We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the hotel in a biz trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Hollywood
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Living in the hotel in a biz trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I arrived and lived in the hotel 4 days without going out as I attended an event.
The room is confortable and the doors from the terraze are solid quiet so you can rest.
It has a nice ocean view. Nice lobby. Good service. Fast food delivery for the room.
You can take a bath watching the ocean.
Good internet connections.
The good thing is that it has a big place for events right next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor so you can avoid noise from the pool or traffic.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear mellizos2011,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business trip here at the Diplomat. It is great to see that you found your room to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the ocean views. We hope to see you at the Westin again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    770
    291
    133
    102
See reviews for
640
673
65
642
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I Love this hotel, especially when I can get a hot rate on Hotwire! Customer service is A-1. Enjoyed the beach, the bar, the pool, hot tub, waterfall, and the lobby! . It was a fantastic romantic get-a-way! Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: High floor with oceanview
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Leslie J,

It is great to see that you found your stay at the Diplomat to be relaxing and renewing. It is fantastic to see that your romantic getaway was one to remember and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Diplomat in the future.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Christmas break. The pool was nice, the lobby impressive and the rooms certainly adequate. One thing I didn't like was that all the food was the same during the day. Didn't matter where you went in the hotel, all the food was the same. Strange for a big resort. You ate outside...burger, salad, sandwich. You ate anywhere inside, same burger, salad, sandwich. Funny, we waited until the sushi place opened at 3 just so we could have some variety. They told us that they open at 5 for the more expansive Japanese restaurant, but until 5, we could have a burger, salad or sandwich!! Also, I put up with the wristbands and, of course, I had to cut it off my kids wrists before sleep. The next day, you had to wait on line for a new wristband. It was the Orange Bowl hotel so the line was long. The other people like the concierge refused to assist in just getting a wristband. Punishing me for cutting the wristband off my kids' wrists.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Emmacarn,

We thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool area and that you found your room to be comfortable. We appreciate your comments regarding our restaurants. We will use your feedback to help us find new ways to enhance our guest’s experience. We are sorry to hear that you found the wrist bands to be an inconvenience. During holidays we require our guests to wear the wrist bands for everyone’s safety and security which is our number one priority. They help us to reserve the pool area for registered guests of the hotel so we can try to maximize our guests experience while staying at our resort.
We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Westin Diplomat is one of a kind hotel!!! I stayed with my girlfriend from December 16th-21st in an oceanview room and it was the best room I've ever stayed at, and I travel quite a lot. The most amazing thing was to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean! It was breathtaking! It is definitely worth paying a little extra for the oceanview room!

The stuff was very helpful and understanding! Especially front desk agents and concierge. The only negative service I experienced with the bell desk and valet parking personel, as they gave out the vibe of being a little to greedy and arrogant. Everytime I asked for anything even a little small thing such as to store my ipad at their desk for a few hours just because I didn't want to take my ipad to the pool area with me or carry it back to the room, they gave me kind of dirty looks and it seemed like they expected to get tipped for it. I have no problem tipping for services, and I am actually a very generous tipper, but I dont like to be pushed into doing it, especially for something so small. Besides that, the stuff was amazing, very friendly and helpful!

The location is great, unless you want to visit South Beach and Miami, as it is a bit of a drive, on average about 20-30 minutes depending on a time of day. Also, if you are a young traveler or a young couple and want to go dancing, then be prepared to dish out around $40-$60 one way for a cab ride to the closest entertainment district. The best thing about the hotel's location is the fact that WalMart and the Liquor store is just 10 minute walk from the hotel. You can also rent a car at Hertz dealership, which is located right across the hotel, their prices are more or less fair, but keep in mind that they do get busy and I suggest booking a car at least a day in advance.

