice. We got there a bit late for breakfast one day and the staff offered to go grab us some food. Definitely a nice touch!
The location of the hotel is right on the beach and you can walk both ways for miles. The beach is gorgeous. We rented a jetski in front of the hotel and, while it seemed pricey, we got to use very nice equipment. The pool is also a very nice area to hang out even though it can get a bit crowded.
The only caveat is about the concierge who did not seem to know about any restaurants in Miami beach. This was definitely disappointing as we would expect more from a Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear kristtov,

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are excited to see that you had an amazing stay with us. Thank you for the compliments on our Executive Club Lounge as well as your feedback on where we can use some improvement. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin in the near future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is impeccable - esp knowing the amount of foot traffic that goes through for special events, conventions and parties. Attended a special event and was fortunate to be able to stay the evening.

Pros: On the water, great service, local stores and attractions close by.
Cons: Valet can be a nightmare, expensive when in season.

Being a local, I tend to avoid this hotel during the high season (Winter) because the rates go through the roof. During the slower travel periods deals can be had($175 and lower) and this is one of the finest and most functional resorts in South Florida. For the value, I'll take this property over the SoBe ones anyday!

Room Tip: South Tower, Ocean side has terrific 180 degree views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear S1Alex,

We are happy to receive feedback from some of our local guests. It is great to see that you enjoyed your event being here at the resort and that you have enjoyed the beautiful water views as well. We cannot wait to welcome you back again.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We travel to the Fort Lauderdale area at least once a year, usually to cruise. We have found the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to be our favorite stop for a day or two (or more!) the perfect place to begin and end our vacations.

The hotel has two locations: the beach location and the golf course location. I have stayed at the beach location, but have been in the golf location. Both are beautifully designed, but have unique decor (more traditional at the golf location, more contemporary at the beach front location).

Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, large bathrooms, mini-bar, large desk, and chair. Our rooms have always been clean; although, our last room was a little "worn" looking in the bathroom (not bad, just not as kept up as other rooms we've stayed in). Many rooms have balconies as well - a wonderful way to relax in the evening.

Parking is provided for a fee across the street from the hotel; a pedestrian bridge makes it easy to access your car. Valet parking is available too. (Note: valet parking only at the golf location.) Regarding cars, it is nice to have transportation at this location as there are not many attractions close to the hotel. However, if you don't mind walking, you can hit the Broadwalk down the beach for more things to do than what is available immediately around the hotel.

As you may expect, prices to extras in the hotel (bar, restaurant, incidentals) are in line with a higher end hotel. Lunch at the beach restaurant is pricey, but the views are perfect. Don't expect a gourmet meal, but food is fine.

Customer service is almost always provided with a smile. We have always been greeted warmly, and made to feel welcome.

The hotel grounds are beautifully done, and include two pools. The more elegant "adult" pool is located on an upper level just outside the lobby doors. The free form pool is located on the lower lever with direct access to the beach. There are plenty of loungers and towels are provided.

Overall, this is a great hotel that we look forward to booking year after year.

Room Tip: If an ocean front room is not in your budget, then request an ocean view room located on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear qtmichele2001,

It was a delight to once again welcome you back to the Westin. Thank you for making the Diplomat one of your top hotels to stay at in South Florida. We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of what the resort has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a beautiful setting for an upscale Hotel. The moment we arrived my wife and I were treated like royalty. Our ocean front room was one of the nicest rooms we had ever stayed in with views of the ocean and swimming pools. From our balcony we were able to see cruise ships leaving from both Miami and Fort Lauderdale. We ate in several restaurants and all of them were unique in their own way. We especially liked the casual dining restaurant that was facing the inner coastal waterway. From that restaurant we were able to take a water taxi to other fine restaurants along the inner coastal. Several staff members were able to meet all of our needs. When we asked where to get fresh fruit a bowl of fresh fruit found its way to our room within minutes at no charge. What a pleasant surprise. The fitness centers was larger than I expected. A staff member and fitness trainer were available to help us map out a fitness program designed for our particular needs and abilities.this hotel had a beautiful atrium. I was disappointed to get a charge on my final bill stating I owed $30 dollars a day for parking.personally I thought that was a little extravagant. That being said it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. I can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: I suggest an ocean front room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear gbrockl,

It is exciting to see that you found your ocean front paradise here at the Westin Diplomat. We appreciate the wonderful feedback you have provided us regarding your stay. It is great to see that you enjoyed relaxing by the pools and that you found your room to be spectacular. We hope to see you back at the Diplomat again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.