We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Makes the Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Staff Makes the Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 4 booked the Westin Diplomat 4 months ago for the BCS Championship. At the time we did not even think about asking if the hotel was intending to host one of the college teams. When we arrived, we were surprised to see Notre Dame banners flying! We entered finding out that the Westin was indeed the host hotel to Notre Dame....our daughter attends The University of Alabama!! So, needless to say, it was quite an interesting 5 days.
The hotel is beautiful, spotless and a great location. The cleaning staff was always able to accommodate our requested service times. The guys on the beach, especially Adrian and Johann (sp?), were so very kind and helpful- such class and professionalism. The Splash staff was friendly and fast!
Although "we" were not part of the group they were hosting, the staff certainly helped make our stay a bit more comfortable and we appreciate that! ROLL TIDE!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear paigec,

It is exciting to learn that you and your family enjoyed your time with us during the BCS Championship game. We are happy to see that you found our facilities to be top notch and that our ambassadors helped to make your stay refreshing and renewing. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    721
    277
    131
    99
See reviews for
598
635
63
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My mom and I spent 5 nights here for a quick little gals' trip. We used cash + points, so we knew we wouldn't have an overly impressive room. Still, the room was large and comfortable.

We planned on lounging by the pool/on the beach for the week, and that is what we did. Neither of us appreciated that the only way to get an umbrella at the pool was by renting a cabana for the day (over $200 I believe). I am fine spending money for some shade, but hello skin cancer! Would it kill the resort to have some umbrellas available for those of us who don't want our faces to look like old handbags by the time we turn 40? Instead, we spent our days at the beach. There we rented two chairs and two umbrellas. The beach chair rentals are not run by the resort, and the guys who work there (Lee and Adrian) are great. They are helpful and help rearrange the chairs when the sun moves, etc. Unfortunately, the restaurant servers who DO work for the Westin aren't quite as responsive. Some days people work the beach, and other days you must stalk someone at the restaurant to order lunch. It isn't the biggest deal, but it isn't the service I expect from a 'resort'.

Given that we just went down for a quick trip rather than a real vacation, the things that were lacking here didn't bother us too much. Were this my main vacation for the year I would have probably reacted differently!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear NoraNJtoLondon,

We appreciate you taking a moment to share your experience with us. It is wonderful to see that your overall retreat with us was a relaxing one. We are sorry that we fell below your expectations in regards to service on the pool deck. We do take all reviews very serisously and will be sharing your information with our management so we can be sure to resolve the issues you had shared with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I came with my family a few times in the past year, but this time the experience at the westin diplomat was extremely difficult.
1-rooms were not clean
2-the saff at front desk was not helpful and made us feel very frustated
After taking a late flight, we arrived at the hotel at 2AM with my family and my parents. My father was extremely tired and being hospitalized a few months during the past year, he needed a good vacation. Unfortunatly, we stayed until 5Am trying to get rooms that we had booked but the manager did not want to help us at all even if he saw that my father was completely exausted.
we spent everyday at reception trying to get the rooms that we expected. the communication between the staff at the font desk is very bad. They promess something and when you come back you don't get what they promessed. we stayed 2 weeks and we had problems everyday until the last 4days. the worst problem in this hotel is the service at the front desk that is completely inacceptable. we have never experienced anything like this in any other hotel around the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Victoria e,

It saddens us to learn that your recent experience at our resort was not the top quality experience you have come to know from the Westin Diplomat. We apologize about any inconvenience you experienced throughout your stay. One of our goals is to provide our guests with a relaxing and renewing vacation and we are sorry that this was not your experience. We will take your feedback and use it to help us improve our guests experience at the resort. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had a great experienced with this hotel during my stated end of August. General speaking, the front desk update my SPG account and automatically put us on the SPG floor. This hotel is clean and updated, yet very well organised and informative to the guests during the hurricane time. Staffs were very helpful with no attitudes only smiles on their faces. What we liked the most is the hotel sense is always fresh, you can always smell it once you walk-in.

Room Tip: High-floor with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear eccookie,

We are happy to learn that you had a perfect stay with us. It pleases us to learn that you enjoyed your upgrade to the SPG floor and that our Westin white tea scent helped you to feel relaxed and renewed. We hope to see you at the Westin again soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Westin the night before our Christmas Bahamas cruise. It is a very large hotel/resort. The pools were very nice and the beachfront was kept spotless. There is an abundance of lounge chairs (though saving by one person for a group is allowed). The rooms were very clean and well appointed. They had a grab and go coffee shop within the hotel where you could also get pastries etc. which was nice to have. The only downside is that the restaurants in the hotel were quite expensive and there are no others within walking distance, and it was tough to get concierge assistance due to the large volume of people. Overall it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ONTfoodie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay. We are excited to learn that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool as well as the beach. We are also happy to hear that you found Ingredients to be a great feature of the resort. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Warmest regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the Diplomat for one night using SPG points and cash -- an amazing price of only 4800 points + 90 dollars. I stayed during the peak Xmas week so a regular room was listed at over $250 night.

