We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and pool. Kids loved it. Check-in very slow.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Hollywood
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and pool. Kids loved it. Check-in very slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a two day stay at the Westin on January 1st and 2nd after a short cruise. We had planned to stay in a more basic hotel due to the high holiday rates, but checked out of our basic hotel and into the Westin one day into our trip. The Westin hotel is beautiful. The pools are heated and lovely. Our oceanfront deluxe room was top notch. The kids really enjoyed it and the beds were heavenly as promised.The only negative comments I have are that the self-parking was very expensive and that we had to wait until just after 4pm for our rooms. Also, the beach chairs are not included as is it a public beach. They were $10 each/day. I knew about this added expense going in, but if I had not know that, I would have been disappointed since other ocean front properties I have stayed in included the chairs. However, since it's not a private beach, it makes sense. I would certainly stay here again, but not expect to have my room a minute earlier than check-in time!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an oceanfront room. Worth the added cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Familyof4Cleveland,

It is great to learn that you and your family had an amazing retreat with us after your cruise. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed relaxing by the pools and that you found your ocean front room with our signature heavenly beds to be relaxing. We hope to welcome you back to the Westin Diplomat again soon.

Best wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,109
    741
    283
    133
    101
See reviews for
619
651
63
619
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you need an extra bed, the pullout bed in the suite is the worst quality bed I have ever seen, my son prefered to sleep on the floor, when I asked the bellman about the bad quality of it I was informed that it is not my room the problem, that there are all the same quality.

The manager should try to sleep in it, I dare him!

Service is also pretty bad, when staying there they simply forgot to make the room

Room Tip: If you need the pullout bed, avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Arie J,

We are sorry to learn that your experience at our resort was not the top quality experience you have come to expect from a Westin hotel. One of our goals is to make sure each and every one of our guests has a heavenly sleeping experience and we apologize that your son did not find his bed comfortable.

We would also like to thank you for bringing the service level to our attention. We will use this feedback to help us improve our services in the future.
We hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very nice resort right on the beach. The pool area is very pretty as well and the pools are heated. Beautiful lobby. But room is on the smaller side. Service is almost none. We requested a king size bed weeks before but when we got there we were told there is only double beds available. Front desk people are not very friendly as well. I figure they get a lot of business from conferences so they don't really care.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear doublejade1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is fantastic to see that you had a relaxing time by our pool oasis and that you enjoyed unwinding in our lobby area. We apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request while checking into the resort. Our front desk ambassadors pride themselves in providing each and every one of our guests with personal and instinctive service and we are sorry to hear that this is not what you experienced. We will use your feedback to help us improve the guest experience for you as well as our future guests.

Have a safe and happy New Year,

Warm regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with the family after a great stay last year. And this was another great visit. This is the perfect family hotel. Amazing pools and a great beach. The kids club is also very nice. As always, as a Platinum member I was upgraded to a corner suite. The lounge offerings are a deff disappointment-- especially when this is supposed to be the plat breakfast offering. Regardless, we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear mpolatin,

It is always wonderful to receive feedback from some of our SPG Platinum guests. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty to Starwood Hotels & Resorts. We are pleased to see that you had another great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the upgrades that come along with your platinum status. We appreciate your feedback and we cannot wait welcome you back soon.

Be well,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had planned a one night stay...I called the of our arrival to inquire when we could check in and was told "anytime". Upon arriving we were told our room "type" (with balcony) was not ready nor would we be able to check in until 4:00. This was at 2:30. No other options were offered. I had to ask and magically a different room "type" was made available to us. Again we had to ask if we would be credited the difference (this room did not have a balcony). The room was pre-paid and after a tense silence (on our part) we were then advised we would be credited the difference.
Later that afternoon when we needed our car we were told to call 10 minutes in advance. We called 20 minutes in advance and when we went down to get our car, we had to wait ANOTHER 30 minutes and had to ask 4 different valet's as to where our car might be. With all of the other options to be had in this area...they need to step up their game. We will be staying elsewhere on our next trip down,.

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter...A/C was fairly loud in our room. (room 2339)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Robin B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that your stay with us during the busy holiday season was not the top quality experience you have come to expect from the Westin. We would like to apologize that your room was not ready upon your arrival to the resort. We always try to accommodate guests with early arrivals whenever possible; however, check-in time begins at 4:00pm daily. We are sorry about any miss communication that occurred when you called the resort to inquire about this.
We see that you had an extended wait for your car during your stay. Our valet team works diligently to bring cars to the driveway quickly and safely. We would also like to apologize about any inconvenience you experienced waiting for your car.
We would like to wish you and your family a Happy New Year and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest wishes,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here same time last year and all I can say is this place has fallen apart. The food at the restaurant is now terrible, last year it was good. The pool area is overrun by pigeons and birds and has made hanging there a very unpleasant experience. Today alone we had 5 items where "deposits" we're made by these unfriendly creatures. The hotel staff was most unhelpful and did nothing to try and alleviate the problem. I feel bad giving such a harsh review as last year I gave the property such a glowing one but its really bad now. Will not be returning and for the sake of all the other guests I hope they fix it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear beachtravelerrr,

We appreciate you taking a moment tell us about your recent stay at our resort. We apologize that your experience during this stay was not the top notch experience that you have received in the past. Thank you for the comments regarding our restaurant. We will certainly use them to help improve the guest experience for you and our future guests.
We are sorry to hear about your experience outside at our pool area. We apologize the presence of the birds had effected your opportunity to enjoy and relax outside by the pool.
Have a happy New Year and we hope to have a new opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've been to this property several times with my family and love it. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. Pools are large and great for the kids. I would highly recommend this hotel for families looking for a getaway in the US.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karianne A, Guest Services Manager at Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear ChitownTraver2255,

It was a pleasure to once again welcome you back to the Westin Diplomat. It is great to see that you had a wonderful stay with us again and that you found our ambassadors to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Happy New Year,

Karianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa

Address: 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hollywood
#2 Business Hotel in Hollywood
#6 Family Hotel in Hollywood
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Hollywood
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hollywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is a refreshing escape offering spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Located beachfront in Hollywood, between Fort Lauderdale and Miami, the AAA Four-Diamond resort's amenitites include 2 pools, private cabanas, watersports, Heavenly Spa by Westin, Westin WORKOUT Fitness Studio, Kids Club and 7 onsite restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Diplomat Hotel Hollywood
Westin Diplomat Resort
Westin Hollywood
The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa
Hollywood Westin Diplomat Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.