Another great thing that I wanted to mention is the Bar by the pool, the food is INCREDIBLE! We ate there every day for lunch and we tried everything on the menu and were pleasantly suprised with the high quality of food and decent portions. We also tried the Links Restaurant at the Golf location and it is very romantic, especially during the evening time. We sat on a patio and enjoyed the sound of the fountain. The meal was delicious and the service was very attentive and detail oriented. Also, my friend usually never swims at the pool as she thinks pools are dirty and always too crowded. This hotel has 2 huge pools and both of them are very well kept, so we never even made it to the beach :)

Overall, our trip to Westin Diplomat was one of the best ones we ever took! Such a luxurious hotel, especially the lobby!!! We will definitely come back in the next few months!!:)

Room Tip: Definitely upgarde to an ocean view room, you won't regret it ! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Cassy K,

Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. It is great to see that you enjoyed your room as well as our pool oasis. We are happy to learn that you found our front desk and concierge ambassadors to be helpful and friendly. It is also wonderful to see that you had an excellent meal at Splash. We hope to see you at the Diplomat again soon.

Warm regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel, with the exception of the hold on our card for incidentals. I'll explain below.

The hotel is located in a great location -- private beach, infiniti pool, private cabanas... it doesn't get any better than that! The room was perfect with modern decor and a spacious shower and more than enough room to get ready.

What I loved was the walk way between the hotel and the restaraunts across the street.

The only negative to the hotel was when we checked in, they had a $50 hold on our card for incidentals that lasted about a week, which I didn't appreciate.

Other than that, the restaraunt has excellent food (I recommend the eggs benedict!) and the outdoor experience is to die for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Lauren L,

It was a pleasure welcoming you to the Diplomat for your honeymoon getaway. It is fantastic to see that you found your accommodations to be comfortable and that you enjoyed relaxing in our outdoor areas. Congratulations and we hope to see you at the resort again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 4 booked the Westin Diplomat 4 months ago for the BCS Championship. At the time we did not even think about asking if the hotel was intending to host one of the college teams. When we arrived, we were surprised to see Notre Dame banners flying! We entered finding out that the Westin was indeed the host hotel to Notre Dame....our daughter attends The University of Alabama!! So, needless to say, it was quite an interesting 5 days.
The hotel is beautiful, spotless and a great location. The cleaning staff was always able to accommodate our requested service times. The guys on the beach, especially Adrian and Johann (sp?), were so very kind and helpful- such class and professionalism. The Splash staff was friendly and fast!
Although "we" were not part of the group they were hosting, the staff certainly helped make our stay a bit more comfortable and we appreciate that! ROLL TIDE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear paigec,

It is exciting to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time with us during the BCS Championship game. We are happy to see that you found our facilities to be top notch and that our ambassadors helped to make your stay refreshing and renewing. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My mom and I spent 5 nights here for a quick little gals' trip. We used cash + points, so we knew we wouldn't have an overly impressive room. Still, the room was large and comfortable.

We planned on lounging by the pool/on the beach for the week, and that is what we did. Neither of us appreciated that the only way to get an umbrella at the pool was by renting a cabana for the day (over $200 I believe). I am fine spending money for some shade, but hello skin cancer! Would it kill the resort to have some umbrellas available for those of us who don't want our faces to look like old handbags by the time we turn 40? Instead, we spent our days at the beach. There we rented two chairs and two umbrellas. The beach chair rentals are not run by the resort, and the guys who work there (Lee and Adrian) are great. They are helpful and help rearrange the chairs when the sun moves, etc. Unfortunately, the restaurant servers who DO work for the Westin aren't quite as responsive. Some days people work the beach, and other days you must stalk someone at the restaurant to order lunch. It isn't the biggest deal, but it isn't the service I expect from a 'resort'.

Given that we just went down for a quick trip rather than a real vacation, the things that were lacking here didn't bother us too much. Were this my main vacation for the year I would have probably reacted differently!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear NoraNJtoLondon,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us. It is wonderful to see that your overall retreat with us was a relaxing one. We are sorry that we fell below your expectations in regards to service on the pool deck. We do take all reviews very serisously and will be sharing your information with our management so we can be sure to resolve the issues you had shared with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#1 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Family Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 998
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.