The front desk check in would have been insane but for the fact that I am SPG Gold. They have a dedicated line for SPG Gold/Platinum holders which made check in way faster. The check in staff were very friendly and explained all of the amenities of the hotel -- and provided me with a bracelet that needed to be worn in the pool and gym areas.

As others have noted, self parking is available across the street for $20 a day. Kind of expensive but there really is no free parking available in the area. Note that there are two garage buildings... the one you enter requires you to drive to the top floor and then drive over a connecting bridge to the other garage which will then let you drive down to the exit. So, if you want to get out of the garage easily, the best option is to drive right through the entire garage as if you were going to exit and park near the last level of the exit. This will allow you to exit the garage rather easily.

I took a look at the gym (I am a gym rat so my requirements are very discerning) and it actually was not a bad gym -- for a hotel. The free weights did not go to high enough weights (but they rarely do at a hotel gym) but they had all the machines you'd need, a smith machine, and plenty of cardio equipment. There is a Crunch gym (recently under new management) at 163rd and Collins for those who are more hard core gym goers.

The room itself -- I had an "issue" with my first room. The front desk staff was very helpful in moving me to a new/upgraded room with a full ocean view room with a balcony. My original room had a partial view without a balcony. I would highly recommend spending the extra $$ (if you can) to get the full ocean view with a balcony. The view is spectacular and having a balcony to read on is amazing.

The room is very comfortable ... free starbucks coffee and a bottle of water too. The bathroom had a great stand alone shower (my favorite because it avoids the need for that nasty shower curtain) and a separate jacuzzi tub. The bathroom had massive shutters that opened to overlook the bedroom and/or the ocean.

As my 'SPG Gold' amenity, I chose free Wifi which worked very well during my stay.

Over all, this definitely a great hotel. Well worth the SPG Points + Cash I paid. Also, as a frequent traveller, no hotel is perfect -- the secret to their success has to be how they handle things when something goes wrong. At the Diplomat, they are clearly focused on guest satisfaction -- exactly what I would expect from a Westin hotel. The "issue" I had with the hotel was handled immediately and professionally -- exactly how I would expect a 5* hotel to deal with a guest complaint.

Room Tip: Get a high floor, ocean facing room, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Hotel_Sam,

It is fantastic to receive feedback from one of our loyal SPG Gold Members. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your continued loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We are pleased to learn that you had an amazing stay and that our ambassadors were able to assist in making your stay even more memorable. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the future.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina, PR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staying for 10 days - terrible New Years Eve dinner.

Check-in time around 9:00 pm, dec/29.
Reserved a Grand Deluxe, received a room for handicaped, wich I only realized 3 days later, by seeing the big difference to other rooms. The room needed to be refurbished.

I complaint about the bad room I was on the jan/1st , the same guy that made my check-in, told me the hotel was full and I should check for a new room on the next day. He did'nt even apologized. Just told me there was a football team at the hotel and could not help.

Got my new room on the january/2nd. Better but not great. Just average, a bit small.

Until now I made 3 room service orders:
1º) Hamburguer: good
2º) Cesar Salad: bad sauce, artificial. Penne pasta grotesque and reazonable. Good caprese salad.
3º) Ordered service for two, came for one. Ordered a medium strip steak, came very welldone, and baked potato came raw. Reazonable caprese salad.

Bathroom amenities are weak. Just a shampoo, conditioner and lotion.
Towels are very good.
The bed is great, as always on Westin.

Wi-fi: signal quality was bad on both rooms.

Room make up service is weak. There is lots of dust on the furniture, and amenities are not provided daily as they should.

New years eve dinner at at the Landings: fix price of 275 per person+beverages+tax+tips.
We were in a party of 5 for the 9:30pm. The buffet was very very weak. Waiter service was terrible.

Room Tip: Unless you get a corner room or a suite, most rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Fernando J

We appreciate you taking a moment to tell us about your recent experience at the Diplomat. We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your retreat. What you have described to us is not the experience we strive to provide our guests and for that we are truly sorry. We will use your comments to help us improve our services here throughout the resort. We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida is located on the Atlantic Ocean close to two major airports, our 898 guest rooms and 100 suites feature stylish and soothing beach tones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.